Appointments to Steering Committee on Construction Innovation and Technology Fund announced

     The Government today (March 20) announced the appointments of three new members to the Steering Committee on Construction Innovation and Technology Fund for a term from April 1, 2024, to September 6, 2026.
     The new members are Mr Anthony Chan Yin-chung, and two members recruited under the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth, Mr Sam Lin Ching-sum and Ms Rainie Pan Hailin.
     The Secretary for Development, Ms Bernadette Linn, said, "The Government has injected a total of $2.2 billion to the Construction Innovation and Technology Fund (CITF) to subsidise and drive a wider adoption of innovative technologies in the industry, including small and medium enterprises, through the CITF. The Steering Committee has made valuable recommendations on the operation of the CITF and launched various enhancement measures in partnership with the Construction Industry Council. We welcome the three new members and look forward to working closely with them to continue to drive the industry towards innovation through the CITF."
     The Government set up the CITF in 2018 to boost the capacities of enterprises and practitioners in the construction industry to adopt new technology, and to support the industry in technology application. Commissioned by the Government, the Construction Industry Council is responsible for the management and administration work of the CITF. As at February 2024, the CITF has approved over 3 700 applications, offering funding grants of more than $1.15 billion. The Steering Committee, comprising members of various professions in the industry, advises the Government on the implementation of the CITF.
     The membership of the Steering Committee with effect from April 1, 2024, is as follows:
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Mr Antonio Chan Chi-ming
Mr Anthony Chan Yin-chung*
Mr Cheung Man-tim
Mr Kenneth Cheung Tat-fai
Ms Rachel Chow Ka-wing
Mr Alex Kwan King-fai
Mr Kwok Yim
Dr Barry Lee Chi-hong
Professor Christopher Leung Kin-ying
Mr Sam Lin Ching-sum*
Ms Rainie Pan Hailin*
Mr Edwin Tong Ka-hung
Mr Gilman Wan Tsz-kin
Mr Billy Wong Kin-yee
Executive Director of the Construction Industry Council
Director of Buildings
Deputy Director of Housing (Development and Construction)
Principal Assistant Secretary (Works) 1, Development Bureau
* New members
Ends/Wednesday, March 20, 2024
Issued at HKT 11:00