Jump to the beginning of content

H6 CONET – A place for the community that can be shared and enjoyed by the public

Urban renewal is never merely about the transformation of the hardware, such as redeveloping old buildings and improving the built environment. Instead, it is more important to let those living in the neighbourhood embrace the uniqueness and vibrancy of the vicinity and promote the community’s long-term development. Recently, I visited H6 CONET, a community space operated by the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) in the bustling Central district, with two secondary school students taking part in the “Be a Government Official for a Day” programme. We were briefed by colleagues of the URA on how they integrate a district’s local characteristics and cultural landscape in undertaking urban renewal development projects to create an environment with distinct local characteristics and enhance the community’s sense of belonging.

Adding in the “place-making” elements

H6 CONET (Note), occupying an area of about 2 600 square metres, was designated for “Government, Institution or Community” uses by the former Land Development Corporation in the implementation of the redevelopment project of “The Center”. In 2017, the URA gave the place a facelift and re-designed the original facilities. By adding in some “place-making” elements, H6 CONET was transformed into a diverse community space which can be shared by the public. In addition to greening and leisure seating area, venues for different events and activities are also available for community groups and the public in H6 CONET. The daily visitor count of H6 CONET has more than doubled from some 4 000 visitors daily in the initial period after its opening to over 8 000 by now.

The city’s shortcut to adjoining streets

As told by Mr AU Chun-ho, Wilfred, Director (Planning and Design) of the URA, H6 CONET is located in the business district of Central, a pedestrian-friendly spatial design was therefore incorporated in its re-planning process to open up entrances and exits to enhance connectivity with six adjoining streets, namely Gilman Street, Gilman's Bazaar, Wing On Street, Tung Man Street, Hing Lung Street and Tit Hong Lane, making the place more accessible, spacious and walkable. Moreover, artists were engaged to create massive murals inside H6 CONET to showcase the features and history of the six streets such as the former dai pai dongs (open-air food stalls) at Gilman Street and the textile shops on Wong On Street. Display panels providing information about the history of the streets, such as how the evolution of the coastline along Victoria Harbour affected the outlook of the district, were installed on the streets to highlight the district’s unique background.

Releasing space for community activities

At present, H6 CONET is becoming a part of the “Centralians’” daily life. During the visit, we saw many citizens relaxing, having lunch, watching television or enjoying free Wi-Fi service, etc. at the place. There are office spaces for social services organisations, and multi-function rooms and venues of different sizes for exhibitions and performances are also open for reservation by organisations or groups to hold a diversity of community activities. Since its opening, H6 CONET has hosted over 80 cultural and art exhibitions, music performances and workshops, etc. and the average utilisation rate of the exhibition venues has exceeded 80 percent. Mr AU says that the URA is trying to make good use of the space of H6 CONET to launch suitable activities that best serve the needs of the community.

Planning-led approach

During our visit, we also took the Central-Mid-Levels escalator to the area around Peel Street/Graham Street in Central to see the URA’s efforts of preserving local history and culture while implementing redevelopment projects. Mr AU says that the URA has been gradually moving from the previous project-led approach to a planning-led one in undertaking urban renewal developments. By the planning-led approach, it means that in planning the design of the overall layout and public space, the URA will integrate the characteristics of the local district into the development and revitalise the community by applying the place-making concept so as to ensure that the local elements and historical buildings can be preserved and passed on.

Characteristics of century-old street market preserved

Taking the Peel Street/Graham Street redevelopment project as an example, the century-old street market was an essential local characteristic of Central. In pursuing redevelopment, the URA has endeavoured to preserve the street ambience as far as practicable and maintain the market vibrancy by, for example, providing a market block for fresh food shops to continue with their businesses. On the other hand, the URA has preserved the four pre-war shop-houses including Wing Woo Grocery at 120 Wellington Street and the façade of 26A-C Graham Street so that the local features can be retained.

