Appointments to Electrical Safety Advisory Committee

The Government today (April 12) announced that Mr Wong Wai-ho has been re-appointed as the Chairman of the Electrical Safety Advisory Committee for another term of two years from April 6, 2002 to April 5, 2004.

At the same time, eleven members of the Committee have been re-appointed and six new members have been appointed for two years, with effect from April 6, 2002. The appointments were published in the Gazette today.

The terms of reference of the committee is to advise the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services on any matters relevant to the safety of electrical supply, electrical installations, wiring and products, or the safe use of electricity.

The full membership of the committee is as follows:

Mr Wong Wai-ho (Chairman)

Mr Chan Lee-shing, William

Mr Chan Pun

Mr Chan Yim-cheong, Paul

Professor Ching Pak-chung

Mr James Chiu

Mr Chow Kam-fai

Mr Fan Wai-kong, Michael

Mr Ip Pak-nin

Mr Lam Kin-lai

Mr Lee Wing-kin

Dr Li Kai-kwong

Mr Tang Wah-shing

Mr To Yip-lam

Mr Wong Kwok-keung, Peter

Mr Wong Yiu-sun, Peter

Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services

Director of Home Affairs or her representative

End/Friday, April 12, 2002