Jump to the beginning of content

Inclusive Playground in Tuen Mun Park to open soon

Hong Kong’s first inclusive playground (IP) in Tuen Mun Park themed on “water” and “sand” will open soon, which provides yet another great place for our children to burn their energy! Unlike the traditional playgrounds, the IP created by the design team will provide a quality barrier-free recreational area for children of different ages and abilities to play together, experience all sorts of fun and learn different skills. Recently, accompanied by colleagues of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), I have paid a visit to the IP, the first of its kind in Hong Kong, to learn more about its design concepts, special features and, in particular, the efforts made by the design team and the relevant stakeholders behind the scenes.

Adopting winning design concepts to promote inclusive play experience

The design concepts of the IP in Tuen Mun Park come from the winning entries of the Inclusive Play Space Design Ideas Competition, jointly organised in 2015 by the Playright Children’s Play Association (PCPA), the Hong Kong Committee for the United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF) and the Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects, with the support of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD), the ArchSD and the Tuen Mun District Council (TMDC). Colleagues of the ArchSD have adopted the winning concepts and further enhanced the design.

The IP is divided into the northern and southern sections with a total of seven themed play zones. Built on the design theme of “Water-lily Park”, the northern playground uses water lilies to convey the message of equality. The three themed zones in the northern playground are Flower Dew Plaza, Contour Play Zone and Musical Zone. A vast array of recreational facilities are provided there for children with or without disabilities, including a water play zone, an undulating area, trampolines and musical playthings such as percussion instruments and drums.

The design theme for the southern playground is “Reptile Fun”, which was inspired by the Reptile House of Tuen Mun Park. Through the reptile theme, children are encouraged to interact with nature. This southern section comprises four themed zones: Reptile Paradise, Egg Hunter, Spinning Zone and Sensory Zone. Children with or without disabilities can climb over climbing frames of different heights and play on all kinds of slides according to their own abilities, dig eggs from the sand pit, and play with various swinging and spinning equipment as well as sensory movable parts.

Enhancing design Continuing community participation

What does a playground look like in children’s mind? In the design process, the ArchSD team engaged the community by inviting 30 stakeholders from different sectors, including voluntary and charitable agencies from the social welfare sector, professional bodies, tertiary institutions, the LCSD and competition winners to attend two workshops to enhance the design and further improve the layout of the playground and the design of the play components, so as to cater for the needs of children.

As part of community participation, the design team visited the Yan Oi Tong Tin Ka Ping Secondary School and Hong Chi Morninghope School in Tuen Mun to meet with over 20 Junior Commissioners who have participated in the Junior Playground Commissioner Incubation Programme organised by the PCPA and listen to children’s views. This approach to engaging the community in the design of projects will definitely serve as a reference for future playground projects.

Tailor-made play equipment

On the day of our visit, the Landscape Architects of the ArchSD introduced that unlike the playgrounds in the past routinely adopting a canned design in all their play equipment, the leisure facilities of the IP in Tuen Mun Park are tailored to suit the specific site environment. They have also put a lot of effort into the selection of plants for the playground, for example, the aromatic Banana Shrub, the leaf-shedding Sweet Gum and the moving Sensitive Plant, all of which can enrich sensory experience and bring children and nature closer together.

Colleagues also briefed me on the play equipment for people with disabilities and the thoughtful approach to the design. For instance, in light of parents’ concerns that kids wearing cochlear implants will feel unease when sliding down a plastic slide, the design team selected a set of stainless steel slides for hearing impaired children. The lower roller embankment slide enables children with impaired mobility to enjoy the experience of sliding. In addition, the playground also features a small tunnel, low walls and barriers, which can help autistic children stay away from external stimuli and ease their sense of anxiety before they gradually get familiar with the environment.

Incorporating special swings

Furthermore, the ArchSD colleagues have incorporated comments from the District Facilities Management Committee of the TMDC and introduced an additional swing section featuring three kinds of special swings, namely cradle swings, parent-child swings and seat swings. Unlike the traditional swings, the cradle swings encourage children to play on the swings together with their parents or friends to boost exchange and communication with one another, while the seat swings come with seat belts to cater for children with impaired mobility.

