Appointments to Construction Industry Council announced

     The Government today (January 26) announced the reappointment of Mr Thomas Ho On-sing as the Chairperson of the Construction Industry Council (CIC), the reappointment of 10 incumbent non-official members and the appointment of six new non-official members for a two-year term from February 1, 2024, to January 31, 2026. The appointments were published in the Government Gazette today.
     The reappointed non-official members are Mr Marvin Chen, Professor Jack Cheng Chin-pang, Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong, Mr Thomas Ho Kwok-kwan, Mr Kan Jun, Mr Clarence Leung Wai-kin, Mr Ricky Leung Wing-kee, Mr Simon Liu Sing-pang, Mr Edwin Tong Ka-hung and Mr Andrew Young Meng-cheung. The new non-official members are Mr Danny Hung Cheung-shew, Mr Kwok Hing-wun, Mr Kevin Ma Hok-ming, Mr Lawrence Ng San-wa, Mr Tse Wang-yu and Mr Emil Yu Chen-on.
     "We welcome the new members and look forward to working closely with the CIC for the continuous development of the construction industry. We also thank the six outgoing members, namely Mr Chan Kim-kwong, Professor Chung Kwok-fai, Mr Li Tat-wai, Mr Rocky Poon Lock-kee, Mr Tse King-wa and Mr Simon Wong Hin-wing, for their contributions to the CIC and the construction industry," a spokesman for the Development Bureau said.
     The CIC is a statutory body established in February 2007 with the mission to forge consensus on long-term strategic issues concerning the construction industry, convey the needs and aspirations of the industry to the Government, and provide a channel for the Government to solicit advice on all construction-related matters. Since its establishment, the CIC has embarked on a range of initiatives to elevate the quality of construction and uphold the professionalism of the construction industry in Hong Kong. It also collaborates with the industry to launch various training and caring schemes for industry practitioners, including its work in enhancing construction site safety and strengthening training to address the manpower needs.
     Membership of the CIC as from February 1, 2024, will be as follows:
Mr Thomas Ho On-sing
Mr Marvin Chen
Professor Jack Cheng Chin-pang
Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong
Mr Thomas Ho Kwok-kwan
Mr Danny Hung Cheung-shew
Mr Kan Jun
Mr Kwok Hing-wun
Mr Eddie Lam Kin-wing
Mr Clarence Leung Wai-kin
Mr Ricky Leung Wing-kee
Mr Simon Liu Sing-pang
Mrs Lo Lee Oi-lin
Mr Mow Tai-hing
Mr Kevin Ma Hok-ming
Mr Lawrence Ng San-wa
Mr Barry Sum Pang-tuen
Mr Edwin Tong Ka-hung
Mr Tse Wang-yu
Mr Rex Wong Siu-han
Mr Andrew Young Meng-cheung
Mr Emil Yu Chen-on
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Permanent Secretary for Housing
Director of Buildings
Ends/Friday, January 26, 2024
Issued at HKT 11:00