Jump to the beginning of content

Pressing ahead with the implementation of the New Territories Cycle Track Network

City dwellers have become more aware of healthy living. Cycling, which integrates exercise and recreation, is most suitable for the whole family to participate in. The Government has been committed to developing a comprehensive cycle track network in the New Territories (NT) to provide a cycle track connecting the east and west of the NT for leisure and recreation purposes in order to improve people’s quality of living. This time, I have invited the colleagues of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) to introduce this new cycle track with a total length of about 82 kilometres (km) upon completion and share its design concept and characteristics.

A cycle track running through the east and west of the NT

In recent years, we have been striving to implement the NT Cycle Track Network project, which will link up the individual cycle track sections currently scattered in the NT to provide a continuous east-west cycle track in the NT by improving the existing cycle tracks and constructing new ones. Senior Engineer of the CEDD, Mr CHU Wai-lun, Thomas, says the comprehensive NT Cycle Track Network broadly comprises two backbone sections: the one from Tuen Mun to Ma On Shan is about 60 km long (starting from Tuen Mun in the west and reaching Ma On Shan in the east via Yuen Long, Sheung Shui, Fanling, Tai Po and Sha Tin), and the other from Tsuen Wan to Tuen Mun is about 22 km long (to be built along the seafront between Tsuen Wan and Tuen Mun).

Yuen Long – Sheung Shui section nearing completion

At present, the sections from Tuen Mun to Yuen Long and from Sheung Shui to Ma On Shan have been completed and are open to the public. Regarding the cycle track section that connects the two sections, i.e. the track section that runs from Yuen Long to Sheung Shui, the part along Yau Pok Road in Yuen Long was opened to the public last month. The remaining parts are expected to be open by September this year. By that time, the entire 60 km-long backbone section between Tuen Mun and Ma On Shan will be completed. Based on the cycling speed of the general public, it will take about six hours to complete the entire route. I believe that it will satisfy the leisure needs of the enthusiastic riders.

Meanwhile, the CEDD has been taking forward the implementation of the backbone section of the cycle track between Tsuen Wan and Tuen Mun. According to Mr Thomas CHU, the section between Tsing Tsuen Bridge and Bayview Garden in Tsuen Wan is expected to be completed and open to the public early next year.

Beautiful scenery along the cycle track alignment

Engineer of the CEDD, Mr CHIU Chi-ho, Derek, introduces the characteristics of the newly opened cycle track section running along Yau Pok Road to Pok Wai South Road in Yuen Long. He says that in the selection of the alignment of the route, priority was given to spots with beautiful scenery and cultural elements, such as Kam Tin River in Yuen Long and Tai Fu Tai in San Tin, to enhance the appeal of the track. At the same time, the project team had considered the impacts of the cycle track alignment on the residents, environment and ecology in the vicinity, so as to optimise its design to avoid affecting some conservation areas, bird habitats, etc.

Safety and environment beautification taken into design consideration

According to Mr Derek CHIU, the Government attaches great importance to safe cycling. In the design of the cycle track, the project team has considered its width, gradient and curvature, and provided proper traffic signs, road markings and guard rails at suitable locations to protect the safety of cyclists and other road users. Furthermore, wherever technically feasible, cycle bridges and cycle subways are provided to minimise the need for cyclists to get off their bicycles to cross the roads.

It is equally important to beautify the environment. The project team has specifically arranged the planting of flowers that blossom all year round alongside the cycle track. Apart from preserving as far as possible the existing trees next to the cycle track, hundreds of new trees and tens of thousands of shrubs have been planted to create a green environment in the community. The railings along the cycle track have been specially painted with patterns of rolling hills to blend in harmoniously with the natural surroundings.

Additional ancillary facilities to provide a comfortable environment

To create a comfortable cycling environment, Mr Derek CHIU says that the department has also provided ancillary facilities for the cyclists, such as resting stations with bicycle parking spaces to allow cyclists to take a rest or visit nearby attractions before continuing their journey. Cycling entry/exit hubs are also provided in the vicinity of MTR stations such as Sheung Shui Station and University Station for cyclists to gather or disband. The hubs provide facilities such as bicycle rental kiosks, bicycle parking spaces, first aid stations, refreshment kiosks and toilets.

