Appointment of Town Planning Board members

The Chief Executive has appointed six official and 30 non-official members to the Town Planning Board (TPB) for a two-year term from April 1, 2010, to March 31, 2012.

The Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) is re-appointed as Chairman and Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai is appointed as Vice-chairman of the Board.

The members are also appointed to serve on the Board's two planning committees - the Metro Planning Committee and Rural and New Town Planning Committee.

A spokesman for Development Bureau said today (March 26) that the 30 non-official members, with their wealth of experience and expertise in different sectors, including architectural, surveying, engineering, environmental, business and finance, education and law, would provide needed knowledge and valuable advice to the Board to discharge its statutory roles.

The TPB is a statutory body established under section 2 of the Town Planning Ordinance with a view to promoting the health, safety, convenience and general welfare of the community through the systematic preparation of plans for the layout of such areas of Hong Kong as the Chief Executive may direct, as well as the types of buildings suitable for erection therein.

Following is the Board's full membership published in the gazette today:

Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands)

Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai

Official Members:
Director of Planning
Deputy Secretary (Transport)1, Transport and Housing Bureau, or alternate representative
Director of Home Affairs, or alternate representative
Director of Environmental Protection, or alternate representative
Director of Lands, or alternate representative

Non-official Members:

The re-appointed members are:

Mr Chan Bing-woon
Professor Edwin Chan Hon-wan
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Maggie Chan Man-ki
Mr Raymond Chan Yuk-ming
Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin
Mr Cheng Yan-kee
Mr Felix Fong Wo
Ms Anna Kwong Sum-yee
Professor Paul Lam Kwan-sing
Dr James Lau Chi-wang
Mr Maurice Lee Wai-man
Mr Leung Kong-yui
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming

The new appointees are:

Professor Ho Puay-peng
Professor Hui Chi-man
Dr Lau Chi-pang
Ms Julia Lau Man-kwan
Professor Joseph Lee Hun-wei
Mr Clarence Leung Wang-ching
Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen
Dr Lo Wai-kwok
Mr Roger Luk Koon-hoo
Ms Anita Ma Wing-tseung
Professor Wong Sze-chun
Ms Yau Lai-ping
Dr Yau Wing-kwong
Mr Stephen Yip Moon-wah

Ends/Friday, March 26, 2010
Issued at HKT 12:57