Jump to the beginning of content

Centre of Excellence for Major Project Leaders set up

The Government has been implementing public works projects in an orderly manner to improve people's quality of living, enhance Hong Kong's long-term competitiveness and promote economic development. The Development Bureau (DEVB) established the Centre of Excellence for Major Project Leaders (CoE) earlier to offer a high-level leadership development programme to senior public officers with a view to enhancing the overall performance of public works projects. This time, I have invited the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (PSW), Mr LAM Sai-hung, to introduce the purpose and details of setting up the CoE.

Substantial workload with challenges ahead

In the next few years, the Government’s annual capital works expenditure is expected to rise to over $100 billion and the annual total construction output will increase to over $300 billion, covering the construction of public and private housing, implementation of hospital development and redevelopment projects, development and expansion of new towns and new development areas, etc. In addition to this substantial workload, we are also facing the challenges of high construction costs and an ageing construction workforce.

To this end, we need to formulate and promote relevant strategies to uplift the construction industry’s delivery capacity and improve the overall productivity, such as promoting digitisation of the supervision system to enhance the standard and efficiency of public works supervision, and upgrading the DEVB’s Project Cost Management Office as the Project Strategy and Governance Office for implementing strategic initiatives and enhancing capabilities in cost surveillance and project governance. Moreover, there have been rising aspirations from the general public for better performance of public works projects in recent years. Therefore, we geared up for the establishment of the CoE last year to equip public officers with more innovative minds and up-to-date leadership competencies for delivering public works projects.

Nurturing leaders to shape Hong Kong’s future

Two weeks ago (i.e. 22 July), the CoE was formally established. The inauguration ceremony was officiated by the Financial Secretary (FS) and the Honorary President of the CoE, Mr CHAN Mo-po, Paul, together with the Secretary for Development and the Chairman of the CoE, Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael. At the ceremony, Mr Michael WONG pointed out that Hong Kong’s satisfactory performances in a number of public works projects have made Hong Kong people proud. The establishment of the CoE is one of the measures that the Government has taken to make us do even better in this area. The FS, Mr Paul CHAN, said in his speech that the CoE represents the Government’s huge investment in human capital for the future. It is hoped that the CoE will nurture leaders for Hong Kong’s future works projects.

Cornerstone for promoting professionalisation in the construction industry

According to the PSW, Mr LAM Sai-hung, in order to cope with the huge demand for housing, land, healthcare services and community infrastructure development, the Government put forward “Construction 2.0” in last year’s Policy Agenda to lead the construction industry to make changes, advocating “Innovation”, “Professionalisation” and “Revitalisation” to uplift the industry’s overall performance, including measures to improve its productivity, quality, site safety and environmental performance. The establishment of the CoE is a cornerstone for promoting professionalisation in our construction industry. We aim to enhance the leadership capability and professional proficiency of colleagues in charge of public works projects, so as to achieve better performance in major projects.

As the first institution that specialises in the nurturing leaders for major works projects in Asia, the CoE will, through collaboration between the Government and the world-renowned University of Oxford, offer a Major Projects Leadership Programme starting from August this year. The programme targets to provide structured, continuous and contemporary high-level leadership professional training in the coming three years for about 150 project leaders, i.e., government directorate officials in charge of public works projects and senior leaders of the industry. The first two cohorts of our civil service colleagues (25 in each batch) will receive training in the University of Oxford in mid-August and September respectively.

Capital works projects are a huge investment in our future. We have to ensure our public resources will be used smartly and effectively to meet the expectations of both the Government and the public. Here, let’s hope that all major project leaders will take Hong Kong’s construction industry to new heights upon graduation.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Development Bureau’s Centre of Excellence for Major Project Leaders (CoE) was formally established on 22 July. The Financial Secretary (FS) and the Honorary President of the CoE, Mr CHAN Mo-po, Paul (second left); the Secretary for Development (SDEV) and the Chairman of the CoE, Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (first left); the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (PSW), Mr Lam Sai-hung (third left); and representatives of the Saïd Business School of the University of Oxford (first to third right) are pictured at the inauguration ceremony..
The Development Bureau’s Centre of Excellence for Major Project Leaders (CoE) was formally established on 22 July. The Financial Secretary (FS) and the Honorary President of the CoE, Mr CHAN Mo-po, Paul (second left); the Secretary for Development (SDEV) and the Chairman of the CoE, Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (first left); the Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (PSW), Mr Lam Sai-hung (third left); and representatives of the Saïd Business School of the University of Oxford (first to third right) are pictured at the inauguration ceremony.
The FS, Mr Paul CHAN, says in his speech that the CoE represents the Government’s huge investment in human capital for the future. It is hoped that the CoE will be able to nurture leaders for works projects..
The FS, Mr Paul CHAN, says in his speech that the CoE represents the Government’s huge investment in human capital for the future. It is hoped that the CoE will be able to nurture leaders for works projects.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, hopes that all major project leaders will take Hong Kong’s construction industry to new heights upon graduation..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, hopes that all major project leaders will take Hong Kong’s construction industry to new heights upon graduation.
The PSW, Mr LAM Sai-hung, says that the CoE will provide structured, continuous and contemporary high-level leadership professional training in the coming three years for about 150 project leaders, i.e., government directorate officials in charge of public works projects and senior leaders of the industry..
The PSW, Mr LAM Sai-hung, says that the CoE will provide structured, continuous and contemporary high-level leadership professional training in the coming three years for about 150 project leaders, i.e., government directorate officials in charge of public works projects and senior leaders of the industry.
The CoE’s inauguration ceremony was held earlier. The Government anticipates that the CoE will bring huge benefits to the implementation of public works projects..
The CoE’s inauguration ceremony was held earlier. The Government anticipates that the CoE will bring huge benefits to the implementation of public works projects..
The CoE’s inauguration ceremony was held earlier. The Government anticipates that the CoE will bring huge benefits to the implementation of public works projects..
The CoE’s inauguration ceremony was held earlier. The Government anticipates that the CoE will bring huge benefits to the implementation of public works projects.