I believe that many people like me are looking forward to the new cycle track sections to be open in phases. I know that the project team has maintained close communication with various stakeholders throughout the construction stage to listen to their opinions. I would like to extend my gratitude to colleagues for working hard to enhance construction arrangements. We will strive to expeditiously implement the cycle track project for public enjoyment, which will hopefully help promote local cycling and let more people enjoy the fun of cycling.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
Senior Engineer of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Mr CHU Wai-lun, Thomas, says the Government has been committed to developing a comprehensive cycle track network in the New Territories (NT) to provide a cycle track connecting the east and west of the NT for leisure and recreational purposes in order to improve people’s quality of living..
Senior Engineer of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Mr CHU Wai-lun, Thomas, says the Government has been committed to developing a comprehensive cycle track network in the New Territories (NT) to provide a cycle track connecting the east and west of the NT for leisure and recreational purposes in order to improve people’s quality of living.
Pictured is the cycle track connecting Yuen Long and Sheung Shui. Part of the cycle track along Pok Wai South Road and Yau Pok Road in Yuen Long was opened last month and the remaining parts are expected to be open by September this year. By that time, the entire 60 kilometre-long backbone section between Tuen Mun and Ma On Shan will be completed..
Pictured is the cycle track connecting Yuen Long and Sheung Shui. Part of the cycle track along Pok Wai South Road and Yau Pok Road in Yuen Long was opened last month and the remaining parts are expected to be open by September this year. By that time, the entire 60 kilometre-long backbone section between Tuen Mun and Ma On Shan will be completed..
Pictured is the cycle track connecting Yuen Long and Sheung Shui. Part of the cycle track along Pok Wai South Road and Yau Pok Road in Yuen Long was opened last month and the remaining parts are expected to be open by September this year. By that time, the entire 60 kilometre-long backbone section between Tuen Mun and Ma On Shan will be completed.
Engineer of the CEDD, Mr CHIU Chi-ho, Derek, says that the project team has specifically arranged the planting of flowers that blossom all year round along the cycle track. Apart from preserving as far as possible the existing trees next to the track, hundreds of new trees and tens of thousands of shrubs have been planted as well..
Engineer of the CEDD, Mr CHIU Chi-ho, Derek, says that the project team has specifically arranged the planting of flowers that blossom all year round along the cycle track. Apart from preserving as far as possible the existing trees next to the track, hundreds of new trees and tens of thousands of shrubs have been planted as well.
Pictured is part of the cycle track between Tsing Tsuen Bridge and Bayview Garden in Tsuen Wan, which is expected to be completed and open to the public by early next year..
Pictured is part of the cycle track between Tsing Tsuen Bridge and Bayview Garden in Tsuen Wan, which is expected to be completed and open to the public by early next year.
The CEDD designs the alignment of the cycle track passing along spots with beautiful scenery, such as the area by Kam Tin River in Yuen Long shown in the picture..
The CEDD designs the alignment of the cycle track passing along spots with beautiful scenery, such as the area by Kam Tin River in Yuen Long shown in the picture.
While building a safe cycle track, the project team has also designed to beautify the facilities such as the railings along the cycle track..
While building a safe cycle track, the project team has also designed to beautify the facilities such as the railings along the cycle track.
Wherever technically feasible, the project team will provide cycle bridges and cycle subways to minimise the need for cyclists to get off their bicycles to cross the roads. Pictured is the cycle bridge at Shek Sheung River in Sheung Shui and the cycle subway across Kam Pok Road in Yuen Long..
Wherever technically feasible, the project team will provide cycle bridges and cycle subways to minimise the need for cyclists to get off their bicycles to cross the roads. Pictured is the cycle bridge at Shek Sheung River in Sheung Shui and the cycle subway across Kam Pok Road in Yuen Long..
Wherever technically feasible, the project team will provide cycle bridges and cycle subways to minimise the need for cyclists to get off their bicycles to cross the roads. Pictured is the cycle bridge at Shek Sheung River in Sheung Shui and the cycle subway across Kam Pok Road in Yuen Long.
The CEDD provides ancillary facilities for cyclists, such as resting stations with bicycle parking spaces..
The CEDD provides ancillary facilities for cyclists, such as resting stations with bicycle parking spaces..
The CEDD provides ancillary facilities for cyclists, such as resting stations with bicycle parking spaces.
Bicycle entry/exit hubs are provided in the vicinity of MTR stations for cyclists to gather or disband. The hubs provide facilities such as bicycle rental kiosks, bicycle parking spaces, first aid stations, refreshment kiosks and toilets..
Bicycle entry/exit hubs are provided in the vicinity of MTR stations for cyclists to gather or disband. The hubs provide facilities such as bicycle rental kiosks, bicycle parking spaces, first aid stations, refreshment kiosks and toilets.
Pictured is the NT Cycle Track Network comprising the Tuen Mun – Ma On Shan backbone section and the Tsuen Wan – Tuen Mun backbone section..
Pictured is the NT Cycle Track Network comprising the Tuen Mun – Ma On Shan backbone section and the Tsuen Wan – Tuen Mun backbone section.

