Jump to the beginning of content

Trailwalkers, go for it!

Oxfam Trailwalker 2017, the annual charity hiking event, will take place this coming Friday to Sunday. I would like to take this opportunity to cheer the participants on. In the past, I have taken part in the Trailwalker four times and then as a volunteer for many years. The event has given me many fond memories. This year, a total of 5,200 walkers from 1,300 teams will take on the challenge of completing the 100 km MacLehose Trail and other trails within 48 hours. It’s not just a physical challenge, but also a test of willpower and perseverance.

The theme of this year is "We are Trailwalkers". As the Chair of the Oxfam Trailwalker Advisory Committee, Mr Bernard Chan said, it doesn't matter whether you are young or old or people with disabilities, as long as you are persistent and work in partnership with others, you too can be a Trailwalker. When I first joined the event with my teammates all those years ago, it was for fun only. But the experience of that first year prompted me to take part again every year until one of my teammates developed a high blood pressure problem while I suffered from knee ligament injuries. I then turned to volunteering.

I believe each Trailwalker will all have a different experience. For myself, the deepest memory I have was the scene on the first night of the race. Although a crowd of Trailwalkers had been walking all day, the distance between each team had not opened up yet. When night fell, and the torches on the helmets of each person were lit up and flashed about, it looked as if there was a fire dragon criss-crossing back and forth on the pitch dark road. It was a magnificent sight.

No judging of heroes by success or failure

Trailwalker is a race that tests the patience. I believe that the majority of participants would not be too concerned on how well they did in the race rankings. Instead of talking about winning against other people, it would be better to talk about winning against yourself. The special characteristic of a race of patience is challenging yourself and not about judging heroes by their success or failure. Trailwalkers have to run for long periods in the countryside and traverse over 20 peaks including Hong Kong’s highest, Tai Mo Shan. As such, this requires strong physique and sufficient training, as well as unusual perseverance in order to do it. Apart from sufficient prior training and preparation, and bringing along enough provisions, Trailwalkers also have to cope with unexpected changes in the weather. In addition, the coordination of support teams is also very important. Team members have to also maintain good communications with each other, and mutually encourage and look after each other, so as to demonstrate the strongest possible team spirit.

I believe many Trailwalkers have had this similar experience. On reaching the final stage, especially on the section nearest the finish line, you feel as if you’re not reaching the end. But only by gritting your teeth, at the moment when the whole team successfully pushes through the finish line, that look of satisfaction and joy you see is an unforgettable lifetime memory.

Volunteer support, teamwork

As in the past, behind a successfully held event is the support provided by all walks of life. I know that apart from the race participants, this year there are about 3 000 volunteers coming from the Government Disciplined Services and uniformed group, over 40 000 donators, 5 200 support team members, etc. taking part. Each person has an important role and post. In 2000, an unforgettable moment occurred when I was the checkpoint coordinator at Checkpoint 7 (Lead Mine Pass).

On that day, I remember there were wind and sunshine when the race started but the weather suddenly worsened during the day, with strong winds and heavy rain. The temperature plummeted to below 10 degrees. The tracks in the hills turned to mud, making the going difficult. Moreover, many participants had dropped off their kit at the checkpoints beforehand so as to have an easier run. The result was they did not have enough warm clothing for the sudden change in weather. Some of the runners experienced hypothermia, which was extremely worrying. We reported the situation to the organisers. After discussions, the organisers decisively made a difficult call, which was to abort the race.

Now when I remember it, I have another feeling about it. At the time, I was in charge of announcing to the participants who had already reached Checkpoint 7 of the decision of the organisers and explaining the situation. I also had to organise the safe withdrawal of all people. When circumstances can suddenly change for the worse just like the weather, safety is thus the top priority regardless of whether you are organising or taking part in any event to avoid any unpleasant situations. Participants also need to fully assess their own physical condition. Apart from challenging yourself, you also need to safely complete the race. In fact, every time an event is organised, experience is built up, and along with the teamwork of everybody, things can be done better and better.

Persevere to experience, and benefit a great deal

The experience gained from Trailwalker, regardless of whether it was running in the race or providing support behind the scenes, is rich and deep, for example, when difficulties were encountered in the area of team co-operation, how to keep a positive attitude, to calmly handle different problems as well as maintain morale of the team members, etc. The Development Bureau is involved with many departments. Each day it has to deal with many difficult problems and has to frequently sit down and talk with department colleagues, Legislative Council members, District Council members and different stakeholders. During the process, it is unavoidable that each side insists on their positions and reasons. However, I believe that as long as everybody comes together, serious obstacles would able to be overcome. No matter how difficult are the discussions, everybody can invariably make the push together over the line!

