Government establishes Lantau Conservation Fund Advisory Committee

The Development Bureau (DEVB) announced today (September 30) the establishment of the Lantau Conservation Fund Advisory Committee (LCFAC) and the appointment of 14 non-official members for a term of two years from October 1 this year to September 30, 2022.

A spokesman for the DEVB said that the Lantau Conservation Fund (LCF) aims to promote and implement conservation of rural Lantau, and to pursue minor local improvement works in remote villages and communities in support of conservation initiatives. The LCF will cover a wide variety of conservation initiatives, including nature and cultural conservation, village revitalisation, environmental education and community engagement.

The LCFAC will advise on the administration of the LCF, and vet and monitor the projects to be funded by the LCF.
For relevant details of the LCF, please visit the dedicated website The membership list of the Committee is as follows:
Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee
Non-official members
Dr Janet Chan Kit-yan
Dr Irene Cheng Nga-yee
Dr Lewis Cheung Ting-on
Mr Ivan Fu Chin-shing
Mr Tony Ip Chung-man
Ms Janice Leung Kwok-ting
Ms Candice Leung Wai-yee
Mr Warren Luk Hua
Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum
Professor Wong Fook-yee
Ms Angela Yeung Pui-yan
Mr Randy Yu Hon-kwan
Mr Yu Ka-sing
Official members
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or representative
Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation or representative
Director of Environmental Protection or representative
Commissioner for Heritage of the Development Bureau or representative

Ends/Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Issued at HKT 11:00 NNNN