The Government attaches great importance to children’s rights and recognises that play is essential to the healthy development of children. I hope that more inclusive play elements will be injected into our future playgrounds to add more fun, creativity and excitement to park facilities and create play spaces adored by children.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (right), accompanied by the Assistant Director (Architectural) of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), Ms YEUNG Lai-fong, Alice (centre), and the Executive Director of Playright Children’s Play Association (PCPA), Ms WONG Kin-ho, Kathy (left), visits the soon-to-open inclusive playground (IP) in Tuen Mun..
The Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (right), accompanied by the Assistant Director (Architectural) of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), Ms YEUNG Lai-fong, Alice (centre), and the Executive Director of Playright Children’s Play Association (PCPA), Ms WONG Kin-ho, Kathy (left), visits the soon-to-open inclusive playground (IP) in Tuen Mun.
The playground is divided into the northern and southern sections.  The design theme for the southern section is “Reptile Fun”, with facilities such as climbing tower, slides, ramps and sensory walls.  Wheelchair-bound children can play on a roller embankment slide, while stainless steel slides are suitable for hearing impaired children..
The playground is divided into the northern and southern sections.  The design theme for the southern section is “Reptile Fun”, with facilities such as climbing tower, slides, ramps and sensory walls.  Wheelchair-bound children can play on a roller embankment slide, while stainless steel slides are suitable for hearing impaired children..
The playground is divided into the northern and southern sections. The design theme for the southern section is “Reptile Fun”, with facilities such as climbing tower, slides, ramps and sensory walls. Wheelchair-bound children can play on a roller embankment slide, while stainless steel slides are suitable for hearing impaired children.
According to Landscape Architect of the ArchSD, Mr CHAN Chun-ho (centre), and PCPA Play Environment Development Officer, Ms Florence CHIU (right), children including those from special schools have been invited to participate in the design of some of the play equipment, such as the sensory walls, so that they can meet the needs of real users..
According to Landscape Architect of the ArchSD, Mr CHAN Chun-ho (centre), and PCPA Play Environment Development Officer, Ms Florence CHIU (right), children including those from special schools have been invited to participate in the design of some of the play equipment, such as the sensory walls, so that they can meet the needs of real users..
According to Landscape Architect of the ArchSD, Mr CHAN Chun-ho (centre), and PCPA Play Environment Development Officer, Ms Florence CHIU (right), children including those from special schools have been invited to participate in the design of some of the play equipment, such as the sensory walls, so that they can meet the needs of real users.
Landscape Architect of the ArchSD, Mr CHUNG Pui-shun (right), briefs the SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, on the design concepts of the IP in Tuen Mun Park..
Landscape Architect of the ArchSD, Mr CHUNG Pui-shun (right), briefs the SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, on the design concepts of the IP in Tuen Mun Park.
Built on the design theme of “water-lily park”, the northern playground uses water lilies to convey the message of equality..
Built on the design theme of “water-lily park”, the northern playground uses water lilies to convey the message of equality..
Built on the design theme of “water-lily park”, the northern playground uses water lilies to convey the message of equality.
Trampolines are provided in the northern playground for the enjoyment of people with or without disabilities..
Trampolines are provided in the northern playground for the enjoyment of people with or without disabilities..
Trampolines are provided in the northern playground for the enjoyment of people with or without disabilities.
The themed Musical Zone in the playground provides various musical playthings such as percussion instruments and drums..
The themed Musical Zone in the playground provides various musical playthings such as percussion instruments and drums..
The themed Musical Zone in the playground provides various musical playthings such as percussion instruments and drums.
The playground sets up an additional swing section, which serves to encourage children to play on the swings together with their parents or friends..
The playground sets up an additional swing section, which serves to encourage children to play on the swings together with their parents or friends..
The playground sets up an additional swing section, which serves to encourage children to play on the swings together with their parents or friends.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, poses for a group photo with the ArchSD colleagues and members of the PCPA in the IP in Tuen Mun Park..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, poses for a group photo with the ArchSD colleagues and members of the PCPA in the IP in Tuen Mun Park.

16 September, 2018

Back.