4 August, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

主要項目精英學院成立

政府一直有序地推展工務工程,以改善市民的生活質素、提升香港的長遠競爭力、推動經濟發展。發展局早前正式成立主要項目精英學院,為高級公職人員提供高水平項目領導發展課程,從而提升工務工程項目的整體表現。今次,我特別邀請發展局常任秘書長(工務)林世雄為大家介紹學院成立的目的和內容。

未來工程量繁重充滿挑戰

未來數年,政府在基本工程的年度開支預計會增至超過1 000億元,整體建造業每年的工程量亦會增至超過3 000億元,包括興建公私營房屋、推展醫院發展及重建計劃、發展及擴建新市鎮和新發展區等。除了繁重的工程量,我們還面對建造成本高昂及建造業勞動力高齡化的挑戰。

為此,我們需要制訂和推動相關策略,以提升建造業的承載能力,並改善整體生產力,例如推動工程監督系統數碼化,提升工務工程監管水平和效率,同時把發展局轄下的項目成本管理辦事處,升格為項目策略及管控辦事處,推行策略措施及加強成本監察和項目管控的能力。此外,近年市民對提升工務工程項目表現的期望日益殷切,因此我們去年積極籌辦設立主要項目精英學院,培訓公職人員以更創新的思維及與時並進的領導技巧,推展工務工程項目。

培養創造香港未來的領導人員

兩星期前(即7月22日),主要項目精英學院正式成立,財政司司長兼學院榮譽院長陳茂波先生與身兼學院院長的發展局局長黃偉綸先生一起主持成立典禮。黃偉綸局長在典禮上指出,香港有不少工務工程表現理想,值得港人引以為傲。主要項目精英學院的成立,是政府其中一項措施,希望把有關工作做得更好。財政司司長陳茂波致辭時亦表示,精英學院是政府未來人力資源的重大投資,希望透過計劃,培訓香港未來工程項目的領導人才。

推動建造業專業化的重要基石

發展局常任秘書長(工務)林世雄介紹說,為應付龐大房屋、土地、醫療及社區基建發展等需求,政府去年提出「建造業2.0」的政策綱領,領導建造業界革新,透過「創新」、「專業化」及「年青化」,提升建造業的整體表現,包括改善業界的生產力、質素、安全及減少對環境的影響。設立主要項目精英學院正是推動本港建造業專業化的重要基石,希望提升負責工務工程同事的領導能力和專業水平,從而令主要項目有更佳表現。

主要項目精英學院是亞洲首個專門培訓主要工程項目領導人員的學院,透過政府與世界頂尖學府牛津大學的合作,由今年8月起,推展主要項目領導計劃(Major Projects Leadership Programme),旨在未來3年,為約150位負責工務工程的政府首長級官員及業界高級領導人才,提供具結構性、持續性和現代化的高級領導人才專業培訓計劃,而首兩批公務員同事(各有25人)將分別於8月中和9月到牛津大學受訓。

基本工程是我們未來的重大投資。我們要確保公共資源得以精明和有效地運用,這是特區政府及市民的共同期望。在此,祝願各位主要項目精英學成歸來,帶領香港建造業更上一層樓。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
發展局轄下的主要項目精英學院7月22日正式成立。圖示財政司司長兼學院榮譽院長陳茂波(左二)、發展局局長兼學院主席黃偉綸(左一)、發展局常任秘書長(工務)林世雄(左三)與英國牛津大學Saïd Business School代表(右一至三)在成立典禮合照。.
發展局轄下的主要項目精英學院7月22日正式成立。圖示財政司司長兼學院榮譽院長陳茂波(左二)、發展局局長兼學院主席黃偉綸(左一)、發展局常任秘書長(工務)林世雄(左三)與英國牛津大學Saïd Business School代表(右一至三)在成立典禮合照。
財政司司長陳茂波致辭時表示,精英學院是政府未來人力資源的重大投資,希望透過計劃,培訓工程項目的領導人才。.
財政司司長陳茂波致辭時表示,精英學院是政府未來人力資源的重大投資,希望透過計劃,培訓工程項目的領導人才。
黃偉綸局長祝願各位主要項目精英學成歸來,帶領香港建造業更上一層樓。.
黃偉綸局長祝願各位主要項目精英學成歸來,帶領香港建造業更上一層樓。
發展局常任秘書長(工務)林世雄表示,未來3年,主要項目精英學院會為約150位負責工務工程的政府首長級官員及業界高級領導人才,提供具結構性、持續性和現代化的高級領導人才專業培訓計劃。.
發展局常任秘書長(工務)林世雄表示,未來3年,主要項目精英學院會為約150位負責工務工程的政府首長級官員及業界高級領導人才,提供具結構性、持續性和現代化的高級領導人才專業培訓計劃。
主要項目精英學院早前舉行成立典禮,政府預期學院會為工務工程項目的推展帶來重大的裨益。.
主要項目精英學院早前舉行成立典禮,政府預期學院會為工務工程項目的推展帶來重大的裨益。.
主要項目精英學院早前舉行成立典禮,政府預期學院會為工務工程項目的推展帶來重大的裨益。.
主要項目精英學院早前舉行成立典禮,政府預期學院會為工務工程項目的推展帶來重大的裨益。

2019年8月4日

返回.