Appointments to Land and Development Advisory Committee announced

The Government today (June 29) announced the appointment of the chairman and members to the Land and Development Advisory Committee (LDAC) for the next term of three years from July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2015.

Dr David Wong Yau-kar is appointed as chairman of the LDAC. The other 19 non-official members, appointed on an individual basis, include eight nominees from trade and professional organisations and 11 persons from diverse professional backgrounds covering architecture, construction, engineering, planning, real estate administration, real estate development, surveying, education, environment and conservation, legal, medical, policy research and transport and logistics.

The LDAC is tasked to advise the Government, through the Secretary for Development, on policies and procedures in relation to planning, land and buildings matters; specific development proposals and projects initiated by non-governmental organisations or private sector proponents which carry broader economic or social merits; and policies, measures and specific development proposals conducive to Energizing Kowloon East.

The Chief Executive announced in his 2011-2012 Policy Address the initiative of Energizing Kowloon East to transform Kowloon East into another central business district to support Hong Kong's economic development. To facilitate early and successful transformation of Kowloon East, the terms of reference of the LDAC for the next term have been specifically expanded to allow the Government to seek advice from the committee on policies, measures and specific development proposals conducive to Energizing Kowloon East. 

"With the professional expertise of LDAC members and the extensive experience of the committee in advising the Government on non-government sector's land development projects, the LDAC will no doubt continue to provide invaluable advice to the Government on development-related policies and procedures as well as the Energizing Kowloon East initiative in the years to come," said a spokesman of the Development Bureau.

The full membership of the committee is as follows:


Dr David Wong Yau-kar
Chairman of Business and Professional Federation of Hong Kong
Permanent Honorary President of the Chinese Manufacturers' Association of Hong Kong
Member of Hong Kong Trade Development Council

Non-official members nominated by professional/trade

Ir Thomas Ho On-sing (Hong Kong Construction Association)
Ir Lau Chi-kin (Hong Kong Institution of Engineers)
Mr Patrick Lau Hing-tat (Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects)
Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan (Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors)
Mr Stewart Leung Chi-kin (Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong)
Mr Andy Leung Kit-man (Hong Kong Institute of Architects)
Dr Peter Cookson Smith (Hong Kong Institute of Planners)
Dr Stanley Wong Kam-cheong (Hong Kong Institute of Real Estate Administrators)

Other non-official members

Dr Linda Fan Wong Chi-ning
Associate Professor, Department of Building and Real Estate, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Mr Larry Kwok Lam-kwong
Member of Hong Kong Tourism Board

Dr Lam Ching-choi
Chief Executive Officer, Haven of Hope Christian Service
Vice-chairman of Elderly Commission

Mr Lau Chun-kong
International Director, Jones Lang LaSalle

Dr Law Chi-kwong
Associate Professor, Department of Social Work and Social Administration, University of Hong Kong

Professor Joseph Lee Hun-wei
Vice President, Research and Graduate Studies, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Member of Advisory Council on the Environment

Mr Leung Kong-yui
Associate Head, College of Humanities and Law, HKU School of Professional and Continuing Education

Professor Lui Tai-lok
Head, Department of Sociology, University of Hong Kong

Mr Danny Tsui Wai-hang
Adjunct Lecturer, Politics and Law, School of Continuing and Professional Education, City University of Hong Kong
Chief Campaigner, The Roundtable

Dr Yau Wing-kwong
Member of Tai Po District Council
Member of Advisory Council on the Environment

Ms Margaret Yuen Ying-lai
General Manager, Hong Kong Institute of Housing

Ex-officio members

Secretary for Development
Director of Buildings
Director of Lands
Director of Planning
Government Economist


Ends/Friday, June 29, 2012
Issued at HKT 12:18