Redevelopment of a place can never be like erasing with a rubber

I agree with Mr AU that redevelopment of a place can never be like erasing with a rubber, that is to remove everything in it and replace them with your own things. The H6 CONET project and the renewal process of the Central and Western District manage to incorporate the local historical and cultural characteristics into the planning to form a combination of the “New” and the “Old”; while open space and facilities are flexibly adapted to serve different needs to develop community bonding. I hope that, with years of experience in urban renewal, the URA will keep up good communication with various stakeholders in undertaking urban renewal projects to create a better urban living environment for the people.


Note: The name “CONET” stands for “C”ommunity, “O”pen space and “NET”work, and the community spaces are intended to be “places connecting the community and places for the community”.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, Secretary for Development (SDEV), (first left), visits H6 CONET, a community space operated by the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) in Central, with two secondary school students (second and third left) who take part in the “Be a Government Official for a Day” programme. They are briefed by Mr AU Chun-ho, Wilfred, Director (Planning and Design) of URA, on urban renewal work..
Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, Secretary for Development (SDEV), (first left), visits H6 CONET, a community space operated by the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) in Central, with two secondary school students (second and third left) who take part in the “Be a Government Official for a Day” programme. They are briefed by Mr AU Chun-ho, Wilfred, Director (Planning and Design) of URA, on urban renewal work.
Mr Michael WONG, SDEV, (second right) and the students (first and second left) go to the area around Peel Street/Graham Street in Central to see the URA’s efforts of preserving local history and culture while implementing redevelopment projects..
Mr Michael WONG, SDEV, (second right) and the students (first and second left) go to the area around Peel Street/Graham Street in Central to see the URA’s efforts of preserving local history and culture while implementing redevelopment projects.
As told by Mr Wilfred AU, Director (Planning and Design) of the URA, under the planning-led approach for urban renewal, the URA will integrate the characteristics of the local district into the development, and revitalise the community by applying the place-making concept to ensure that the local elements and historical buildings can be preserved and passed on..
As told by Mr Wilfred AU, Director (Planning and Design) of the URA, under the planning-led approach for urban renewal, the URA will integrate the characteristics of the local district into the development, and revitalise the community by applying the place-making concept to ensure that the local elements and historical buildings can be preserved and passed on.
Many citizens relaxing, watching television or enjoying free Wi-Fi service in H6 CONET..
Many citizens relaxing, watching television or enjoying free Wi-Fi service in H6 CONET.
Massive murals inside H6 CONET showcasing the features and history of several streets, such as the former dai pai dongs (open air food stalls) at Gilman Street and the textile shops on Wong On Street..
Massive murals inside H6 CONET showcasing the features and history of several streets, such as the former dai pai dongs (open air food stalls) at Gilman Street and the textile shops on Wong On Street.
The century-old street market on Graham Street was an important local characteristics of Central. In pursuing redevelopment, the URA has endeavoured to preserve the ambience of the streets and provides a market block for fresh food shops to continue with their businesses..
The century-old street market on Graham Street was an important local characteristics of Central. In pursuing redevelopment, the URA has endeavoured to preserve the ambience of the streets and provides a market block for fresh food shops to continue with their businesses..
The century-old street market on Graham Street was an important local characteristics of Central. In pursuing redevelopment, the URA has endeavoured to preserve the ambience of the streets and provides a market block for fresh food shops to continue with their businesses.
Display panels featuring the history of neighbouring streets are found both inside and outside H6 CONET..
Display panels featuring the history of neighbouring streets are found both inside and outside H6 CONET..
Display panels featuring the history of neighbouring streets are found both inside and outside H6 CONET.
So far, H6 CONET has hosted over 80 cultural and art exhibitions, music performances and workshops, etc., and the average utilisation rate of the exhibition venues has exceeded 80 percent..
So far, H6 CONET has hosted over 80 cultural and art exhibitions, music performances and workshops, etc., and the average utilisation rate of the exhibition venues has exceeded 80 percent..
So far, H6 CONET has hosted over 80 cultural and art exhibitions, music performances and workshops, etc., and the average utilisation rate of the exhibition venues has exceeded 80 percent..
So far, H6 CONET has hosted over 80 cultural and art exhibitions, music performances and workshops, etc., and the average utilisation rate of the exhibition venues has exceeded 80 percent.

