Appointments to Kowloon City District Urban Renewal Forum

The Development Bureau today (May 27) announced the appointments of 20 non-official and official members to the first District Urban Renewal Forum (DURF) at Kowloon City for a term of three years from June 1, 2011, to May 31, 2014.

Dr Greg Wong Chak-yan was appointed the forum's chairman. Other non-official members include four incumbent members of the Kowloon City District Council, two Area Committee members who are centres-in-charge of local non-governmental organisations and professionals from the relevant fields.

The Secretary for Development, Mrs Carrie Lam, said, "DURF is a highlight in the new Urban Renewal Strategy promulgated in February 2011. This professionally led and widely represented advisory forum will strengthen urban renewal planning at the district level."

"I am grateful that Dr Greg Wong Chak-yan has agreed to serve as the forum's first chairman. Dr Wong comes from the engineering profession and has extensive experience in urban planning and building structure matters. Under his leadership and with the support of other members coming from different backgrounds, including the District Council, Area Committees, local non-governmental organisations and professional disciplines, I am confident that the Kowloon City DURF will work in collaboration with the local community and other interested partners to create a sustainable district urban renewal blueprint for Kowloon City," Mrs Lam said. 

Dr Wong was President of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers from 2005 to 2006. He was Vice-chairman of the Town Planning Board from 2008 to 2010 and prior to that was Vice-chairman of the Metro Planning Committee under the Town Planning Board from 2006 to 2008. Dr Wong was also a member of the former Harbourfront Enhancement Committee from 2004 to 2010 and was chairman of the then Task Group on Urban Design Study for the New Central Harbourfront under the former Harbourfront Enhancement Committee from 2007 to 2010.

The first meeting of the Kowloon City DURF will be held on June 13 and will be open to the public. Registration arrangements will be separately announced later.

The membership of Kowloon City DURF is as follows:

Dr Greg Wong Chak-yan

Non-official members
Mr James Mathew Fong
Ms May Fung Mei-wah
Mr Ho Hin Ming
Rev Hor Yiu-man
Ms Christine Kwok Mun-yee
Mr Daniel Lau King-shing
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Dr Lawrence Poon Wing-cheung
Ms Peggy Poon Wing-yin
Ms Siu Yuen-sheung
Dr Tang Bo-sin
Mr Wen Choy-bon
Mr Wong Kam-sing
Ms Connie Wong Wai-ching

Official members
Executive Director (Planning and Project Control), Urban Renewal Authority or representative
District Officer (Kowloon City), Home Affairs Department or representative
District Planning Officer (Kowloon), Planning Department or representative
Chief Traffic Engineer (Kowloon), Transport Department or representative
Principal Assistant Secretary (Planning and Lands) 4, Development Bureau or representative

Chief Town Planner (District Urban Renewal Forum), Planning Department

The functions of the Kowloon City DURF are:

(1) to advise the Government through the Secretary for Development on urban renewal plans within the Kowloon City area from a holistic and integrated perspective, having regard to the Urban Renewal Strategy promulgated in 2011, including advice on redevelopment and rehabilitation areas in tandem with the Urban Renewal Authority's core business, plus preservation and revitalisation initiatives contributing to a quality city environment;

(2) to conduct and oversee, with funding support from the Urban Renewal Trust Fund, broad-based public engagement exercises, planning studies, social impact assessments and other related studies, in the process;

(3) to monitor progress of implementation of the identified redevelopment, rehabilitation, preservation and revitalisation projects to be taken forward; and

(4) to assume a public education role through an outreach programme to all the relevant stakeholders with a view to fostering district partnership in urban renewal work.

Ends/Friday, May 27, 2011
Issued at HKT 14:01