Government appoints Common Spatial Data Advisory Committee members

     The Government announced today (September 28) the appointment of nine new members and the reappointment of 14 incumbent members to the Common Spatial Data Advisory Committee (CSDAC) for a term of three years from October 1, 2023, to September 30, 2026.

     The nine new members are Professor Alain Chiaradia, Mr Lo Yat-wing, Mr Ken Mao Shu-fai, Mr Eric Cheung Po-chung, Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok, Dr Crystal Fok Lo-ming, Dr Tony Lee Kar-yun, Mr Simon Ngo Siu-hing and Mr Peter Yan King-shun. The 14 reappointed incumbent members are Mr Aaron Chan Wing-kai, Mr Paul Chan Yuen-king, Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming, Dr Kenneth Tang Siu-sing, Mr Paul Tsui Hoi-yuen, Mr Rex Wong Siu-han, Professor Anthony Yeh Gar-on, Mr Gary Yeung Man-yui, Ms Susanna Hui Hon-hing, Mr Ricky Leung Wing-kee, Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying, Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah, Professor John Shi Wen-zhong and Mr Wai Chi-sing.
     The CSDAC is chaired by the Director of Lands, Mr Andrew Lai. He said, "With extensive professional knowledge and experience, the newly appointed and reappointed members will offer professional advice to the Government on the development of the Common Spatial Data Infrastructure (CSDI), facilitating Hong Kong's development as a smart city."

     Mr Lai also expressed gratitude to the 10 outgoing members, namely Mr Terence Chan Tak-ming, Dr Lee Siew-wei, Mr Louis Loong Hon-biu, Mr Barry Wilson, Mr Alfred Chan Wing-kin, Mr Chiang Tung-keung, Mr William Chung Chak-man, Dr George Lam, Mr Roger Lee Chak-cheong and Mr Albert Wong Hak-keung, for their support to the CSDAC's work in the past three years, as well as their contribution to the creation of 3D Digital Map and the progressive development of the CSDI.
     Members of the CSDAC comprise representatives from five bureaux/departments and 23 non-official members from various sectors including the construction industry, geospatial and IT related groups, academics, social services, public utilities and transport operators.

     The membership of the new term of the CSDAC is as follows: 

Director of Lands

Non-official members nominated by professional/trade organisations
Mr Aaron Chan Wing-kai (Hong Kong Institute of Architects)
Mr Paul Chan Yuen-king (Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects)
Professor Alain Chiaradia (Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design)
Mr Lo Yat-wing (Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong)
Mr Ken Mao Shu-fai (Hong Kong Institution of Engineers)
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming (Smart City Consortium)
Dr Kenneth Tang Siu-sing (Hong Kong Institute of Planners)
Mr Paul Tsui Hoi-yuen (Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors)
Mr Rex Wong Siu-han (Hong Kong Construction Association)
Professor Anthony Yeh Gar-on (Hong Kong Geographic Information System Association)
Mr Gary Yeung Man-yui (Internet Professional Association)

Non-official members appointed on an ad-personam basis
Mr Eric Cheung Po-chung
Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok
Dr Crystal Fok Lo-ming
Ms Susanna Hui Hon-hing
Dr Tony Lee Kar-yun
Mr Ricky Leung Wing-kee
Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Mr Simon Ngo Siu-hing
Professor John Shi Wen-zhong
Mr Wai Chi-sing
Mr Peter Yan King-shun

Official members
Representatives of the Development Bureau
Representative of the Innovation, Technology and Industry Bureau
Representative of the Buildings Department
Representatives of the Lands Department
Representative of the Planning Department

Senior Land Surveyor (Spatial Data Infrastructure), Development Bureau
Ends/Thursday, September 28, 2023
Issued at HKT 16:18