Government appoints Antiquities Advisory Board Chairman and members

The Government today (January 2) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo as Chairman of the Antiquities Advisory Board (AAB).

The Chief Executive also re-appointed 10 incumbent AAB members and appointed the following 12 new members to the Board: Mr Stephen Chan Chit-kwai, Mr Chan Ka-kui, Professor Rebecca Chiu Lai-har, Professor Ho Puay-peng, Mr Philip Liao Yi-kang, Mr Kenny Lin Ching-pui, Mr Luc Joseph Ngai, Ms Yvonne Shing Mo-han, Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming, Ms Karen Tang Shuk-tak, Ms Ava Tse Suk-ying and Mr Wong Bay.

The appointments and re-appointments were made under section 17(1) of the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance (Cap. 53) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2013, and will be published in the Gazette this Friday (January 4).

The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.

"The AAB is the Government's important partner in heritage conservation. Over the years, the AAB has made valuable contributions to the promotion of heritage conservation in Hong Kong. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Bernard Chan, the outgoing Chairman, and the other 12 outgoing members for their remarkable service on the AAB. The new term of the AAB comprises members from different fields and professions. I am confident that this new composition would bring in fresh ideas to the work of the AAB and I look forward to working with the Board on a broad range of issues related to heritage conservation," said Mr Chan.

The AAB is a statutory body established under the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance (Cap. 53) to advise the Antiquities Authority on any matters relating to antiquities and monuments. It comprises 23 members (including the Chairman), who are all appointed in their personal capacity.

The membership of the AAB with effect from January 1, 2013, is set out below:

Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo

Mr Stephen Chan Chit-kwai
Mr Chan Ka-kui
Professor Rebecca Chiu Lai-har
Professor Chung Po-yin
Professor Ho Puay-peng
Professor Ho Pui-yin
Mr Tim Ko Tim-keung
Mr Tony Lam Chung-wai
Ms Lilian Law Suk-kwan
Mr Philip Liao Yi-kang
Mr Kenny Lin Ching-pui
Professor Tracey Lu Lie-dan
Mr Luc Joseph Ngai
Ms Janet Pau Heng-ting
Ms Yvonne Shing Mo-han
Professor Billy So Kee-long
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming
Ms Karen Tang Shuk-tak
Dr Joseph Ting Sun-pao
Ms Ava Tse Suk-ying
Mr Wong Bay
Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung

Ends/Wednesday, January 2, 2013
Issued at HKT 11:45