Appointment of Town Planning Board members

The Chief Executive has appointed six official and 31 non-official members to the Town Planning Board (TPB) for a two-year term from April 1, 2016, to March 31, 2018. The membership is published in the Gazette today (March 24).

The Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) is re-appointed as Chairman and Professor Wong Sze-chun is appointed as Vice-chairman of the TPB.

The members are also appointed to serve on the TPB's two planning committees - the Metro Planning Committee and the Rural and New Town Planning Committee.

A spokesman for the Development Bureau said that the non-official members of the TPB come from various sectors, including architectural, surveying, engineering, environmental, transport, business and legal sectors. With their wealth of experience and expertise, they will provide the needed knowledge and valuable advice to the TPB to discharge its statutory role.

The TPB is a statutory body established under section 2 of the Town Planning Ordinance with a view to promoting the health, safety, convenience and general welfare of the community through the systematic preparation and approval of plans for the layout of areas of Hong Kong as well as for the types of building suitable for erection therein.

Following is the TPB's full membership for the new term:

Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands)

Professor Wong Sze-chun

Official Members:
Director of Planning
Deputy Secretary (Transport) 1, Transport and Housing Bureau, or alternate representative
Director of Home Affairs, or alternate representative
Director of Environmental Protection, or alternate representative
Director of Lands, or alternate representative

Non-official Members:

The re-appointed members are:

Mr Lincoln Huang Ling-hang
Mr Cheung Hau-wai
Dr Chan Fuk-cheung
Professor Chau Kwai-cheong
Dr Wilton Fok Wai-tung
Mr Ivan Fu Chin-shing
Mr Sunny Ho Lap-kee
Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun
Ms Janice Lai Wai-man
Mr Dominic Lam Kwong-ki
Mr Patrick Lau Hing-tat
Ms Christina Lee Maisenne
Mr Leung Hing-fung
Mr David Lui Yin-tat
Dr Lawrence Poon Wing-cheung
Mr Stephen Yau How-boa
Mr Frankie Yeung
Mr Peter Yuen Ka-tat 

The new appointees are:

Mr Cheung Kwok-kit
Mr Wilson Fung Ying-wai 
Dr Hau Chi-hang
Mr Thomas Ho On-sing
Mr Ip Tin-yau
Mr Alex Lai Ting-hong 
Dr Lawrence Li Kwok-chang
Mr Stephen Liu Ling-hong 
Professor Liu Tik-sang 
Miss Winnie Ng Wing-mui
Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee 
Mr Franklin Yu

Ends/Thursday, March 24, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:05