Jump to the beginning of content

Right Tree, Right Place

When you look at the trees in the street, your attention is often only focused on the tree forms, whether they have beautiful flowers or cause any obstruction to the traffic and pedestrian flow, etc. In fact, you may not realise that the selection of tree species for street planting involves a lot of knowledge as every tree species has its unique “character”, and on top of that, they have to grow in the dense and compact city of Hong Kong. Thus, there are a series of considerations behind the decision.

Capability to withstand different roadside conditions

The Government has been striving to create a quality environment for urban planting to enrich vegetation diversity and enhance the outdoor environs, so as to provide outdoor spaces for public enjoyment. In this connection, the Greening, Landscape, and Tree Management Section (GLTMS) of the Development Bureau (DEVB) commissioned a consultancy study to provide a reference for selecting suitable tree species for different types of streets in Hong Kong. The GLTMS has recently completed and issued the Street Tree Selection Guide (the Guide). By reviewing and screening more than 500 tree species with a set of criteria, the consultant team eventually recommended 80 less commonly used tree species, which are however suitable for planting in Hong Kong. Of these, half are native species. Regarding these species, it is important for us to consider their essential of resilience to the street environment, including the tolerance to wind, heat, drought, waterlogging, and pests and diseases. This time, I have invited a landscape architect of the DEVB to introduce the details of the Guide and talk about the considerations in selecting tree species for the streets of Hong Kong.

Recommendation on vegetation diversity in tree planting

Currently, there are only around 20 species of trees planted at roadsides in the urban areas of Hong Kong, which account for about half of our urban trees. However, low diversity in the species planted is making our urban forests more vulnerable to outbreaks of pests and diseases and diminishes soil quality, consequently leading to higher maintenance pressure. The DEVB’s Landscape Architect (Greening and Landscape), Mr CHEUNG Ka-wai, Allen, says that the purpose of the Guide is to explore the possibility of planting a greater diversity of species and encourage the planting of suitable native species to improve the resilience of Hong Kong's urban forests through promotion of vegetation diversity under the "right tree, right place" principle, with a view to improving ecological health and minimising tree risks. Simply put, the width of pedestrian paths, soil volume, distribution of underground utilities and pipes, upper ground space, air flow, sunlight, etc. may affect the planting and growth of trees. Also, different tree characteristics such as buttress roots, forms and sizes may affect the selection of suitable planting locations. Therefore, the Guide provides a reference for government departments and industry stakeholders in selecting street tree species.

To enable the public to have a better understanding of the tree species introduced in the Guide and the importance of selecting trees with essential attributes suitable for street environments, Mr Allen CHEUNG talks to us about some tree species suitable for street planting. One example is Xanthostemon chrysanthus, also known as Golden Penda. When Golden Penda blooms, the stamens will form a ball shape and the flowers are in bright colours. Its nectar provides food for wild animals. Most importantly, it has essential attributes suitable for the street environments in Hong Kong. For example, it can tolerate roadside pollution, less prone to pests and diseases, and is wind and drought tolerance.

Preparing for more frequent extreme weather

To address the more frequent occurrence of extreme weather conditions due to climate change, and to meet the challenges brought by ageing street trees, we need to make our urban forest more resilient and adaptable to enable sustainable development. Super Typhoon Mangkhut has caused extensive damage to our tree stock when it hit Hong Kong in September this year, but it also opens up opportunity for planting at the same time. After clearing the tree debris, various departments will carefully inspect the extent of damage of the planting sites and related areas. Trees will be replanted only if it is feasible and suitable to do so. To provide a better growing environment for the new trees, the number of trees to be replanted will depend on the sites’ condition. For example, trees will not be replanted on steep slopes (35 degrees or steeper) to safeguard public safety. Besides, departments will not indiscriminately pursue quantity or blindly follow the compensatory planting ratio of 1:1. Furthermore, departments will examine the feasibility of expanding the size of existing tree pits and study the potential of linking the soil volume below the pedestrian paths before replanting trees.

Dedicated tree care and maintenance

After selecting suitable tree species, we have to make sure that other aspects of planting are also done properly. For example, tree stock quality, planting standards, and the implementation of associated planting works have to be appropriate. Therefore, we encourage landscape designers and departments to widely apply the Guide when replacing and planting street trees.

