Appointments to Construction Industry Council

     ‚ÄčThe Government today (January 14) announced the appointment of the new chairperson and nine new non-official members, as well as the re-appointment of seven incumbent non-official members, of the Construction Industry Council (CIC) for a two-year term from February 1, 2022, to January 31, 2024. The appointments were made by the Secretary for Development and were published in the Government Gazette today.
     The new chairperson of the CIC is Mr Thomas Ho On-sing. The nine new non-official members are Mr Marvin Chen, Professor Jack Cheng Chin-pang, Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong, Mr Kan Jun, Mr Clarence Leung Wai-kin, Mr Simon Liu Sing-pang, Mr Edwin Tong Ka-hung, Mr Tse King-wa and Mr Andrew Young Meng-cheung, and the seven re-appointed non-official members are Mr Chan Kim-kwong, Professor Chung Kwok-fai, Mr Thomas Ho Kwok-kwan, Mr Ricky Leung Wing-kee, Mr Li Tat-wai, Mr Rocky Poon Lock-kee and Mr Simon Wong Hin-wing.
     "We welcome the new members and look forward to working closely with all members for the healthy and continuous development of the construction industry. We would also like to express our heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing chairperson, Mr Chan Ka-kui, and seven outgoing members, Mr Chan Chi-chiu, Mr Ivan Fu Chin-shing, Professor Lo Hong-kam, Mr Kenneth Mo Kon-fei, Mr Pan Shujie, Ms Eliza Wong Yeuk-lan and Mr Yu Sai-yen, for their contributions to the CIC in the past years," a spokesman for the Development Bureau said.
     The CIC is a statutory body established in February 2007 with the mission to forge consensus on long-term strategic issues concerning the construction industry, convey the needs and aspirations of the industry to the Government, and provide a channel for the Government to solicit advice on all construction-related matters. Since its establishment, the CIC has embarked on a range of initiatives to elevate the quality of construction and to uphold the professionalism of the construction industry in Hong Kong, and has collaborated with the industry to launch various training and care schemes for industry practitioners, including the work in enhancing construction site safety and fighting against the pandemic.
     Membership of the CIC from February 1, 2022, will be as follows:
Mr Thomas Ho On-sing
Mr Chan Kim-kwong
Mr Marvin Chen
Professor Jack Cheng Chin-pang
Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong
Professor Chung Kwok-fai
Mr Thomas Ho Kwok-kwan
Mr Kan Jun
Mr Eddie Lam Kin-wing
Mr Clarence Leung Wai-kin
Mr Ricky Leung Wing-kee
Mr Li Tat-wai
Mr Simon Liu Sing-pang
Mrs Lo Lee Oi-lin
Mr Mow Tai-hing
Dr Derrick Pang Yat-bond
Mr Rocky Poon Lock-kee
Mr Edwin Tong Ka-hung
Mr Tse King-wa
Mr Simon Wong Hin-wing
Mr Ken Wong Kin-wai
Mr Andrew Young Meng-cheung
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Housing)
Director of Buildings
Ends/Friday, January 14, 2022
Issued at HKT 11:00