28 July, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

H6 CONET - 共享空間 連繫社區

市區更新不只是硬件的改造,如舊樓重建、改善已建設環境等,更重要的,是要讓生活在區內的市民,感受到居住地的獨特性和活力,推動社區的長遠發展。日前,我聯同兩位參加「與香港同行」計劃的中學生落區,參觀市區重建局(市建局)位於中環鬧市的社區空間「H6 CONET」,聽取市建局同事介紹在推展更新項目時,如何結合地區特色,配合當區的人文景觀,營造具特色的地區環境,增加市民對社區的歸屬感。

加入「地方營造」概念元素

「H6 CONET」(註)佔地約2 600平方米。該地方在前土地發展公司開展中環中心項目時,劃作政府、機構及社區設施用地。2017年,市建局翻新及重新設計原有設施,並加入「地方營造」(Place-making)概念元素,將設施塑造為連繫社區、多元、共享的社區空間,設有綠化及休憩地方,同時為社區團體及市民提供籌辦各種不同活動的場地。H6 CONET每日的訪客人數,由開幕初期每日約4 000多人次,上升至目前超過8 000人次,增幅超過一倍。

城市捷徑貫通毗鄰街道

市建局總監區俊豪介紹說,H6 CONET位處中環商業區,在重新規劃時融入便利行人的空間設計,開通出入口,貫通毗鄰6條街道,即機利文街、機利文新街、永安街、同文街、興隆街及鐵行里,提升暢達性及步行空間。另外亦特別讓藝術家繪畫多幅巨型壁畫,在H6 CONET內呈現6條街道的特色和歷史,例如機利文街原有的大排檔、永安街的花布檔等,並在街道上豎立展板,敘述街道的歷史,如維港海岸線的演變如何影響當區面貌等,彰顯地區的獨特背景。

釋放社區活動空間

現時H6 CONET已融入「中環人」的生活中。參觀當日,看到不少市民在閒坐休息、吃午餐、看電視、享用免費無線上網服務等。它同時亦為多間社會服務團體提供辦公室,並設有不同大小的多用途活動室、展覽及表演場地,讓機構或團體預訂,舉辦各類社區活動。由啟用至今,H6 CONET已舉辦超過80項文化藝術展覽、音樂表演、工作坊等,展覽場地平均使用率高達八成以上。區俊豪說,市建局會按社區的需要,推展合適的活動,充份運用H6 CONET的空間。

先規劃、後項目

當天,我們亦沿中環至半山行人扶手電梯前往中環卑利街/嘉咸街一帶,了解市建局在發展重建項目時,如何保育地區歷史文化。區俊豪說,市建局的市區更新工作,由早期的「項目主導」,逐步邁向「規劃主導」模式,即「先規劃、後項目」,在考慮整體規劃布局和公共空間的設計時,先了解當區特色,以「地方營造」概念活化社區,讓地區元素和歷史建築,得以保育和傳承。

保存百年市集特色

以卑利街╱嘉咸街重建項目為例,嘉咸街上的百年露天小販市集是中環重要的地區特色,推行重建時,市建局盡力保留街道氛圍,延續市集活力,如提供一個鮮貨零售中心,讓售賣鮮貨的商舖繼續經營。另一方面,市建局保育地盤內4棟戰前唐樓,即威靈頓街120號(永和號舊雜貨店),以及依嘉咸街斜度而建的26A-C的外立面,讓當區特色得以承傳。