12 July, 2020

Back.

跳至內容

致力推展「新界單車徑網絡」

都市人愈來愈着重健康生活,而踏單車結合運動與休閒,正正適合一家大小一齊參與。政府一直致力在新界發展全面的單車徑網絡,提供一條貫通新界東西的單車徑,作消閒和康樂用途,藉以提高市民的生活質素。今次,我邀請土木工程拓展署(土拓署)的同事,為大家介紹這條完工後總長度約82公里的單車徑,並分享新單車徑的設計概念和特色。

單車徑貫通新界東西

近年,我們努力推展「新界單車徑網絡」工程計劃,透過改善現有的單車徑及興建新單車徑,把現時分散在新界個別路段的單車徑連接起來,貫通新界東西。土拓署高級工程師朱偉麟介紹說,整條「新界單車徑網絡」主要由兩條主幹線路段組成,其中屯門至馬鞍山主幹線長約60公里(西起屯門、經元朗、上水、粉嶺、大埔、沙田、到達東面的馬鞍山);而荃灣至屯門主幹線則長約22公里(沿荃灣至屯門海濱興建)。

元朗至上水段接近完成

現時,屯門至元朗,以及上水至馬鞍山的路段已經落成,並開放給公眾使用,而貫通此兩個路段,即連接元朗至上水的一段單車徑,沿元朗攸壆路部分剛於上月啟用,餘下路段亦預計會於今年9月或之前開放。屆時,屯門至馬鞍山整段60公里長的主幹線路段將會完成。按一般巿民踏單車的速度計算,完成整條路線需約6小時,相信可滿足一眾單車「發燒友」的需要。

另外,土拓署努力推展荃灣至屯門單車徑主幹線工程,朱偉麟說,其中荃灣青荃橋至灣景花園一段,預計可於明年年初完成並開放給公眾使用。

單車徑走線風景優美

土拓署工程師趙智豪介紹新開放、沿元朗攸壆路往壆圍南路一段單車徑的特色。他說,單車徑的走線優先選擇風景優美的地方,以及途經具文化特色的景點,如元朗錦田河、新田大夫第,以提升單車徑的吸引力。同時,工作團隊已考慮走線對附近居民、環境和生態的影響,從而優化設計,以避開一些自然保育區、雀鳥棲息地等。

設計顧及安全及環境美化

趙智豪說,政府十分重視踏單車安全。工程團隊在設計時,考慮了單車徑的闊度、斜度和彎度,並在適當位置擺放合適的交通標誌、道路標記、護欄等設施,以保障踏單車人士及其他道路使用者安全。此外,在技術可行的情況下,會興建單車橋和單車隧道,以盡量減少踏單車人士需要下車過馬路的情況。

環境美化同樣重要。工程團隊特別在單車徑旁種植四季綻放的花卉。除了盡量保留單車徑旁原有的樹木,更種植了數百棵新樹和數萬棵灌木植物,以綠化社區環境。沿單車徑旁的欄杆,工程人員特別塗上連綿起伏的綠色山狀圖案,以達至與四周大自然環境融為一體。

增設配套提供舒適環境

為創造舒適的踏單車環境,趙智豪說,該署也為踏單車人士提供所需的配套設施,如可停泊單車的休息處,讓踏單車人士可稍作歇息,或到附近景點遊覽,然後繼續行程。鄰近港鐵站位置,如上水站、大學站等,亦設有單車匯合中心,方便踏單車人士集合和解散,中心內有單車租賃站、單車停泊位、急救站、小食亭、洗手間等設施。

