Jump to the beginning of content

Appointment of Urban Renewal Authority Non-Executive Directors

The Government today (April 24) announced the appointment of Mr Barry Cheung Chun-yuen as the Chairman of the Board of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA), and the appointment or re-appointment of the other 18 non-executive directors, including four official non-executive directors to the Board with effect from May 1, 2007.

Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands, Mr Michael Suen, welcomed the appointment of Mr Cheung as the Chairman of the URA Board and the appointment of the other non-executive directors.

"Mr Cheung has served on the Board of the URA for the past six years. His extensive and long time experience in urban renewal and his expertise in finance and business matters will be invaluable in steering the work of the URA. We have also brought in new blood to the URA Board in order to further strengthen its composition. "

"We look forward to working closely with the new Board in undertaking urban renewal for the benefits of our community", Mr Suen said.

Mr Suen also expressed gratitude to the retiring members of the board for their significant contribution to the URA, in particular to Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, the retiring Chairman of the URA, for his dedication and able leadership of the board over the past few years.

Six newly appointed non-official non-executive directors are Mr Victor Chan Hin-fu, Professor Ho Pui-yin, Mr Ip Kwok-him, Ms Agnes Ng Ka-yin, Mr Ng Shui-lai and Mr Peter To.

Eight incumbent non-official non-executive directors have been re-appointed. They are Mr Chan Kam-lam, Mr Francis Chau Yin-ming, Mr Maurice Lee Wai-man, Mr Fred Li Wah-ming, Mr Lo Chung-hing, Professor David Lung Ping-yee, Mr Howard Young and Dr Allan Zeman.

All non-official non-executive directors, including the Chairman of the URA Board, are appointed in their personal capacity.

Together with the four non-official non-executive directors appointed in November 2006, the new URA Board now comprises 19 non-official non-executive directors (including the Chairman), four official non-executive directors and three executive directors.

The membership of the URA Board is set out below.

Chairman (appointed from May 1, 2007 to April 30, 2010) Mr Barry Cheung Chun-yuen

Non-Executive Directors (Non-official)

*Appointed from May 1, 2007 to April 30, 2010
 Mr Victor Chan Hin-fu
 Mr Francis Chau Yin-ming
 Professor Ho Pui-yin
 Mr Ip Kwok-him
 Ms Agnes Ng Ka-yin
 Mr Ng Shui-lai
 Mr Peter To

*Appointed from May 1, 2007 to November 30, 2008
 Mr Chan Kam-lam
 Mr Maurice Lee Wai-man
 Mr Fred Li Wah-ming
 Mr Lo Chung-hing
 Professor David Lung Ping-yee
 Mr Howard Young
 Dr Allan Zeman

*Appointed from November 1, 2006 to November 30, 2008
 Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
 Dr Isaac Ng Ka-chui
 Mr Aaron Wan Chi-keung
 Mr Stephen Yip Moon-wah

Non-Executive Directors (Official) (appointed from May 1, 2007 to April 30, 2010)
Director of Buildings
Director of Home Affairs
Director of Lands
Director of Planning

Managing Director/Deputy Chairman
Mr Billy Lam Chung-lun

Executive Directors
Mr Quinn Law Yee-kwan
Ms Iris Tam Siu-ying

Ends/Tuesday, April 24, 2007
Issued at HKT 17:16