Chief Executive appoints Harbourfront Commission members

The Government announced today (June 30) the Chief Executive's appointment of five members to serve on the Harbourfront Commission (HC) for the term commencing on July 1, 2016.

Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke is re-appointed as Chairperson of the Commission for a one-year term from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017.

Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun is re-appointed as a non-official member of the Commission for a one-year term from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017.

Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau, Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit and Mr Ngan Man-yu are appointed as new non-official members of the Commission for a two-year term from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2018.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, welcomes the appointments and re-appointments.

"In the past year, the HC has continued to offer steadfast support and useful advice for harbourfront planning, design and management. The re-appointments of Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke and Mr Vincent Ng would preserve valuable experiences for the Commission and benefit the continuation of ongoing harbourfront enhancement efforts. The newly appointed members, who are from the accounting, catering and district council sectors, would help maintain the broad-based composition of the Commission and allow the Government to listen to views from a plethora of perspectives," Mr Chan said.

"I also wish to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt gratitude to all outgoing members for their dedication and invaluable contributions to the work of the Commission," Mr Chan added.

The HC was established in July 2010 to succeed the Harbour-front Enhancement Committee to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of Victoria Harbour's harbourfront.

Ends/Thursday, June 30, 2016
Issued at HKT 12:01