Appointments to Drinking Water Safety Advisory Committee announced

     The Government announced today (December 31) the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of the incumbent Chairman, the Vice Chairman and 11 members to the Drinking Water Safety Advisory Committee for a two-year term from January 1, 2022.
     The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, said, "The Government strives to safeguard drinking water safety. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to members for their valuable advice on drinking water standards as well as policies and measures relating to drinking water safety in Hong Kong in the past two years. I look forward to continuing to work with the Advisory Committee. I would also like to thank the outgoing member, Mr Peter Wong, for his contributions to the Advisory Committee over the years."
     The Advisory Committee was set up in January 1, 2018, to advise the Development Bureau on the development of the regulatory regime for drinking water safety in Hong Kong, the review of Hong Kong Drinking Water Standards, and policies and operational strategies and measures relating to drinking water quality. In addition, the Advisory Committee reviews global concerns on water safety, as well as the directions for new research in light of international practice, trends and development.
     Membership of the Advisory Committee from January 1, 2022, is as follows:
Mr Edmund Leung Kwong-ho
Vice Chairman
Dr Chan Hon-fai
Non-official members
Dr May Chui Ting-fong
Mr Chung Chi-ming*
Dr David Anthony Cunliffe
Professor Ho Kin-chung
Dr Gray Ho Koon-sing*
Mr Vincent Ho Kui-yip
Professor Vivian Lee Wing-yan*
Professor Irene Lo Man-chi
Dr Anthony Ma Yiu-wa
Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum
Dr Kelvin To Kai-wang
Professor Shelly Tse Lap-ah
Professor Chris Wong Kong-chu*
Dr Raymond Wong Siu-ming
Dr Vivian Wong Taam Chi-woon
Ex-officio members
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) or representative
Director of Health or representative
Director of Water Supplies or representative
* New members
Ends/Friday, December 31, 2021
Issued at HKT 11:00