跳至內容

屯門公園共融遊樂場即將啟用

香港首個以「水」和「沙」為設計主題的屯門公園共融遊樂場即將啟用,小朋友又多一個盡情「放電」的好地方!有別於一般傳統遊樂場,設計團隊希望建造一個無障礙、優質的遊樂空間,讓不同年齡和能力的兒童一同玩樂,體驗不同樂趣,學習不同技能。近日,我在建築署同事陪同下前往參觀,了解全港首個共融遊樂場的設計概念和特色,尤其是設計團隊和相關持份者背後所花的心思。

推動共融遊樂 採納得獎設計

屯門公園共融遊樂場的設計概念源自「共融遊樂空間設計概念比賽」的優勝作品。該項比賽是智樂兒童遊樂協會、聯合國兒童基金香港委員會及香港園境師學會,在康樂及文化事務署、建築署和屯門區議會的支持下於2015年舉辦。建築署同事採納了得獎作品的概念,再深化其設計。

整個遊樂場分南北兩部分,共七個遊玩主題區。北面的設計主題為「荷花的寓意」,以水中荷花為創作主題,帶出平等意念。場內三個主題區分別為「光影荷花」、「山丘地帶」和「音樂感官」,為傷健兒童提供不同的康樂設施,包括玩水區、高高低低的小山丘區、彈床、音樂小玩意如敲擊樂器和鼓等。

南面園區的設計主題為「爬上爬樂」,靈感源自屯門公園內的爬蟲館,以爬蟲動物為主題,鼓勵小朋友與大自然互動。此場地設有四個主題區:「爬蟲樂園」、「獵蛋樂園」、「旋轉地帶」和「感官地帶」。傷健兒童可按自己能力,攀越不同高度和類別的攀爬架、瀡滑梯;在沙池「掘蛋」;「玩轉」各類搖擺旋轉設施、觸感活動組件等。

深化設計 延續社區參與

小朋友心目中的遊樂場是甚麼模樣?在設計過程中,建築署團隊加入了社區參與的部分,邀請來自社福界的志願及慈善機構、專業團體、大專學院、康文署、比賽優勝者等30個不同界別的持份者,參與兩次深化設計工作坊,進一步完善遊樂場的布局和遊戲部件的設計,務求更切合小朋友的需要。

其中,設計團隊曾到訪屯門區的仁愛堂田家炳中學和匡智晨輝學校,與20多位參加了智樂兒童遊樂協會「小小遊樂場專員培育計劃」的小專員見面,吸納小朋友的建議。這種社區參與設計的模式,絕對值得日後其他遊樂場項目作參考。

度身­訂做遊樂設施

參觀當日,建築署園境師介紹說,過往遊樂場設計中,一般全使用罐頭式遊樂設施,但屯門公園共融遊樂場的康樂設施,是他們按場地實際環境度身訂做。園境師亦花了許多心思為遊樂場配置特別的植物,例如散發香味的含笑、落葉的楓香、會動的含羞草等,增強感官刺激及拉近小朋友與大自然的距離。

同事還特別向我介紹傷健人士的遊樂設施,原來背後花了不少心思。舉例說,有家長表達佩戴人工耳蝸的聽障兒童,在滑下塑膠滑梯時會感到不適,故設計團隊特別安裝一組不鏽鋼滑梯,以照顧聽障兒童的需要。較低的滾筒式滑梯則讓行動不便的小朋友,也可體驗瀡滑梯的樂趣。另外遊樂場亦具備特別的設計,設置了小隧道、矮牆和屏障,讓自閉症兒童可先遠離外界刺激,緩和不安感,再逐步熟習環境。

引入特色鞦韆

另外,建築署同事採納了屯門區議會地區設施委員會的意見,新增一個鞦韆區。除設置傳統鞦韆,亦引入三款特色鞦韆,包括:搖籃型、親子型及座椅型鞦韆。有別於傳統鞦韆,搖籃式鞦韆鼓勵小朋友跟父母或朋友一同盪鞦韆,促進家長與孩子,或小朋友間的交流。座椅型鞦韆則備有安全帶,適合行動不便的小朋友使用。

