Jump to the beginning of content

Exploring special features about manhole covers

While walking along the main streets and alleys, you may not notice the manhole covers that are lest remarkable under your feet. The fact is every manhole cover bears a different pattern and code. Manhole covers are an indispensable part of a city’s public facilities, serving as doors for drainage workers to open for inspection and clearance of manholes and drains when necessary. In celebration of the 30th anniversary of its establishment next year, the Drainage Services Department (DSD) earlier held a first ever Manhole Cover Design Competition. This time, I have invited “a manhole cover expert” to talk about the types and design features of manhole covers, and explore with you the meanings behind these codes on them.

The birth of manhole covers

The first manhole cover had close linkage with the historical development of Hong Kong. In the early days since the founding of the city, a combined drainage and sewerage system was adopted in the City of Victoria (nowadays the Western, Central & Sheung Wan, Admiralty, Wan Chai, Causeway Bay, etc.) to allow the rainwater flushing away the sewage. Furthermore, channels and gullies were not covered, which could easily lead to the breeding and spread of bacteria. In 1894, the outbreak of plague in Hong Kong prompted the Government to speed up the reform of the sewerage system, including the separating of the original combined sewer system into two independent ones and installation of manhole covers. From then on, sewers have been turned to underground. Subsequently, cast iron, as a stronger material, replaced stone and clayware for constructing more durable pipes and manhole covers.

How to identify different manhole covers?

Currently, there are about 160 000 manhole covers in Hong Kong. The former Chief Technical Officer (now the DSD’s Hotline Superintendent), Mr LAI Chiu-leung, Sammy, who has been working in the DSD for more than 20 years, says that notwithstanding the non-eye catching look of the manhole covers, the thoughtfulness put into the casting process is worth our time to ponder and appreciate.

He says that most of the manhole covers were round in the early days, and they were later redesigned into square shape, being formed by two triangles putting together. With this design, it is easier for drainage workers to use a crowbar to open the manhole cover, and the combination of two triangular pieces can also facilitate operation. Regarding the grid patterns, or raised studs, on manhole covers, they not only enhance skid resistance, but also serve the primary purpose of allowing drainage workers to identify the two kinds of pipes underneath – sewers and drains – sewers for sewage and drains for stormwater. The round and radical pattern indicates a manhole cover for stormwater drains while the small squares pattern indicates a manhole cover for sewers, so-called ‘round for stormwater, square for sewer’ (see the picture).

Have you noticed two small sealing plugs on some manhole covers? As it turns out, a manhole cover generally has two keyholes, which are shaped like eyes (see the picture), allowing workers to pull up the cover with special tools. The sealing plugs help prevent a lady’s high-heel shoes from getting stuck in the keyholes or the breeding of mosquitoes arising from accumulation of water.

Hidden codes on manhole covers?

Besides different patterns, codes made up of letters and numerals are often seen on manhole covers. What do these codes represent? According to Mr Sammy LAI, “HK” is a short form of Hong Kong, representing government property. “DC” refers to “Drainage Contract”. In addition, a manhole cover is normally cast with its manufacturing year and a contract number. For instance, “DC/97/05” refers to contract no. 5 of the DSD in 1997. The manhole cover also bears the English name of the manufacturer.

Moreover, manhole covers would use different English alphabets to illustrate their designed loading capacities, total three levels. The most common one is “H”, referring to “heavy duty”, which means the cover can bear heavy vehicles driving on it; “M” refers to “medium duty”, usually found on pavements; while “L” represents “light duty”, usually found in a planter.

Manhole cover design competition

Year 2019 is the 30th anniversary of the establishment of the DSD. A number of activities will be organised for the public to know more about the department’s work and its achievements over the years. Among others, the first manhole cover design competition in Hong Kong closed for entries just yesterday. More than 1 400 design submissions have been received. The results of the competition will be announced on 14 January 2019. Members of the public are welcome to cast their votes online for the most popular design. The winning design may be adopted for use as manhole covers in Hong Kong.

