Appointments to Construction Industry Council

The Government today (February 1) announced the re-appointment of Mr Keith Kerr as Chairman of the Construction Industry Council (CIC), the re-appointment of 21 incumbent CIC members and the appointment of three new members.  The appointments come into immediate effect for two years.

A government spokesman said, “With Mr Kerr's leadership and the dedicated efforts of the members, the council has made a good start in pursuing the reform initiatives advocated by the Construction Industry Review Committee, embarked on a series of initiatives conducive to the long-term development of the construction industry and achieved its amalgamation with the former Construction Industry Training Authority.

“We are grateful to Mr Kerr for his vision and foresight and all the members for their wise counsel.  We will continue to rely on the leadership of the council in reforming the construction industry,” he said.

The new appointees are Mr Stanley Hui Hon-chung, Chief Executive Officer of Airport Authority Hong Kong; Mr Ng Koon-kwan, Executive of the Construction Site Workers General Union; and Mr Yu Wai-wai, Executive Director of Sino Land Company Limited. 

“Being respected figures in their respective sectors, the new members will enhance the expertise of the council and bring additional impetus in pursuing improvement initiatives,” the spokesman said.

CIC was established on February 1, 2007, to forge consensus on long-term strategic issues, convey the needs and aspirations of the construction industry to the Government, and to provide a channel for the Government to solicit advice on construction related matters.  Since its formation, the council has become a platform of collaboration in taking forward initiatives to raise the quality and competitiveness of the construction industry. 

The full membership list of CIC is as follows:

Mr Keith Kerr

Mr Russell Black
Mr Francis Bong Shu-ying
Dr Andrew Chan Ka-ching
Ms Teresa Cheng Yeuk-wah
Mr Cheung Tat-tong
Mr James Chiu
Mr Choi Chun-wa
Mr Thomas Ho On-sing
Mr Stanley Hui Hon-chung
Professor Ko Jan-ming
Mr Edgar Kwan Chi-ping
Mr Thomas Kwok Ping-kwong
Mr Lam Wo-hei
Mr Peter Lee Kai-kwong
Mr Lee Shing-see
Mr Ng Koon-Kwan
Mr Tse Chun-yuen
Mr Wan Koon-sun
Mr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
Mr Billy Wong Wing-hoo
Mr Yu Wai-wai
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Housing)
Director of Buildings

Ends/Friday, February 1, 2008
Issued at HKT 16:30