Government appoints new URA Board Chairman

The Government today (June 6) announced that the Chief Executive (CE) has, pursuant to section 4 of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance (URAO), appointed Mr Victor So Hing-woh as Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) Board for a term of three years with effect from June 15, 2013.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, welcomed the appointment.

"I am grateful to Mr Victor So for accepting the appointment as Chairman of the URA Board. Mr So is a veteran in urban renewal and public and private sector developments. In his professional career of more than 40 years, Mr So had worked for the MTR Corporation Limited, the Hong Kong Housing Society, the Link Management Limited and listed property companies. Apart from holding paid positions, Mr So has had an equally long and meritorious period of service on government boards and committees on the planning and housing fronts. His extensive experience and stellar track record in the field will inspire confidence in the continued success of the URA in the important task of urban renewal. I look forward to working closely with Mr So and the URA Board under his chairmanship," Mr Chan said.

The URA Board comprises 21 non-official non-executive directors (including the Chairman), four official non-executive directors and three executive directors. All the non-official non-executive directors are appointed in their personal capacity.

The membership of the URA Board as at June 15, 2013, is set out below:

*(Appointed from June 15, 2013, to June 14, 2016)
Mr Victor So Hing-woh

Non-Executive Directors (Non-official)
*(Appointed from December 1, 2011, to November 30, 2014)
Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen
Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun
Mr Daniel Lam Chun
Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
Dr John Wong Yee-him

*(Appointed from December 1, 2012, to November 30, 2014)
Mr Dennis Kwok
Mr James To Kun-sun
Mr Wong Kwok-kin

*(Appointed from May 1, 2013, to April 30, 2016)
Dr Chiang Lai-wan
Mr Edward Chow Kwong-fai
Mr Fung Wai-kwong
Mr Laurence Ho Wing-him
Mr Lester Garson Huang
Professor Eddie Hui Chi-man
Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen
Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen
Mr Philip Liao Yi-kang
Mr Timonthy Ma Kam-wah
Mr David Tang Chi-fai
Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai

Non-Executive Directors (Official)
Director of Buildings
Director of Home Affairs
Director of Lands
Director of Planning

Executive Directors
Managing Director/Deputy Chairman
Two Executive Directors

Ends/Thursday, June 6, 2013
Issued at HKT 17:05