As proper selection of tree species is only the first step and the work that comes afterwards is very important, departments will pay great attention to the maintenance of trees. Through routine maintenance and management, including regular yearly tree risk assessment, timely inspections and appropriate pruning, we can minimise the risks posed by trees to the public and their property. Moreover, our urban forest will grow healthily and sustainably.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Landscape Architect (Greening and Landscape) of the Development Bureau (DEVB), Mr CHEUNG Ka-wai, Allen, says that currently, there are mainly around 20 species of trees planted at roadsides in the urban areas of Hong Kong.  The Street Tree Selection Guide (the Guide) recommends 80 less commonly used tree species, which are however suitable for planting in Hong Kong, to promote vegetation diversity in tree planting..
The Landscape Architect (Greening and Landscape) of the Development Bureau (DEVB), Mr CHEUNG Ka-wai, Allen, says that currently, there are mainly around 20 species of trees planted at roadsides in the urban areas of Hong Kong. The Street Tree Selection Guide (the Guide) recommends 80 less commonly used tree species, which are however suitable for planting in Hong Kong, to promote vegetation diversity in tree planting.
Next to Mr Allen CHEUNG is Xanthostemon chrysanthus, also known as Golden Penda, one of the species introduced in the Guide.  When Golden Penda blooms, the stamens will form a ball shape and the flowers are in bright colours.  Its nectar provides food for wild animals..
Next to Mr Allen CHEUNG is Xanthostemon chrysanthus, also known as Golden Penda, one of the species introduced in the Guide.  When Golden Penda blooms, the stamens will form a ball shape and the flowers are in bright colours.  Its nectar provides food for wild animals..
Next to Mr Allen CHEUNG is Xanthostemon chrysanthus, also known as Golden Penda, one of the species introduced in the Guide. When Golden Penda blooms, the stamens will form a ball shape and the flowers are in bright colours. Its nectar provides food for wild animals.
Golden Penda has essential attributes suitable for the street environments in Hong Kong.  For example, it can tolerate roadside pollution, less prone to pests and diseases, and is wind and drought tolerance..
Golden Penda has essential attributes suitable for the street environments in Hong Kong. For example, it can tolerate roadside pollution, less prone to pests and diseases, and is wind and drought tolerance.
Half of the 80 tree species introducted in the Guide are native species, such as (from top to bottom) Gordonia axillaris, Liquidambar formosana and Cleistocalyx operculatus shown in the picture..
Half of the 80 tree species introducted in the Guide are native species, such as (from top to bottom) Gordonia axillaris, Liquidambar formosana and Cleistocalyx operculatus shown in the picture..
Half of the 80 tree species introducted in the Guide are native species, such as (from top to bottom) Gordonia axillaris, Liquidambar formosana and Cleistocalyx operculatus shown in the picture..
Half of the 80 tree species introducted in the Guide are native species, such as (from top to bottom) Gordonia axillaris, Liquidambar formosana and Cleistocalyx operculatus shown in the picture.
Departments will inspect the feasibility of expanding the of existing tree pits and the potential of linking the soil volume below the pedestrian paths before replanting trees, with a view to providing a better growing environment for the new trees..
Departments will inspect the feasibility of expanding the of existing tree pits and the potential of linking the soil volume below the pedestrian paths before replanting trees, with a view to providing a better growing environment for the new trees.
The Greening, Landscape and Tree Management Section of the DEVB has recently issued the Guide, which recommends 80 tree species suitable for street planting in Hong Kong, to provide a reference for government departments and industry stakeholders in selecting street tree species..
The Greening, Landscape and Tree Management Section of the DEVB has recently issued the Guide, which recommends 80 tree species suitable for street planting in Hong Kong, to provide a reference for government departments and industry stakeholders in selecting street tree species.
The Guide comprises a set of user-friendly and graphically presented datasheets setting out the basic information for each tree species, including resilience to different types of urban planting environment, distinctive character, species features and colourful photographs..
The Guide comprises a set of user-friendly and graphically presented datasheets setting out the basic information for each tree species, including resilience to different types of urban planting environment, distinctive character, species features and colourful photographs.

23 December, 2018

Back.

跳至內容

植樹有方•因地制宜

市民觀看街道的樹木時,通常只會留意樹木的形態、有沒有漂亮的花朵、有否阻礙交通和行人路等,但不說不知,其實在街道上選擇種植哪些樹木牽涉很多學問。因為每一種樹木都有獨特的「個性」,加上它們要在香港這個擁擠的城市生長,背後要有一系列的考慮因素。

須抵受道路不同環境

政府一直致力營造良好的都市種植環境,務求豐富植物多樣性和提升戶外空間質素,以營造市民喜愛的戶外空間,因此發展局轄下的綠化、園境及樹木管理組(管理組)委託顧問進行研究,為香港各類街道挑選合適的樹種提供參考。近日,管理組完成及推出《街道選樹指南》(《指南》),顧問團隊檢視超過500個樹種,以一套準則從中篩選,最終建議80種過往較少採用但適合在香港種植的樹木品種,其中一半是原生品種,而它們對適應街道環境的基本屬性是必要的考慮因素,包括耐風、耐熱、耐旱、耐澇,以及能抵抗病蟲害能力等特性。今次,我邀請了發展局園境師簡介《指南》的內容,並講解在香港街道上選擇種植樹種的考慮。

建議種植多元化樹種

現時,香港市區路旁栽種的樹木只有20多個品種,佔市區樹木約一半,但種植品種較單一,令本港的市區林木更易受病蟲害影響,亦會令泥土質素下降,因而增加護養壓力。發展局園境師張家維表示,《指南》的目的是根據「植樹有方•因地制宜」的原則,硏究種植多元化的樹種和鼓勵種植合適的本地品種,藉着植物多樣性以改善城市林木的適應力,從而促進生態健康,減低樹木風險。簡單而言,行人路的闊度、泥土容量、地下設施管道的分佈、地面空間、空氣流量、日照等,都會影響樹木種植和生長。而各種樹木的特性,例如板根、形態大小等,則會影響適合栽種的位置,因此《指南》為政府部門和業界在選擇街道樹種時提供參考。