I believe that you now have a basic understanding of the manhole covers in Hong Kong. Though small in size, a manhole cover requires a lot of attention for its manufacture and design. Next time, when you walk on the streets, amidst surfing your phone with a bowed head, you may stop to take a good look at the manhole covers on the ground. By doing so, you will probably discover more interesting things in the city.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The “manhole cover expert” of the Drainage Services Department (DSD), Mr LAI Chiu-leung, Sammy, talks about the features and functions of manhole covers..
The “manhole cover expert” of the Drainage Services Department (DSD), Mr LAI Chiu-leung, Sammy, talks about the features and functions of manhole covers.
Mr Sammy LAI says that the manhole covers were round in the early days, and they were later turned into square shape to facilitate drainage workers to open for inspection and clearance of manholes and drains..
Mr Sammy LAI says that the manhole covers were round in the early days, and they were later turned into square shape to facilitate drainage workers to open for inspection and clearance of manholes and drains.
The grid patterns, or raised studs, on the manhole covers not only enhance skid resistance, but also allow drainage workers to identify two kinds of manhole covers..
The grid patterns, or raised studs, on the manhole covers not only enhance skid resistance, but also allow drainage workers to identify two kinds of manhole covers.
The small squares on the surface indicate a sewage manhole cover..
The small squares on the surface indicate a sewage manhole cover.
The round and radical pattern indicates a drainage manhole cover..
The round and radical pattern indicates a drainage manhole cover.
The two round keyholes, shaped like eyes, allow workers to pull up the cover with special tools..
The two round keyholes, shaped like eyes, allow workers to pull up the cover with special tools.
The two small sealing plugs on the manhole cover help prevent a lady’s high-heel shoes from getting stuck in the keyholes or the breeding of mosquitoes arising from accumulation of water..
The two small sealing plugs on the manhole cover help prevent a lady’s high-heel shoes from getting stuck in the keyholes or the breeding of mosquitoes arising from accumulation of water.
With the explanation of the “manhole cover expert”, could you interpret the codes on the manhole covers?.
With the explanation of the “manhole cover expert”, could you interpret the codes on the manhole covers?
To mark the 30th anniversary of its establishment, the DSD will be organising a number of activities, including the first manhole cover design competition in Hong Kong, which closed for submission just yesterday.  More than 1 400 design submissions have been received so far..
To mark the 30th anniversary of its establishment, the DSD will be organising a number of activities, including the first manhole cover design competition in Hong Kong, which closed for submission just yesterday. More than 1 400 design submissions have been received so far.

16 December, 2018

Back.

跳至內容

探索渠蓋特色

走過大街小巷,大家未必會留意腳下不甚起眼的渠蓋,原來蓋面上不同的圖案和密碼,背後都有不同的意思。渠蓋是城市不可或缺的公共設施,它就像一道門,讓渠務人員在有需要時打開,檢查及清理沙井和渠道內的阻塞物。適逢渠務署明年成立30周年,早前舉辦了一個別開生面的渠蓋設計比賽。今次我邀請了渠務署一位「渠蓋專家」,介紹渠蓋的種類和設計特色,與大家探索蓋面上的符號,究竟代表甚麼。

渠蓋的誕生

渠蓋的誕生與香港的發展歷史緊密相連。在開埠初期,維多利亞城(即今日西環、中上環、金鐘、灣仔及銅鑼灣等)內的渠道單一,只依靠雨水沖走污物,而溝渠亦沒有被覆蓋,容易滋生及散播細菌。1894年,香港發生鼠疫,促使政府加速實施排污的改革,包括將雨水和污水分流,並覆蓋溝渠,從此排污管道就轉到地下。及後更以堅固的生鐵取代石和粗陶,建造更耐用的管道和井蓋。

如何識別渠蓋?

