Appointments to Construction Industry Council announced

The Government today (January 25) announced the re-appointment of two incumbent non-official Members, three incumbent official Members and the appointment of seven new non-official Members of the Construction Industry Council (CIC) with effect from February 1, 2013.

Two incumbent non-official CIC Members were re-appointed for a one-year term from February 1, 2013, to January 31, 2014. Three incumbent official CIC Members and seven new non-official CIC Members were appointed for a two-year term from February 1, 2013, to January 31, 2015. The appointments were made by the Secretary for Development.

The seven new members are Mr Robert Lam Ping-hong, Professor Reuben Chu Pui-kwan, Mr Derrick Pang Yat-bond, Mr Allan Chan Sau-kit, Mr Anthony Chan Yiu-tung, Professor Wong Sze-chun and Mr Lai Chi-wah.

The CIC was established in February 2007 as a statutory body with a mission to forge consensus on long-term strategic issues concerning the construction industry, convey the needs and aspirations of the industry to the Government, and provide a channel for the Government to solicit advice on all construction-related matters. Since its establishment, the CIC has also embarked on a range of initiatives to elevate the quality of construction and to uphold the professionalism of the construction industry in Hong Kong.

The appointments were published in the Government Gazette today.

Membership of the CIC as from February 1, 2013, will be as follows:

Mr Lee Shing-see

Mr Allan Chan Sau-kit
Mr Chan Siu-hung
Mr Anthony Chan Yiu-tung
Ms Teresa Cheng Yeuk-wah
Mr Cheung Hau-wai
Mr Chew Tai-chong
Mr Paul Chong Kin-lit
Mr Chow Luen-kiu
Professor Reuben Chu Pui-kwan
Mr James Kwan Yuk-choi
Mr Lai Chi-wah
Mr Robert Lam Ping-hong
Professor Christopher Leung Kin-ying
Mr Mak Tak-ching
Mr Lawrence Ng San-wa
Mr Derrick Pang Yat-bond
Mr Kevin Poole
Mr Peter Wong Bay
Mr Mike Wong Chik-wing
Professor Wong Sze-chun
Mr Yu Wai-wai
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Housing)
Director of Buildings

Ends/Friday, January 25, 2013
Issued at HKT 11:01