政府非常重視兒童權利,認同遊戲是孩子健康成長不可或缺的部分。我期望未來的遊樂場能注入更多共融遊樂的元素,令園內設施變得更好玩、更創新、更刺激,打造小朋友喜愛的遊樂空間。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
黃偉綸局長(右)在建築署助理署長(建築設計)楊麗芳(中)、智樂兒童遊樂協會總幹事王見好(左)等陪同下,到屯門參觀即將啟用的共融遊樂場。.
黃偉綸局長(右)在建築署助理署長(建築設計)楊麗芳(中)、智樂兒童遊樂協會總幹事王見好(左)等陪同下,到屯門參觀即將啟用的共融遊樂場。
遊樂場分南北兩部分,南面的設計主題為「爬上爬樂」,設施包括繩網架、滑梯、坡道、觸感牆等,當中使用輪椅的兒童可登上滾筒式滑梯,不鏽鋼滑梯則適合聽障兒童玩耍。.
遊樂場分南北兩部分,南面的設計主題為「爬上爬樂」,設施包括繩網架、滑梯、坡道、觸感牆等,當中使用輪椅的兒童可登上滾筒式滑梯,不鏽鋼滑梯則適合聽障兒童玩耍。.
遊樂場分南北兩部分,南面的設計主題為「爬上爬樂」,設施包括繩網架、滑梯、坡道、觸感牆等,當中使用輪椅的兒童可登上滾筒式滑梯,不鏽鋼滑梯則適合聽障兒童玩耍。
建築署園境師陳雋浩(中)和智樂兒童遊樂協會遊樂環境主任趙汝薇(右)表示,邀請了小朋友包括特殊學校兒童,參與部分遊樂設施的設計,例如觸感牆,務求令設施更貼合真正用家的需要。.
建築署園境師陳雋浩(中)和智樂兒童遊樂協會遊樂環境主任趙汝薇(右)表示,邀請了小朋友包括特殊學校兒童,參與部分遊樂設施的設計,例如觸感牆,務求令設施更貼合真正用家的需要。.
建築署園境師陳雋浩(中)和智樂兒童遊樂協會遊樂環境主任趙汝薇(右)表示,邀請了小朋友包括特殊學校兒童,參與部分遊樂設施的設計,例如觸感牆,務求令設施更貼合真正用家的需要。
建築署園境師叢培淳(右)向黃偉綸局長(左)講解屯門公園共融遊樂場的場地設計概念。.
建築署園境師叢培淳(右)向黃偉綸局長(左)講解屯門公園共融遊樂場的場地設計概念。
北面兒童遊樂場的設計主題為「荷花的寓意」,以水中荷花為創作主題,帶出平等意念。.
北面兒童遊樂場的設計主題為「荷花的寓意」,以水中荷花為創作主題,帶出平等意念。.
北面兒童遊樂場的設計主題為「荷花的寓意」,以水中荷花為創作主題,帶出平等意念。
北面遊樂場內,設有傷健人士皆可玩樂的彈床設施。.
北面遊樂場內,設有傷健人士皆可玩樂的彈床設施。.
北面遊樂場內,設有傷健人士皆可玩樂的彈床設施。
遊樂場「音樂感官」主題區設有不同的音樂小玩意,如敲擊樂管、鼓等。.
遊樂場「音樂感官」主題區設有不同的音樂小玩意,如敲擊樂管、鼓等。.
遊樂場「音樂感官」主題區設有不同的音樂小玩意,如敲擊樂管、鼓等。
遊樂場新增一個鞦韆區,鞦韆的設計鼓勵小朋友跟父母或朋友一同盪鞦韆。.
遊樂場新增一個鞦韆區,鞦韆的設計鼓勵小朋友跟父母或朋友一同盪鞦韆。.
遊樂場新增一個鞦韆區,鞦韆的設計鼓勵小朋友跟父母或朋友一同盪鞦韆。
黃偉綸局長與一眾建築署同事、智樂兒童遊樂協會成員在屯門公園共融遊樂場拍攝大合照。.
黃偉綸局長與一眾建築署同事、智樂兒童遊樂協會成員在屯門公園共融遊樂場拍攝大合照。

2018年9月16日

返回.