重建發展不能像「橡皮擦」

我同意區俊豪說,重建發展不能像用橡皮擦般,擦去所有東西,然後自己把東西放進去。H6 CONET項目和中西區的更新過程,把地區的歷史文化特色融入規劃之中,令「新」與「舊」融合;亦靈活配置空間設施,配合不同需要,凝聚社區。我期望市建局憑藉多年市區更新的經驗,繼續透過與不同持份者溝通,推行市區更新工作,為居民締造更好的市區生活環境。


註:CONET 的5個英文字母,取自Community(社區)的「C」,Open Space(公共空間)的「O」 及Network(網絡)的「NET」,旨在提供一個 「連繫社區、讓市民共享」的空間。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
黃偉綸局長(左一)與兩位參加「與香港同行」計劃的中學生(左二及三)參觀市建局位於中環的社區空間H6 CONET,聽取市建局總監區俊豪(右)講解市區更新工作。.
黃偉綸局長(左一)與兩位參加「與香港同行」計劃的中學生(左二及三)參觀市建局位於中環的社區空間H6 CONET,聽取市建局總監區俊豪(右)講解市區更新工作。
黃偉綸局長(右二)與學生(左一及二)前往中環卑利街/嘉咸街一帶,了解市建局在發展重建項目時,如何保育地區歷史文化。.
黃偉綸局長(右二)與學生(左一及二)前往中環卑利街/嘉咸街一帶,了解市建局在發展重建項目時,如何保育地區歷史文化。
市建局總監區俊豪(左二)說,市區更新工作以「先規劃、後項目」的模式來進行,先了解當區特色,並以「地方營造」概念活化社區,讓地區元素和歷史建築,得以保育和傳承。.
市建局總監區俊豪(左二)說,市區更新工作以「先規劃、後項目」的模式來進行,先了解當區特色,並以「地方營造」概念活化社區,讓地區元素和歷史建築,得以保育和傳承。
不少市民在H6 CONET內閒坐休息、看電視、享用免費無線上網服務等。.
不少市民在H6 CONET內閒坐休息、看電視、享用免費無線上網服務等。
H6 CONET內有多幅巨型壁畫,呈現多條街道的特色和歷史,如機利文街原有的大排檔、永安街的花布檔等。.
H6 CONET內有多幅巨型壁畫,呈現多條街道的特色和歷史,如機利文街原有的大排檔、永安街的花布檔等。
嘉咸街上的百年露天小販市集是中環重要的地區特色。市建局推行重建時,盡力保留街道氛圍,並提供一個鮮貨零售中心,讓售賣鮮貨及濕貨的商舖繼續經營。.
嘉咸街上的百年露天小販市集是中環重要的地區特色。市建局推行重建時,盡力保留街道氛圍,並提供一個鮮貨零售中心,讓售賣鮮貨及濕貨的商舖繼續經營。.
嘉咸街上的百年露天小販市集是中環重要的地區特色。市建局推行重建時,盡力保留街道氛圍,並提供一個鮮貨零售中心,讓售賣鮮貨的商舖繼續經營。
H6 CONET內外均設有展板,敘述附近街道的歷史。.
H6 CONET內外均設有展板,敘述附近街道的歷史。.
H6 CONET內外均設有展板,敘述附近街道的歷史。
迄今H6 CONET已舉辦超過80項文化藝術展覽、音樂表演、工作坊等,展覽場地平均使用率高達八成以上。.
迄今H6 CONET已舉辦超過80項文化藝術展覽、音樂表演、工作坊等,展覽場地平均使用率高達八成以上。.
迄今H6 CONET已舉辦超過80項文化藝術展覽、音樂表演、工作坊等,展覽場地平均使用率高達八成以上。.
迄今H6 CONET已舉辦超過80項文化藝術展覽、音樂表演、工作坊等,展覽場地平均使用率高達八成以上。

2019年7月28日

返回.