現時全港約有16萬個渠蓋,在渠務署工作超過20年的前總工程監督(現職渠務署熱線總監)黎超良介紹說,雖然渠蓋並不起眼,但鑄造心思值得大家了解一下。

他說,早期鑄造的渠蓋大部分是圓形的,其後改為由兩個三角形拼合而成的方形設計,渠務人員可較易用鐵撬打開渠蓋,而拼合式設計亦較易於操作。至於渠蓋上的凹凸花紋,除了增加防滑度,主要是給渠務人員識別兩種不同的渠道─污水和清水(雨水)。圓圈、放射式花紋是清水渠蓋,小正方形格子則為污水渠蓋,故坊間簡稱「圓清方濁」(見圖)。

大家有否留意到部分渠蓋上會有兩個小型的蓋掩?原來一般渠蓋有兩個像眼睛的夾縫(見圖),是方便渠務人員以特別的工具拉起渠蓋,而蓋掩的作用是避免女士的高跟鞋卡於夾縫內,或因積水而引致蚊患。

渠蓋暗藏密碼?

除了花紋圖案外,渠蓋面上常見一組組英文字母及數字,這些密碼背後有甚麼意思?黎超良說,「HK」是香港(Hong Kong)的簡稱,代表是政府財物;「DC」則是指渠務署合約(Drainage Contract),而一般渠蓋上亦鑄有製造年份及合約編號,如「DC/97/05」即指渠務署1997年05號合約,並會鑄有製造商的英文名稱。

另外,渠蓋會以英文字母標示其承受重量的級別,共有3級。較常見的為「H」,即重級(Heavy duty),可以承受重型車輛在上面行駛;「M」即中級(Medium duty),一般見於行人路;而「L」即輕型(Light duty),則多出現於花槽。

渠蓋設計比賽

明年是渠務署成立30周年,署方會舉辦多項活動,讓市民了解渠務署的工作及多年來的工作成果,其中全港首個渠蓋設計比賽剛於昨日截止報名,共收到超過1 400份設計作品。比賽結果將於2019年1月14日公布,市民可於網上投選其中一項最具人氣獎。得獎作品將有機會被採用製成實物,於本港範圍使用。

相信大家對香港的渠蓋已有基本的認識,渠蓋面積小小,但鑄造及設計背後所花的心思不少。下次市民行走街道時,除了低頭看電話,不妨駐足研究一下地上的渠蓋,或者會發掘到更多城市裡的有趣事物。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
渠務署「渠蓋專家」黎超良講解渠蓋的特色和作用。.
渠務署「渠蓋專家」黎超良講解渠蓋的特色和作用。
黎超良表示,早期鑄造的渠蓋是圓形的,其後改為方形,方便渠務人員打開檢查及清理沙井和渠道內的阻塞物。.
黎超良表示,早期鑄造的渠蓋是圓形的,其後改為方形,方便渠務人員打開檢查及清理沙井和渠道內的阻塞物。
渠蓋上的凹凸花紋,除了增加防滑度,主要是讓渠務人員識別兩種不同的渠蓋。.
渠蓋上的凹凸花紋,除了增加防滑度,主要是讓渠務人員識別兩種不同的渠蓋。
蓋面上有小正方形格子的為污水渠蓋。.
蓋面上有小正方形格子的為污水渠蓋。
圓圈放射式花紋是清水渠蓋。.
圓圈放射式花紋是清水渠蓋。
渠蓋上兩個像眼睛的圓形夾縫,是方便工人以特別工具拉起渠蓋。.
渠蓋上兩個像眼睛的圓形夾縫,是方便工人以特別工具拉起渠蓋。
渠蓋上有兩個小型的蓋掩,是用作避免女士的高跟鞋卡於夾縫內,或因積水而引致蚊患。.
渠蓋上有兩個小型的蓋掩,是用作避免女士的高跟鞋卡於夾縫內,或因積水而引致蚊患。
聴過「渠蓋專家」黎超良的講解後,大家能夠解讀蓋上的密碼嗎?.
聴過「渠蓋專家」黎超良的講解後,大家能夠解讀蓋上的密碼嗎?
渠務署為慶祝成立30周年,會舉辦多項活動,包括全港首個渠蓋設計比賽,提交參賽作品的限期剛於昨日結束,至今收到超過1 400份設計。.
渠務署為慶祝成立30周年,會舉辦多項活動,包括全港首個渠蓋設計比賽,提交參賽作品的限期剛於昨日結束,至今收到超過1 400份設計。

2018年12月16日

返回.