Jump to the beginning of content

The EMSD moves forward with Hong Kong for 70 years

This year marks the 70th anniversary of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD).  Earlier on, accompanied by the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services, Mr SIT Wing-hang, Alfred, and departmental colleagues, I visited the EMSD headquarters building in Kowloon Bay to learn more about its work.  The EMSD is known for its achievements and experience in spurring innovation and technology (I&T) and providing manpower training.  This week, I have invited several EMSD colleagues to talk about how the department applies the research and development (R&D) results in the I&T field to enhance the quality and efficiency of its services while promoting the development of I&T projects of local start-ups and accelerating the commercialisation of R&D results.

Going along with the EMSD for 70 years

Over the past 70 years, the EMSD has been closely linked to the city’s construction and development.  Regarding the development of the EMSD, Mr Alfred SIT said that in 1948, the Electrical, Mechanical, and Transport Offices under the then Public Works Department merged to form the Electrical and Mechanical Office (EMO).  In the early stages of its establishment, the EMO was solely responsible for vehicle management and repair, as well as the electrical and mechanical (E&M) operation and maintenance of government facilities.  As its scope of work expanded with the passage of time, the EMO was officially upgraded in 1982 to become today’s EMSD.  In 1996, the setting up of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Trading Fund was an important milestone for the EMSD, which has since been transformed from a conventional government department to one that operates on a self-financing basis.  Back then, it was the only trading fund department completely overhauled to face market competition squarely.

The EMSD headquarters building houses the EMSD Gallery, which introduces its history and services by way of interactive games.  The gallery also serves as a public education platform for promoting E&M safety and energy efficiency.  It is well received by primary and secondary school students and is expected to attract about   16 000 visitors every year.  The Learning Resources Centre is located on the same floor of the gallery.  On the day of my visit, I was briefed by the EMSD colleagues on their various work in promoting and supporting I&T development.

Application of I&T to daily life

Users of the EMSD’s services are basically government departments.  Electronics Engineering Graduate, Ms CHEUNG Pui-yi, first introduced to us the Remote Monitoring System developed in-house by the EMSD to serve mainly the Transport Department and Highways Department.  For example, as E&M facilities such as traffic lights, pumping and lighting systems for underpasses, lifts and escalators for footbridges are located throughout Hong Kong, it would be time-consuming and inefficient to rely solely on the staff to carry out inspections.  Therefore, the EMSD in 2014 started to develop a suitable remote monitoring system which can instantly alert the relevant staff to faulty facilities, so as to speed up repair arrangements, reduce the down time of facilities and enhance service quality.

In recent years, the application of the Building Information Modelling (BIM) technology has become increasingly popular.  Senior Engineer, Mr CHAN Hor-yin, Steve, briefed us on how the EMSD applies the BIM–Asset Management System to simplify traditional workflow through smart maintenance and repair work, so as to make asset management and incident handling more efficient.  Very often, EMSD personnel have to go to all sorts of places to carry out maintenance and repair work.  Some places, such as locations at heights, confined spaces and hospital operation theatres, may not be readily accessible or approachable at all times.  Using the system, EMSD personnel can remotely learn about the detailed information of the facilities to be repaired.  For example, they can quickly identify the faulty locations, specifications of parts, modes of operation, etc., which significantly reduces the time required for inspection and repair.

I&T collaboration platform “E&M InnoPortal”

The EMSD introduced a plan at the end of last year to turn its headquarters building and related facilities into an I&T testing ground.  Early this year, it established the Innovation Office to co-ordinate I&T related work.  I learned that the EMSD has recently launched a pilot scheme to test an online platform “E&M InnoPortal” for I&T collaboration to further strengthen liaison with the industry.  Senior Engineer, Mr LAM Kam-chun, Tommy, said that the platform maintains a list of the technology development needs of various government departments, public bodies and the E&M industry.  Meanwhile, it invites universities, start-ups, etc. to put the E&M related I&T they provide on the platform for matching.  The department will provide trial venues and conduct testing and verification for trial projects with a view to promoting the R&D and application of I&T.

