Government appoints Antiquities Advisory Board Chairman and members

The Government today (January 13) announced that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo as Chairman of the Antiquities Advisory Board (AAB).
The Chief Executive also re-appointed 14 incumbent AAB members and appointed the following eight new members to the Board: Professor Ching May-bo, Professor Chiu Yu-lok, Mr Peter Lau Man-pong, Mr Christopher Law Kin-chung, Mr Lee Ping-kuen, Mr Ronald Liang, Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak and Professor Yau Chi-on.
The appointments and re-appointments were made under section 17(1) of the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance (Cap. 53) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2017, and are published in the Gazette today.
The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.
"The AAB is Government's important partner in heritage conservation. Over the years, it has made notable contributions to the promotion of heritage conservation in Hong Kong. The AAB has given constructive views on the grading assessment of historic buildings and related conservation proposals. It has also offered valuable recommendations on the future policy direction on built heritage conservation under a review completed in December 2014.
"The new term of the AAB comprises members from different fields and professions. I am confident that this new composition would bring in innovative ideas for the work of the AAB and I look forward to working with the Board," Mr Chan said.
He also expressed gratitude to the eight retiring AAB members for their dedicated service on the Board.
The AAB is a statutory body established under the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance to advise the Antiquities Authority on matters relating to antiquities and monuments. The new term of the AAB comprises 23 members (including the Chairman), who are all appointed in their personal capacity.
Following is the membership of the AAB from January 1, 2017.
Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo

Mr Stephen Chan Chit-kwai
Mr Chan Ka-kui
Professor Ching May-bo
Professor Rebecca Chiu Lai-har
Professor Chiu Yu-lok
Mr Peter Lau Man-pong
Mr Christopher Law Kin-chung
Mr Lee Ping-kuen
Mr Ronald Liang
Mr Philip Liao Yi-kang
Mr Kenny Lin Ching-pui
Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling
Ms Theresa Ng Choi-yuk
Ms Yvonne Shing Mo-han
Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming
Ms Karen Tang Shuk-tak
Ms Ava Tse Suk-ying
Mr Wong Bay
Mr Rex Wong Siu-han
Dr Sharon Wong Wai-yee
Professor Yau Chi-on

Ends/Friday, January 13, 2017
Issued at HKT 12:00