Appointments to Advisory Committee on Revitalisation of Historic Buildings announced

The Government announced today (May 14) the re-appointments of all ten incumbent non-official members to the Advisory Committee on Revitalisation of Historic Buildings (ACRHB). The re-appointments will take effect from May 15, 2010 for a term of two years.

The ACRHB, established on May 15, 2008, comprises members from diverse fields, including historical research, architecture, surveying, social enterprise and finance. Apart from assisting in the assessment and selection of proposals under the Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme (the Revitalisation Scheme), the ACRHB also provides advice on the subsequent monitoring of the implementation and operation of the revitalisation projects. It may also be consulted on revitalisation projects concerning other historic buildings as assigned by the Secretary for Development.

Under the able leadership of the Chairman, Mr Bernard Chan, the Committee has since its establishment in 2008 selected the operators for six historic buildings under Batch I of the Revitalisation Scheme. It is now assessing the applications submitted for the second batch of historic buildings under the Revitalisation Scheme. All incumbent members have made invaluable contribution to the work of the ACRHB during their current term.

Following is the membership list of the ACRHB with effect from May 15, 2010:

Non-official members
Mr Bernard Chan (Chairman)
Mr Nelson Cheng Wai-hung
Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Mr David Fong Man-hung
Mr Raymond Fung Wing-kee
Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo
Dr Lau Chi-pang
Ms Vivian Lau
Ms Deborah Wan Lai-yau
Dr Philip Wu Po-him

Official members
Commissioner for Heritage, Development Bureau
Assistant Director of Architectural Services (Property Services)
Assistant Director of Leisure and Cultural Services (Heritage and Museums)

Ends/Friday, May 14, 2010
Issued at HKT 14:01