為了讓大家更易明白《指南》所介紹的樹種,以及樹木對適應街道環境的基本屬性是如何重要,張家維介紹了一些適合在街道種植的樹木,例如金蒲桃,開花時候雄蕊成花球狀,顏色鮮艷,花蜜也是野生動物的食糧,最重要的是其基本屬性適合香港街道的環境,例如能抵受路邊污染、較少蟲害疾病、耐風、耐旱等。

應對更頻繁惡劣天氣

另外,為應對氣候變化導致更頻繁的惡劣天氣,以及街道樹木老化的挑戰,市區林木須具更佳的抗禦力和適應力,以期持續發展。今年9月,超強颱風「山竹」吹襲本港後,導致大量樹木倒塌,但同時提供了一個種植的新契機。部門在清理倒塌的樹木後,會詳細檢查種植地點及相關範圍的破壞程度,在可行和適合的情況下才重新種植樹木。為使新樹木能有更佳的生長環境,重新種植的樹木數量會視乎環境而決定,例如在較斜(35度或以上)的斜坡不會補種樹木,以保障市民安全;不會盲目追求數量或一換一的補種比例,以及部門在植樹前會檢視擴大現有樹槽的可行性,並研究連接行人路下面的土壤空間。

致力悉心護養樹木

在選擇合適的樹種後,還要確保各方面妥善配合,例如苗木質量、種植規範、妥善執行施工栽種,因此我們鼓勵園境設計師及部門在進行街道樹木更替和種植時,積極參考《指南》。

選擇合適樹種只是第一步工作,後續工作相當重要,因此部門會致力悉心護養樹木,透過日常護養及管理,包括每年定期進行樹木風險評估,加上適時巡查及視乎需要作適當修剪,不但減低樹木對公眾及財物構成的風險,更讓城市林木健康生長,可持續發展。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
發展局園境師張家維表示,香港現時市區路旁栽種的樹木主要有20多個品種,《街道選樹指南》(《指南》)建議80種過往較少採用但適合在香港種植的樹木品種,鼓勵種植多元化的樹種。.
發展局園境師張家維表示,香港現時市區路旁栽種的樹木主要有20多個品種,《街道選樹指南》(《指南》)建議80種過往較少採用但適合在香港種植的樹木品種,鼓勵種植多元化的樹種。
張家維身旁的金蒲桃是《指南》建議種植的樹種之一,開花時候雄蕊成花球狀,顏色鮮艷,花蜜也是野生動物的食糧。.
張家維身旁的金蒲桃是《指南》建議種植的樹種之一,開花時候雄蕊成花球狀,顏色鮮艷,花蜜也是野生動物的食糧。.
張家維身旁的金蒲桃是《指南》建議種植的樹種之一,開花時候雄蕊成花球狀,顏色鮮艷,花蜜也是野生動物的食糧。
金蒲桃的基本屬性適合香港街道的環境,包括能抵受路邊污染、較少蟲害疾病、耐風、耐旱等。.
金蒲桃的基本屬性適合香港街道的環境,包括能抵受路邊污染、較少蟲害疾病、耐風、耐旱等。
《指南》建議種植的80種樹種,其中一半是原生品種,如圖中(從上至下)的大頭茶、楓香和水翁。.
《指南》建議種植的80種樹種,其中一半是原生品種,如圖中(從上至下)的大頭茶、楓香和水翁。.
《指南》建議種植的80種樹種,其中一半是原生品種,如圖中(從上至下)的大頭茶、楓香和水翁。.
《指南》建議種植的80種樹種,其中一半是原生品種,如圖中(從上至下)的大頭茶、楓香和水翁。
重新植樹前,部門會檢視擴大現有樹槽的可行性,並研究連接行人路下面的土壤空間,務求為新植樹木提供更佳的生長環境。.
重新植樹前,部門會檢視擴大現有樹槽的可行性,並研究連接行人路下面的土壤空間,務求為新植樹木提供更佳的生長環境。
發展局轄下的綠化、園境及樹木管理組近日推出《指南》,建議80種適合在香港街道種植的樹木品種,為政府部門和有興趣人士在選擇街道樹種時提供參考。.
發展局轄下的綠化、園境及樹木管理組近日推出《指南》,建議80種適合在香港街道種植的樹木品種,為政府部門和有興趣人士在選擇街道樹種時提供參考。
《指南》涵蓋一套簡單易明、以圖像呈現的「樹木資料冊」,列出每種樹種的基本資料,包括應對不同市區栽種環境的抗禦力、特性、樹種特質和彩色照片等。.
《指南》涵蓋一套簡單易明、以圖像呈現的「樹木資料冊」,列出每種樹種的基本資料,包括應對不同市區栽種環境的抗禦力、特性、樹種特質和彩色照片等。

2018年12月23日

返回.