Jump to the beginning of content

Unbeatable Heroine of CEDD

The Dragon Boat Festival has just passed but the drumbeats can still be heard. In recent years, some government departments have formed teams to participate in dragon boat races. Dragon boating not only improves colleagues’ physical fitness, but also fosters team spirit and cooperation among them. This time, I have invited a female player from the Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO) of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) to share her feelings as a member of the department’s dragon boat team, and show us how to apply Artificial Intelligence (AI) techniques to landslide prevention and mitigation.

Dr KONG Wai-wah, Vickie, is a Geotechnical Engineer who joined the Government in 2015. At first, she joined the dragon boat team only for doing some exercise after work, but after a while she wanted to quit because paddling requires a high level of physical fitness. However, she has now successfully gone beyond herself and developed a strong interest in this sport, where she is by no means inferior to her male teammates in performance.

The “left-sided paddler” and drummer of the boat

Vickie is the left-sided paddler of the team who sits on the left side of the dragon boat paddling with her left hand. Sometimes she also serves as a drummer who hits the drum and calls out commands to keep the cadence of the teammates’ stroke rates so that the boat can move forward. Vickie participates in the departmental weekly training from March to October every year. She recalls that when she first received training, the boat did not seem to move ahead at all no matter how hard she paddled. It even caused muscle pain throughout her body, which made her feel like giving up. Subsequently, under the guidance of the coach, she was able to understand the paddling techniques, and along with enhanced physical training, she has managed to carry on with the sport.

Paddling side by side with passion

Dragon boating is a sport that requires strong teamwork. Every team member must paddle in sync with one another and stay focused in order to keep the boat sailing forward. Vickie says that her teammates are holders of different posts and did not know each other before joining the team. However, with mutual encouragement and support, they have been able to persist in training no matter how tired they are after work. During competition, everyone puts in the best efforts side by side in every single stroke to propel to the finish line. It may be this very passion that has enthralled her to team up with her teammates and fight together.

Demonstrating team spirit

At work, Vickie is a geotechnical engineer mainly responsible for research and development of new technologies that can improve the landslide prevention and mitigation work of the GEO to manage landslide risks associated with man-made slopes and natural terrain. Her work includes the application of such technologies as AI, deep learning and machine learning to landslide monitoring and warning systems. For example, through the use of AI, the office is trying to analyse the locations of landslides and surface outcrops of rocks on natural terrain shown in digital aerial photographs in order to assess the possibility of recurrence of landslides for proper risk management.

Vickie draws an analogy between her job and dragon boat racing, saying that both put an emphasis on team spirit because collaboration with different professionals is often required for each research project. However, as long as all parties involved share a common goal and work in concert together, maximum benefits can be achieved.

School Ambassador Programme

Apart from utilising top-notch technologies to improve landslide prevention and mitigation techniques, it is also important to heighten public awareness of disaster preparedness and prevention through public education. The GEO has launched the “School Ambassador Programme” this year and Vickie is one of the school ambassadors. So far, some 40 colleagues have visited more than 60 secondary schools to promote students’ knowledge about slope safety, landslide prevention, geology of Hong Kong, causes of landslides, etc. Overwhelming responses have been received from students. Moreover, the GEO will hold a competition named “AI Data Wizard – How many landslides?” in conjunction with other organisations at the end of this month. The competition will enable secondary school students to learn how to forecast landslide risks with AI in order to enhance their knowledge in this regard, and foster the development of a smart city at the same time.