The platform for collaboration has been well received by universities and start-ups since its trial launch in March, with more than 60 I&T solutions received.  The technologies involved include artificial intelligence and information analysis, energy efficiency and renewable energy, energy storage and transfer, robotic application, etc.  The platform has also received about 60 I&T requests, which can be broadly grouped into “Smart Government”, “Smart Mobility” and “Smart Environment”.  Currently, more than ten successfully matched projects are under trial.  I hope that the industry will continue to participate actively.

The E&M industry touches every aspect of people’s daily lives, from electrical installations, lift safety, repair and maintenance of E&M facilities to the operation of transport services, infrastructure facilities, etc.  This is made possible thanks to a dedicated team of technical experts providing support behind the scenes, and also to proper supervision and regulation in all aspects.  They indeed face huge challenges.  Next week, I will go to the real “classroom” in the EMSD headquarters building to find out how E&M elites in Hong Kong are trained under the Technician Training Scheme (previously known as the Apprentice Training Scheme) run by the EMSD for over 60 years.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
This year marks the 70th anniversary of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD).  Accompanied by the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services, Mr SIT Wing-hang, Alfred (left), and departmental colleagues, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (right), visits the EMSD headquarters building and the gallery inside in Kowloon Bay..
This year marks the 70th anniversary of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD). Accompanied by the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services, Mr SIT Wing-hang, Alfred (left), and departmental colleagues, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (right), visits the EMSD headquarters building and the gallery inside in Kowloon Bay.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (left), views the exhibits in the EMSD Gallery to learn more about the history and services of the EMSD..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (left), views the exhibits in the EMSD Gallery to learn more about the history and services of the EMSD..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (left), views the exhibits in the EMSD Gallery to learn more about the history and services of the EMSD..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (left), views the exhibits in the EMSD Gallery to learn more about the history and services of the EMSD.
Electronics Engineering Graduate of the EMSD, Ms CHEUNG Pui-yi, illustrates the Remote Monitoring System developed in-house by the EMSD.  The system can identify the exact locations of faulty traffic lights in real time, which facilitates prompt repairs and help reduce the down time of traffic lights..
Electronics Engineering Graduate of the EMSD, Ms CHEUNG Pui-yi, illustrates the Remote Monitoring System developed in-house by the EMSD.  The system can identify the exact locations of faulty traffic lights in real time, which facilitates prompt repairs and help reduce the down time of traffic lights..
Electronics Engineering Graduate of the EMSD, Ms CHEUNG Pui-yi, illustrates the Remote Monitoring System developed in-house by the EMSD. The system can identify the exact locations of faulty traffic lights in real time, which facilitates prompt repairs and help reduce the down time of traffic lights.
Senior Engineer of the EMSD, Mr CHAN Hor-yin, Steve (right), illustrates how the EMSD applies the Building Information Modelling–Asset Management System to conduct smart maintenance and repair work..
Senior Engineer of the EMSD, Mr CHAN Hor-yin, Steve (right), illustrates how the EMSD applies the Building Information Modelling–Asset Management System to conduct smart maintenance and repair work..
Senior Engineer of the EMSD, Mr CHAN Hor-yin, Steve (right), illustrates how the EMSD applies the Building Information Modelling–Asset Management System to conduct smart maintenance and repair work.
Senior Engineer of the EMSD, Mr LAM Kam-chun, Tommy (right), says that the EMSD launched an online platform “E&M InnoPortal” for I&T collaboration  last month, so as to facilitate matching among government departments, public bodies, universities and start-ups to promote the application of R&D results..
Senior Engineer of the EMSD, Mr LAM Kam-chun, Tommy (right), says that the EMSD launched an online platform “E&M InnoPortal” for I&T collaboration  last month, so as to facilitate matching among government departments, public bodies, universities and start-ups to promote the application of R&D results..
Senior Engineer of the EMSD, Mr LAM Kam-chun, Tommy (right), says that the EMSD launched an online platform “E&M InnoPortal” for I&T collaboration last month, so as to facilitate matching among government departments, public bodies, universities and start-ups to promote the application of R&D results.
Pictured are the SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (front row, centre), the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services, Mr Alfred SIT (front row, fourth left), and departmental colleagues..
Pictured are the SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (front row, centre), the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services, Mr Alfred SIT (front row, fourth left), and departmental colleagues.
The EMSD headquarters building houses the EMSD Gallery, which introduces its history and services by way of interactive games..
The EMSD headquarters building houses the EMSD Gallery, which introduces its history and services by way of interactive games..
The EMSD headquarters building houses the EMSD Gallery, which introduces its history and services by way of interactive games..
The EMSD headquarters building houses the EMSD Gallery, which introduces its history and services by way of interactive games.