我相信不少市民都和我一樣,對陸續開通的單車徑路段充滿期待。我知道工程團隊在工程施工期間,亦與各持份者保持緊密溝通,以了解大家的意見。我感謝同事的努力,讓施工安排做得更好。我們會努力盡快落實單車徑項目,讓巿民早日享用,並希望有助推廣本地單車運動,讓更多人享受到踏單車的樂趣。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
土木工程拓展署(土拓署)高級工程師朱偉麟說,政府一直致力在新界發展全面的單車徑網絡,提供一條貫通新界東西的單車徑,作消閒和康樂用途,藉以提高市民的生活質素。.
土木工程拓展署(土拓署)高級工程師朱偉麟說,政府一直致力在新界發展全面的單車徑網絡,提供一條貫通新界東西的單車徑,作消閒和康樂用途,藉以提高市民的生活質素。
圖為連接元朗至上水的單車徑,元朗壆圍南路和攸壆路部分路段剛於上月啟用,餘下路段預計今年9月或之前開放。屆時,屯門至馬鞍山整段60公里長主幹線路段將會完成。.
圖為連接元朗至上水的單車徑,元朗壆圍南路和攸壆路部分路段剛於上月啟用,餘下路段預計今年9月或之前開放。屆時,屯門至馬鞍山整段60公里長主幹線路段將會完成。.
圖為連接元朗至上水的單車徑,元朗壆圍南路和攸壆路部分路段剛於上月啟用,餘下路段預計今年9月或之前開放。屆時,屯門至馬鞍山整段60公里長主幹線路段將會完成。
土拓署工程師趙智豪說,工程團隊在單車徑旁種植四季綻放的花卉。除盡量保留單車徑旁原有樹木,更種植了數百棵新樹和數萬棵灌木植物。.
土拓署工程師趙智豪說,工程團隊在單車徑旁種植四季綻放的花卉。除盡量保留單車徑旁原有樹木,更種植了數百棵新樹和數萬棵灌木植物。
圖為荃灣青荃橋至灣景花園單車徑的部分路段,預計在下年年初前完成和開放給公眾使用。.
圖為荃灣青荃橋至灣景花園單車徑的部分路段,預計在下年年初前完成和開放給公眾使用。
土拓署設計單車徑走線時,優先選擇風景優美的地方,包括圖中的元朗錦田河旁。.
土拓署設計單車徑走線時,優先選擇風景優美的地方,包括圖中的元朗錦田河旁。
在興建安全的單車徑同時,工程團隊亦不忘美化設施,如單車徑旁的欄杆。.
在興建安全的單車徑同時,工程團隊亦不忘美化設施,如單車徑旁的欄杆。
在技術可行的情況下,工程團隊會興建單車橋和單車隧道,以盡量減少踏單車人士需要下車過馬路的情況。圖為上水石上河單車橋。.
在技術可行的情況下,工程團隊會興建單車橋和單車隧道,以盡量減少踏單車人士需要下車過馬路的情況。圖為元朗錦壆路單車隧道。.
在技術可行的情況下,工程團隊會興建單車橋和單車隧道,以盡量減少踏單車人士需要下車過馬路的情況。圖為上水石上河單車橋和元朗錦壆路單車隧道。
土拓署為踏單車人士提供所需的配套設施,包括可擺放單車的休息處。.
土拓署為踏單車人士提供所需的配套設施,包括可擺放單車的休息處。.
土拓署為踏單車人士提供所需的配套設施,包括可擺放單車的休息處。
鄰近港鐵站位置設有單車匯合中心,方便踏單車人士集合和解散。中心內有單車租賃站、單車停泊位、洗手間等設施。.
鄰近港鐵站位置設有單車匯合中心,方便踏單車人士集合和解散。中心內有單車租賃站、單車停泊位、洗手間等設施。
圖示「新界單車徑網絡」,由屯門至馬鞍山主幹線和荃灣至屯門主幹線組成。.
圖示「新界單車徑網絡」,由屯門至馬鞍山主幹線和荃灣至屯門主幹線組成。

2020年7月12日

返回.