With the onset of the rainy season in Hong Kong, continuous rainfall may trigger landslides. It is of vital importance to take proactive measures. The GEO has been conducting systematic studies on the landslide risks of natural terrain in Hong Kong. I am impressed that colleagues have channelled their passion and spirit for dragon boat racing into their work, and co-operate fully with people from different professional sectors to strive for landslide prevention and slope safety.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Geotechnical Engineer of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Ms KONG Wai-wah, Vickie, is the “left-sided paddler” of the dragon boat team. She and her colleagues joined the Tsuen Wan Dragon Boat Race held earlier..
The Geotechnical Engineer of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Ms KONG Wai-wah, Vickie, is the “left-sided paddler” of the dragon boat team. She and her colleagues joined the Tsuen Wan Dragon Boat Race held earlier.
Vickie also serves as a drummer who hits the drum and calls out commands to keep the cadence of the teammates’ stroke rates so that the boat can move forward..
Vickie also serves as a drummer who hits the drum and calls out commands to keep the cadence of the teammates’ stroke rates so that the boat can move forward..
Vickie also serves as a drummer who hits the drum and calls out commands to keep the cadence of the teammates’ stroke rates so that the boat can move forward.
The dragon boat team of the CEDD is demonstrating team spirit by striving forward with the same goal..
The dragon boat team of the CEDD is demonstrating team spirit by striving forward with the same goal..
The dragon boat team of the CEDD is demonstrating team spirit by striving forward with the same goal..
The dragon boat team of the CEDD is demonstrating team spirit by striving forward with the same goal.
The Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO) has launched the “School Ambassador Programme” this year to promote students’ knowledge about slope safety, landslide prevention, geology of Hong Kong, causes of landslides, etc. So far, some 40 colleagues have visited more than 60 secondary schools with overwhelming responses from students..
The Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO) has launched the “School Ambassador Programme” this year to promote students’ knowledge about slope safety, landslide prevention, geology of Hong Kong, causes of landslides, etc. So far, some 40 colleagues have visited more than 60 secondary schools with overwhelming responses from students..
The Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO) has launched the “School Ambassador Programme” this year to promote students’ knowledge about slope safety, landslide prevention, geology of Hong Kong, causes of landslides, etc. So far, some 40 colleagues have visited more than 60 secondary schools with overwhelming responses from students.
Vickie is one of the ambassadors of the “School Ambassador Programme”..
Vickie is one of the ambassadors of the “School Ambassador Programme”..
Vickie is one of the ambassadors of the “School Ambassador Programme”.
The GEO will hold a competition named “AI Data Wizard – How many landslides?” in conjunction with other organisations at the end of this month. The competition will enable secondary school students to learn how to forecast landslide risks with AI and enhance their knowledge in this regard..
The GEO will hold a competition named “AI Data Wizard – How many landslides?” in conjunction with other organisations at the end of this month. The competition will enable secondary school students to learn how to forecast landslide risks with AI and enhance their knowledge in this regard.

9 June, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

土拓署逆流英雌

端午剛過,但龍舟的鼓聲響未停。近年政府一些部門都有組隊參加龍舟競賽,同事透過划龍舟提升體能,亦可培養團隊精神,加強彼此默契。今次,我邀請土木工程拓展署轄下土力工程處一名女將,分享她作為部門龍舟隊成員的感受,並介紹她應用人工智能技術進行防治山泥傾瀉的工作。

江慧華博士2015年加入政府,任職土力工程師。當初加入龍舟隊,只是抱着工餘做點運動的心態,其後更因划龍舟對體能要求極高而想過放棄,然而,今天的她成功挑戰自己,對這項運動產生濃厚的興趣,在一眾男隊友中可謂絕不遜色。

龍舟左槳、鼓手

江慧華在隊中擔任「左槳」,即是坐在龍舟的左邊,以左手握槳拉水;有時她也會當鼓手,以鼓聲和口號提示隊員划艇的節奏,令龍舟向前推進。每年3月至10月,江慧華每星期都會參與部門訓練。她想起當初受訓時,無論如何出盡全力去划,龍舟也好像沒有前進,更弄至全身肌肉疼痛,以致曾有放棄的念頭,後來經過教練的指導,令她掌握到划龍舟的竅門,並加強體能訓練,才得以堅持下去。

「齊上齊落」很熱血

划龍舟是一項非常講求團體精神的運動,每位隊員的動作既要一致,也要集中力量,才能令龍舟前進。江慧華分享說,龍舟隊隊員來自不同的工作崗位,之前互不認識,但在大家互勵互勉的情況下,無論工作如何疲累都堅持訓練,而比賽時每位隊員傾盡全力,「齊上齊落」划好每一槳,努力衝過終點,相信就是這份熱血的感覺吸引着她,推動她與隊友並肩作戰。

