Chief Executive appoints Harbourfront Commission

The Chief Executive has appointed a new Harbourfront Commission to advise the Government on all harbourfront matters with the aim of delivering a world-class harbourfront for public enjoyment. Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke is named the first Chairperson of the Commission.

The Harbourfront Commission is established to succeed the Harbour-front Enhancement Committee (HEC) to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of the Victoria harbourfront.

The Secretary for Development, Mrs Carrie Lam, welcomed the establishment of the Harbourfront Commission.

"Through extensive public engagement and the great efforts of its members under the admirable chairmanship of Professor Lee Chack-fan, the HEC made significant contributions in planning and beautifying the harbourfront over the past six years. I am confident the Harbourfront Commission will spare no effort in continuing the good work.

"I wish to take this opportunity to extend my deepest gratitude to Professor Lee Chack-fan and all members of the HEC for their passion and dedication over the past few years," said Mrs Lam. 

The establishment of the Harbourfront Commission was recommended by the HEC when it concluded its six years of work in February 2010. The Government has also accepted the HEC's recommendations relating to the Commission's role and functions and its composition.

The newly formed Harbourfront Commission comprises mostly non-official members including 12 representatives nominated by professional institutes, civic and environmental groups and the business sector, and eight individuals. Senior officials from six departments which play an important role in harbourfront matters will also join the Commission. Pursuant to HEC’s recommendation, the Secretary for Development will take up the position as the Commission’s Vice Chairperson.

"The non-official members are drawn from various sectors including architecture, planning, surveying, engineering, accountancy, tourism, real estate and district councils. With their wealth of experience and expertise, they will provide the needed knowledge and valuable advice to the Commission.

"I am very pleased that Mr Brooke has agreed to accept the appointment as Chairperson of the Commission. Mr Brooke has made remarkable contributions to the HEC in actively promoting harbourfront policy and planning development. His vast experience in the public and private sectors will be a valuable asset to the Commission."

The functions of the Harbourfront Commission are to -

(a) play an advocacy, oversight and advisory role in the envisioning, planning, urban design, marketing and branding, development, management and operation of the harbourfront areas and facilities on a continuous and ongoing basis;

(b) exercise overall co-ordination and monitoring of harbourfront planning, urban design, development and management to ensure effective integration of these major aspects; and

(c) foster and encourage the development, management and maintenance of the harbourfront through a wide range of contractual entrustment/partnership arrangements with the private sector (including the community, social enterprises and non-governmental organisations).

Following is the membership of the Commission:

Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke

Secretary for Development

Non-official Members (Organisations)
Business Environment Council
Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong
Conservancy Association
Friends of the Earth
Hong Kong Institute of Architects
Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects
Hong Kong Institute of Planners
Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design
Hong Kong Institution of Engineers
Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong
Society for Protection of the Harbour Ltd

Non-official Members (Individuals)
Mr Benjamin Cha Yiu-chung
Mr Chan Hok-fung
Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung
Ms Lily Chow
Mr Eric Fok Kai-shan
Mr Clement Kwok King-man
Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun
Ms So Lai-chun

Official Members
Commissioner for Tourism or his representative
Commissioner for Transport or his representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his representative
Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or her representative
Director of Marine or his representative
Director of Planning or his representative

Ends/Tuesday, June 29, 2010
Issued at HKT 11:53