Appointment of Urban Renewal Authority Board Non-Executive Directors

    The Government today (April 22) announced the appointment of four Legislative Council (Legco) Members as non-executive directors of the Board of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA).  


    This includes the re-appointment of the Hon Chan Kam-lam and the Hon Fred Li Wah-ming and the appointment of the Hon Alan Leong Kah-kit and the Hon Howard Young. The four Members have been appointed for a period of two years from May 1, 2005 to April 30, 2007.


   "The appointment of the four Legco Members to the URA Board will help enhance the representation of the Board and maintain a close link between the URA and the Legco. This will facilitate the work of the URA, especially in regard to its community engagement work and taking through its holistic and people-oriented approach to urban renewal," the Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands, Mr Michael Suen, said.  


    Mr Suen also expressed the Government's gratitude to the two retiring non-executive directors, Mr Ambrose Lau Hon-chuen and Mr Lau Ping-cheung, for their valuable contribution to the URA in the past four years.  


    The URA Board has a total of 14 non-official non-executive directors (including the Chairman), coming from a wide cross-section of the community including the banking, business, academic, tourism, property development, legal and social work sectors. They are appointed on an ad personam basis. The membership of the URA Board is set out below.



Chairman (expiry date of term of appointment: April 30, 2007)


Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun



Deputy Chairman / Managing Director (expiry date of term of appointment: December 31, 2007)


Mr Billy Lam Chung-lun



Executive Director (expiry date of term of appointment: January 31, 2008)


Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo



Executive Director





Non-executive Directors (non-official members) (expiry date of term of appointment: April 30, 2007)


The Hon Chan Kam-lam

Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan

Mr Francis Chau Yin-ming

Mr Barry Cheung Chun-yuen

Mrs Peggy Lam Pei Yu-dja

Mr Maurice Lee Wai-man

The Hon Alan Leong Kah-kit

The Hon Fred Li Wah-ming

Mr Lo Chung-hing

Professor David Lung Ping-yee

Miss Maria Tam Wai-chu

The Hon Howard Young

Mr Allan Zeman


Non-executive Directors (official members) (expiry date of term of appointment: April 30, 2007)


Director of Buildings

Director of Home Affairs

Director of Lands

Director of Planning





Ends/Friday, April 22, 2005