Government appoints Antiquities Advisory Board Chairman and members

The Government today (December 28) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak as Chairman of the Antiquities Advisory Board (AAB).
The Chief Executive also re-appointed 11 incumbent AAB members and appointed the following nine new members to the Board: Ms Vanessa Cheung Tih-lin, Professor Chu Hoi-shan, Mr Ho Kui-yip, Mr Tony Ip Chung-man, Dr Jane Lee Ching-yee, Ms Phyllis Li Chi-miu, Mr Shum Ho-kit, Miss Theresa Yeung Wing-shan and Ms Alice Yip Ka-ming.
The appointments and re-appointments were made under section 17(1) of the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance (Cap. 53) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2019, and are published in the Gazette today.
The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.
"The AAB is the Government's important partner in heritage conservation. Over the years, it has made notable contributions to the promotion of heritage conservation in Hong Kong. In particular, it has given constructive views on the grading assessment of historic buildings and related conservation proposals.
"The new term of the AAB comprises members from different fields and professions. I am confident that this new composition will bring in innovative ideas to the work of the AAB and I look forward to working with the new Board," Mr Wong said.
Mr Wong also expressed gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Andrew Lam, and the 10 outgoing members for their outstanding services on the AAB. 
"Mr Lam has been a member of AAB since 2007 and the Chairman of the Board since 2013. Under his effective and visionary leadership, the AAB has provided invaluable and insightful advice to the Government," he said.
The AAB is a statutory body established under the Antiquities and Monuments Ordinance to advise the Antiquities Authority on matters relating to antiquities and monuments. The new term of the AAB comprises 21 members (including the Chairman), who are all appointed in their personal capacity. 
The membership of the AAB with effect from January 1, 2019 is set out below:

Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak

Ms Vanessa Cheung Tih-lin
Professor Ching May-bo
Professor Chiu Yu-lok
Professor Chu Hoi-shan
Mr Ho Kui-yip
Mr Tony Ip Chung-man
Mr Peter Lau Man-pong
Mr Christopher Law Kin-chung
Dr Jane Lee Ching-yee
Mr Lee Ping-kuen
Ms Phyllis Li Chi-miu
Mr Ronald Liang
Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling
Ms Theresa Ng Choi-yuk
Mr Shum Ho-kit
Mr Rex Wong Siu-han
Dr Sharon Wong Wai-yee
Professor Yau Chi-on
Miss Theresa Yeung Wing-shan
Ms Alice Yip Ka-ming

Ends/Friday, December 28, 2018
Issued at HKT 11:41