發揮團隊合作精神

工作上,江慧華是一位土力工程師,主要負責研究和開發新技術,優化土力工程處防治山泥傾瀉工作,減低人造斜坡和天然山坡的山泥傾瀉風險,其中包括把人工智能(AI)、深度學習(deep learning)、機械學習(machine learning)等技術,應用在山泥傾瀉的監測和預警系統上,例如處方正嘗試以人工智能技術,分析數碼航攝照片中天然山坡上山泥傾瀉和岩石露出的位置,以評估再發生山泥傾瀉的可能性,做好風險管理。

江慧華形容,她的工作就像划龍舟一樣,重視團隊精神,因為每項研究計劃,很多時要與不同專業的人士合作,但只要大家目標一致,通力合作,就能發揮最大的效益。

校園大使計劃

除了運用尖端科技優化防治山泥傾瀉技術,通過公眾教育提升市民防災避險的意識也相當重要。土力工程處今年開展了《校園大使計劃》,江慧華亦是其中一位校園大使。計劃迄今已有40位同事走訪超過60間中學,向學生推廣斜坡安全和防治山泥傾瀉的知識,講解香港地質、山泥傾瀉的成因等,學生反應非常踴躍。本月底,該處將聯同其他機構舉辦「AI數據達人挑戰—山泥傾瀉測多少」比賽,讓中學生學習利用人工智能預測山泥傾瀉風險,加深他們對有關方面的認識,同時推動建立智慧城市發展。

香港已踏入雨季,在持續降雨的情況下,有機會觸發山泥傾瀉,防患未然至為重要。土力工程處一直就香港的天然山坡風險進行有系統的研究,我很欣賞同事把划龍舟的拼勁和精神投入在工作上,與不同專業界別的人士全力合作,為防治山泥傾瀉、保障斜坡安全而努力。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
土木工程拓展署土力工程師江慧華在龍舟隊中擔任「左槳」,日前與同事一起參加在荃灣舉行的龍舟競渡。.
土木工程拓展署土力工程師江慧華在龍舟隊中擔任「左槳」,日前與同事一起參加在荃灣舉行的龍舟競渡。
江慧華也會當鼓手,以鼓聲和口號提示隊員划艇的節奏,令龍舟向前推進。.
江慧華也會當鼓手,以鼓聲和口號提示隊員划艇的節奏,令龍舟向前推進。.
江慧華也會當鼓手,以鼓聲和口號提示隊員划艇的節奏,令龍舟向前推進。
土木工程拓展署龍舟隊表現出團隊合作的精神,大家目標一致,奮力向前。.
土木工程拓展署龍舟隊表現出團隊合作的精神,大家目標一致,奮力向前。.
土木工程拓展署龍舟隊表現出團隊合作的精神,大家目標一致,奮力向前。.
土木工程拓展署龍舟隊表現出團隊合作的精神,大家目標一致,奮力向前。
土力工程處今年開展了《校園大使計劃》,向學生推廣斜坡安全和防治山泥傾瀉的知識,講解香港地質、山泥傾瀉的成因等。迄今已有40位同事走訪了超過60間中學,學生反應非常踴躍。.
土力工程處今年開展了《校園大使計劃》,向學生推廣斜坡安全和防治山泥傾瀉的知識,講解香港地質、山泥傾瀉的成因等。迄今已有40位同事走訪了超過60間中學,學生反應非常踴躍。.
土力工程處今年開展了《校園大使計劃》,向學生推廣斜坡安全和防治山泥傾瀉的知識,講解香港地質、山泥傾瀉的成因等。迄今已有40位同事走訪了超過60間中學,學生反應非常踴躍。
江慧華是《校園大使計劃》的其中一位大使。.
江慧華是《校園大使計劃》的其中一位大使。.
江慧華是《校園大使計劃》的其中一位大使。
本月底,土力工程處將聯同其他機構舉辦「AI數據達人挑戰—山泥傾瀉測多少」比賽,讓中學生學習利用人工智能預測山泥傾瀉風險,加深他們對有關方面的認識。.
本月底,土力工程處將聯同其他機構舉辦「AI數據達人挑戰—山泥傾瀉測多少」比賽,讓中學生學習利用人工智能預測山泥傾瀉風險,加深他們對有關方面的認識。

2019年6月9日

返回.