15 July, 2018

Back.

跳至內容

漫步機電70載

今年是機電工程署成立70周年,早前我在署長薛永恒及同事陪同下,參觀了機電署位於九龍灣的總部大樓,了解部門的工作。我知道署方在推動創新科技、培訓人才等方面都有一定的成績和經驗。本星期,我特別邀請幾位機電署同事,講解部門如何將創新科技的研發成果「落地」,既提升服務質素和效率,亦推動本地初創企業創科項目發展,加快科研成果商品化。

機電同行70年

機電署一路走來70年,與城市建設和發展息息相關。薛永恒講述有關機電署的發展歷程,1948年,當時的工務司署把轄下電氣處、機械處和運輸處三個部門合併為「機電工程處」,成立初着期只是負責車輛管理和維修,以及為政府設施提供機電操作和維修服務。隨着部門一路發展,「機電工程處」1982年正式升格,成為今日的機電工程署。及至1996年,機電署成立「機電工程營運基金」,奠下重要里程碑,由過往傳統政府部門,轉變為以自負盈虧的營運模式運作,是當時唯一要全面面對市場競爭、進行全面改革的營運基金部門。

機電署總部大樓設有一個「機電 ‧ 夢飛翔」展覽館,以互動遊戲方式,介紹機電署的歷史和工作,同時亦是一個推廣機電安全和能源效益的公眾教育平台,深受中小學生歡迎,預計每年將有約16 000名參觀者。展覽館同層是學習資源中心,我當日在該處聽取了同事講述部門在推廣及支援創新科技方面的多項工作。

創科融入生活

機電署的服務對象離不開政府部門,見習電子工程師張佩怡首先介紹一套由署方自主研發的「遙距監測系統」,主要為運輸署和路政署提供服務。舉例說,一些交通燈、隧道抽水泵和照明系統、行人天橋升降機及自動梯等機電設備遍布全港,單靠人力巡查費時失事,故機電署2014年起,開始研發合適的遙距監察組件。目標是將設備的故障信息即時通知相關人員,以加快維修安排,縮短故障時間,提升服務質素。

近年「建築信息模擬」(BIM)技術應用愈來愈普遍,高級工程師陳賀賢介紹機電署如何應用「建築信息模擬─資產管理」(BIM-AM)系統,進行智能保養維修工作,來簡化傳統工作流程,提升資產管理及事故處理效率。很多時,機電工程人員需要四出進行保養及維修工作,有些地方如高空位置、密閉空間、醫院手術室等,未必可以經常入內或走近。透過這套系統,可遙距查看所需維修設備的詳細資料,如快速確定故障所在位置、機件構造、運行模式等,省卻不少檢查及維修時間。

創新科技協作平台

機電署去年年底推行計劃,以其總部及相關設施為創新科技的試驗場,今年初更成立創新辦公室,統籌與創科相關的工作。我知道機電署近日正試行一個網上創新科技協作平台(E&M InnoPortal),進一步加強業界聯繫。高級工程師林鑫駿說,這個平台一方面羅列各政府部門、公營機構以及機電業界對科技發展相關的需求;另一方面亦邀請大學及初創企業等,提供與機電有關的創新科技,放上平台以作配對。署方會提供試用場地,並為試驗項目進行測試及驗證,從而推動創新科技的研發和應用。

協作平台自三月試行以來,大學及初創企業的反應甚佳,至今已收集超過60個創新科技解決方案,當中涉及的技術包括:人工智能及資料分析、能源效益及再生能源、能源儲存及傳輸、機械人應用等;另外亦收集了約60個大致可歸納為「智慧政府」、「智慧出行」及「智慧環境」的創新科技需求。現時已有超過10個成功配對的項目正在試驗階段,我期望業界繼續積極參與。

