Appointments to Harbourfront Commission announced

The Government announced today (June 29) the Chief Executive's appointment of the Chairperson and five members to serve on the Harbourfront Commission (HC) for a two-year term commencing on July 1, 2018.
Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun, a long-serving HC member, will succeed Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke as the new Chairman. Ms Janice Lai Wai-man and Ms Christina Maisenne Lee will join the HC for the first time as members, while three existing members, Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau, Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit and Mr Ngan Man-yu, have been re-appointed.
The Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.
"With Mr Ng's rich experience in the work of harbourfront enhancement and his outstanding leadership demonstrated as the chairman of the Task Force on Kai Tak Harbourfront Development, I am confident that the good work of the HC can be sustained in the years to come. The HC deliberations will also continue to benefit from the diversity brought about by the different backgrounds of new and existing members," Mr Wong said.
"I wish to take this opportunity to express my heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Nicholas Brooke, who has been involved in harbourfront-related matters since the establishment of the former Harbour-front Enhancement Committee (HEC) back in 2004, for his able chairmanship since 2010 and his invaluable contribution to the HC over the past years.
"Harbourfront development and enhancement is a core vision shared by both the Government and the HC. The next few years will be challenging for the HC, which is expected to take forward a number of major harbourfront initiatives including those funded by the $500 million dedicated funding," Mr Wong added.
To provide enhanced support to the HC in taking forward harbourfront initiatives, the Government will, from July 1, 2018, onwards, re-organise the Harbour Unit under the Development Bureau into a dedicated Harbour Office (HO). The HO will be staffed by a multi-disciplinary team comprising different professional and supporting officers.
The HC was established in July 2010 to succeed the HEC to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of the Victoria harbourfront. 
Following is the membership of the HC commencing on July 1, 2018:
Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun
Secretary for Development
Non-official Members (Organisations)
Business Environment Council
Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong
Conservancy Association
Friends of the Earth
Hong Kong Institute of Architects
Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects
Hong Kong Institute of Planners
Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design
Hong Kong Institution of Engineers
Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong
Society for Protection of the Harbour
Non-official Members (Individuals)
Mr Chan Ka-kui
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau
Mr Hans Joachim Isler
Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung
Ms Janice Lai Wai-man
Ms Christina Lee Maisenne
Ms Vivian Lee Ying-shih
Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit
Mr Ngan Man-yu
Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen
Official Members
Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or her representative
Commissioner for Tourism or his representative
Commissioner for Transport or her representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his representative
Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or her representative
Director of Marine or her representative
Director of Planning or his representative
Principal Assistant Secretary for Development (Harbour)
Ends/Friday, June 29, 2018
Issued at HKT 12:00