Appointments to Harbourfront Commission

     The Government announced today (June 26) that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Ivan Ho Man-yiu as the new Chairman of the Harbourfront Commission (HC), and has appointed five new members and reappointed three existing members to the HC, for a term of two years with effect from July 1, 2024. The appointments will be gazetted on June 28, 2024.
     Mr Ho will succeed Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun as the new Chairman. Mr Ho has been serving on the HC since 2013 and has chaired the Task Force on Harbourfront Developments on Hong Kong Island under the HC since 2018.
     The newly appointed individual members are Mr Yiu Pak-leung, Mr Leung Chun, Mr Jason Shum Jiu-sang, Mr Bondy Wen Tsz-kit and Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing. The reappointed individual members are Ms Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung, Dr Lawrence Li Kwok-chang and Dr Frankie Yeung Wai-shing.
     Welcoming the above appointments, the Secretary for Development, Ms Bernadette Linn, said, "Mr Ho has rich experience in the work of harbourfront enhancement and has demonstrated superb leadership as the Chairman of the Task Force on Harbourfront Developments on Hong Kong Island. The Government looks forward to an ongoing close partnership with the HC to promote initiatives on harbourfront enhancement to build an attractive, vibrant, accessible and sustainable harbourfront."
     She continued, "I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Vincent Ng, for his tremendous contributions made over the years in his involvement with harbourfront matters. Under his chairmanship since 2018, the HC has implemented various harbourfront projects and initiatives, and has taken forward experiments at harbourfront sites that carry far-reaching impact, including the concepts of an incremental approach and harbourfront shared space. The significant achievements are well recognised."
     Ms Linn also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, Ms Janice Lai Wai-man and Ms Christina Maisenne Lee, for their contributions to promoting harbourfront development in the past six years.
     Established in 2010, the HC advises the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of Victoria Harbour's harbourfront.
     Following is the full membership of the HC commencing on July 1, 2024, including serving members whose term of service straddles July 1:
Mr Ivan Ho Man-yiu
Secretary for Development
Non-official Members (Organisation Members nominated by the following organisations)
Business Environment Council Limited
Friends of the Earth (HK) Charity Limited
Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design
Society for Protection of the Harbour
The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong
The Conservancy Association
The Hong Kong Institute of Architects
The Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects
The Hong Kong Institute of Planners
The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers
The Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong
Non-official Members (Individuals)
Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting
Mr Francis Lam Ka-fai
Ms Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung
Mr Leung Chun
Dr Lawrence Li Kwok-chang
Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying
Mr Wilson Or Chong-shing
Mr Jason Shum Jiu-sang
Ms Angela So Wing-kwan
Mr Bondy Wen Tsz-kit
Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing
Dr Frankie Yeung Wai-shing
Mr Yiu Pak-leung
Official Members
Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or representative
Commissioner for Tourism or representative
Commissioner for Transport or representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or representative
Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or representative
Director of Marine or representative
Director of Planning or representative
Commissioner for Harbourfront 
Ends/Wednesday, June 26, 2024
Issued at HKT 19:22