 

Please click on the image above to watch the video.
Oxfam Trailwalker 2017, a charity hiking event, will take place between November 17 and 19. At a press conference, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, shares his experience of joining the charity hiking race and voluntary service..
Oxfam Trailwalker 2017, a charity hiking event, will take place between November 17 and 19. At a press conference, the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, shares his experience of joining the charity hiking race and voluntary service.
Participants need to complete the 100 km MacLehose Trail and other trails within 48 hours. It is a test of willpower and perseverance..
Participants need to complete the 100 km MacLehose Trail and other trails within 48 hours. It is a test of willpower and perseverance.
SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (right), Chair of the Oxfam Trailwalker (OTW) Advisory Committee, Mr Bernard CHAN (left), and the owner of a kiosk in Tai Mo Shan, "Sister Lin," pose for a group photo..
SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (right), Chair of the Oxfam Trailwalker (OTW) Advisory Committee, Mr Bernard CHAN (left), and the owner of a kiosk in Tai Mo Shan, "Sister Lin," pose for a group photo.
(From left fifth, back row) Director General of Oxfam Hong Kong (OHK), Trini LEUNG, Chair of OTW Advisory Committee, Bernard CHAN, SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, Chief Executive Officer of AIA Hong Kong & Macau, Mr Peter CREWE, take pictures with other trailwalkers to show their support for the race participants..
(From left fifth, back row) Director General of Oxfam Hong Kong (OHK), Trini LEUNG, Chair of OTW Advisory Committee, Bernard CHAN, SDEV, Mr Michael WONG, Chief Executive Officer of AIA Hong Kong & Macau, Mr Peter CREWE, take pictures with other trailwalkers to show their support for the race participants.
This year, 5 200 walkers take part in the Oxfam Trailwalker. (Photo provided by Oxfam).
This year, 5 200 walkers take part in the Oxfam Trailwalker. (Photo provided by Oxfam)
In a briefing held by Oxfam, a doctor, a physiotherapist and a podiatist offer professional advice to help walkers better understand and cope with the common medical problems they would encounter before and during the event. (Photo provided by Oxfam).
In a briefing held by Oxfam, a doctor, a physiotherapist and a podiatist offer professional advice to help walkers better understand and cope with the common medical problems they would encounter before and during the event. (Photo provided by Oxfam)
Last year, the first team to finish Oxfam Trailwalker used only 11 hours and 1 minute to complete the trail. (Photo provided by Oxfam).
Last year, the first team to finish Oxfam Trailwalker used only 11 hours and 1 minute to complete the trail. (Photo provided by Oxfam)

12 November, 2017

Back.

跳至內容

毅行者 加油!

一年一度的「樂施毅行者2017」遠足籌款活動將於本周五至日舉行,我想藉此為參加者打打氣!其實早年我也曾參加過4次「毅行者」,之後當過多年義工,留下不少難忘回憶。今年將有1300支隊伍、共5200位參加者,挑戰在48小時內走畢100公里的麥理浩徑及其他接續路段,過程不但考驗各人的體能,更是磨練大家的意志和毅力。

今年活動的主題是「我們都是毅行者」,正如樂施毅行者籌委會主席陳智思所指,無論參加者是年輕人、長者或傷健人士,只要秉持堅毅不屈的團隊精神,任何人都可以成為「毅行者」。當年我和幾位隊友原是報名一試「湊熱鬧」,但有了第一年的經驗後便想每年參與。其後其中一位隊友血壓偏高,自己又因運動導致膝蓋韌帶斷裂,於是轉換了角色當義工,繼續參與「毅行者」活動。

我相信每位「毅行者」都會有不同的體驗,對我來說,印象最深的是賽事第一晩入夜後的情景。一眾健兒雖然已跑了一整天,但各隊的距離仍未拉開,入夜後,每人頭上戴着的照明燈,一盞盞閃閃發光,如同一條火龍在漆黑的山路中穿梭躍動,場面十分壯觀。

不以成敗論英雄

「毅行者」是一項考驗耐力的賽事,相信大部分參加者也不會計較名次。與其說要跑贏他人,倒不如說是要跑贏自己,挑戰自我,這就是耐力賽的特色,不以成敗論英雄。毅行健兒需要長時間於郊野步行,翻越20多座高山,包括全港最高的大帽山,故此必須有強健的體魄和足夠的訓練,以及非一般的毅力才能夠應付得到。除了事前做足訓練和準備,當日帶備所需物品外,也要應付隨時變化的天氣。此外,支援隊伍的配合也十分重要。隊員之間亦要保持良好溝通,互相鼓勵和照顧,發揮最強團隊精神。