機電業與市民生活環環緊扣,由電力裝置、升降機安全、機電設備維修保養,以至交通運輸服務及基建設施運作等,全賴一群技術專才在背後支援,並全方位做好監督、規管等工作,挑戰可謂不少。下星期,我會深入機電署大樓內的真正「課室」,了解機電署開辦逾60年的「技術員訓練計劃」(前稱「學徒訓練計劃」),如何為香港培訓機電精英。

 

 
請按上圖觀看影片
今年是機電工程署(機電署)成立70周年,黃偉綸局長(右)在機電署署長薛永恒(左)和同事陪同下,參觀了機電署位於九龍灣的總部大樓及大樓內的展覽館。.
今年是機電工程署(機電署)成立70周年,黃偉綸局長(右)在機電署署長薛永恒(左)和同事陪同下,參觀了機電署位於九龍灣的總部大樓及大樓內的展覽館。
黃偉綸局長(左)參觀「機電.夢飛翔」展覽館內的展品,了解機電署的歷史及所提供的服務。.
黃偉綸局長(左)參觀「機電.夢飛翔」展覽館內的展品,了解機電署的歷史及所提供的服務。.
黃偉綸局長(左)參觀「機電.夢飛翔」展覽館內的展品,了解機電署的歷史及所提供的服務。.
黃偉綸局長(左)參觀「機電.夢飛翔」展覽館內的展品,了解機電署的歷史及所提供的服務。
機電署見習電子工程師張佩怡介紹一套由部門自主研發的「遙距監測系統」。如交通燈發生故障,系統能實時找出準確的位置,迅速進行維修,有助減少交通燈故障的時間。.
機電署見習電子工程師張佩怡介紹一套由部門自主研發的「遙距監測系統」。如交通燈發生故障,系統能實時找出準確的位置,迅速進行維修,有助減少交通燈故障的時間。.
機電署見習電子工程師張佩怡介紹一套由部門自主研發的「遙距監測系統」。如交通燈發生故障,系統能實時找出準確的位置,迅速進行維修,有助減少交通燈故障的時間。
機電署高級工程師陳賀賢(右)介紹該署如何應用「建築信息模擬─資產管理」(BIM-AM)系統,進行智能保養維修工作。.
機電署高級工程師陳賀賢(右)介紹該署如何應用「建築信息模擬─資產管理」(BIM-AM)系統,進行智能保養維修工作。.
機電署高級工程師陳賀賢(右)介紹該署如何應用「建築信息模擬─資產管理」(BIM-AM)系統,進行智能保養維修工作。
機電署高級工程師林鑫駿(右)介紹,該署上月啟動網上創新科技協作平台(E&M InnoPortal),促進政府部門、公營機構、大學、初創企業的配對,推動研發成果落地。.
機電署高級工程師林鑫駿(右)介紹,該署上月啟動網上創新科技協作平台(E&M InnoPortal),促進政府部門、公營機構、大學、初創企業的配對,推動研發成果落地。.
機電署高級工程師林鑫駿(右)介紹,該署上月啟動網上創新科技協作平台(E&M InnoPortal),促進政府部門、公營機構、大學、初創企業的配對,推動研發成果「落地」。
黃偉綸局長(前排中)、機電署署長薛永恒(前排左四)及同事。.
黃偉綸局長(前排中)、機電署署長薛永恒(前排左四)及同事。
機電署總部大樓設有「機電 ‧ 夢飛翔」展覽館,以互動遊戲方式,介紹該署的歷史和工作。.
機電署總部大樓設有「機電 ‧ 夢飛翔」展覽館,以互動遊戲方式,介紹該署的歷史和工作。.
機電署總部大樓設有「機電 ‧ 夢飛翔」展覽館,以互動遊戲方式,介紹該署的歷史和工作。.
機電署總部大樓設有「機電 ‧ 夢飛翔」展覽館,以互動遊戲方式,介紹該署的歷史和工作。

2018年7月15日

返回.