相信不少毅行者也會有類似經驗,當跑至後段,尤其臨近終點的路線,就好像怎樣走也未到盡頭,但只要咬緊牙關,全隊成功衝過終點的一刻,那份滿足感和喜悅,足以令人畢生難忘。

義工支援 群策群力

一如以往,一項活動順利舉行的背後,需要得到各界支持,我知道除了參賽選手,今年就有3000名來自政府紀律部隊及制服團隊的義工、逾40 000名捐款者、5 200名支援隊員等參與,每一位都有着重要的角色和工作崗位。2000年,我擔任7號檢查站(鉛礦坳)的指揮官時,便發生了一件難忘的事。

記得當日開賽時風和日麗,但中段天氣突然急劇惡化,狂風大雨,氣溫更急降至不足10度,眼見上山的路滿佈泥濘,舉步艱難,而且不少參加者在之前的檢查站已卸下裝備,準備輕裝上路,結果在天氣驟變下不夠保暖衣物,有選手更出現低溫反應,情況令人憂慮。我們向大會報告情況,經商討後大會果斷地作出了艱難的決定,就是宣布腰斬賽事。

現在回想起別有一番感受,我當時負責向已抵達7號檢查站的參加者宣布大會的決定,解釋情況,並要盡量安排各人安全地離開。正所謂「天有不測之風雲」,不論舉辦或參與任何活動都必須將安全放於首位,避免不愉快事件發生;參與者亦要充分評估自己的身體狀況,挑戰自我之餘,安全地完成整項賽事。其實每次舉辦大型活動,均會積累經驗,加上各方群策群力,事情會越辦越好。

毅行體會 獲益良多  

從「毅行者」得到的經驗,不論是前線作賽,還是幕後支援,豐富且深刻,例如在團隊合作方面,當遇到困難時,如何保持良好的心態,冷靜處理不同問題,並維持隊員間的士氣等。發展局涉及多個部門,平日要處理不少複雜的議題,經常與部門同事、立法會議員、區議員、不同持份者「坐低傾」,過程中難免各有堅持,各有道理,但相信只要大家上下一心,必定能跨越重重障礙,無論商討過程有多艱鉅,大家總是可以一齊「衝線」的!

 

請按上圖觀看影片
「樂施毅行者2017」遠足籌款活動將於11月17日至19日舉行,黃偉綸局長出席活動記者會時分享過去參加毅行者遠足和義工的經驗。.
「樂施毅行者2017」遠足籌款活動將於11月17日至19日舉行,黃偉綸局長出席活動記者會時分享過去參加毅行者遠足和義工的經驗。
參加者需要長時間於郊野步行,在48小時內走畢100公里的麥理浩徑及其他接續路段,考驗各人的意志和耐力。.
參加者需要長時間於郊野步行,在48小時內走畢100公里的麥理浩徑及其他接續路段,考驗各人的意志和耐力。
黃偉綸局長(右)、樂施毅行者籌委會主席陳智思(左)與大帽山蓮姐合照。.
黃偉綸局長(右)、樂施毅行者籌委會主席陳智思(左)與大帽山蓮姐合照。
(後排左五起)樂施會總裁梁詠雩、樂施毅行者籌委會主席陳智思、黃偉綸局長、友邦香港及澳門業務執行官顧培德等,與一眾毅行者為參加者打氣。.
(後排左五起)樂施會總裁梁詠雩、樂施毅行者籌委會主席陳智思、黃偉綸局長、友邦香港及澳門業務執行官顧培德等,與一眾毅行者為參加者打氣。
今年毅行者共有5200位參加者作賽。(樂施會提供).
今年毅行者共有5200位參加者作賽。(樂施會提供)
樂施會早前舉行簡介會,醫生、物理治療師及足病診療師講解必備的行山醫療知識及傷患處理方法,並鼓勵毅行者活動前自我風險評估。(樂施會提供).
樂施會早前舉行簡介會,醫生、物理治療師及足病診療師講解必備的行山醫療知識及傷患處理方法,並鼓勵毅行者活動前自我風險評估。(樂施會提供)
上屆首名衝線隊伍以11小時01分率先完成賽事。(樂施會提供).
上屆首名衝線隊伍以11小時01分率先完成賽事。(樂施會提供)

2017年11月12日

返回.