Jump to the beginning of content

Providing more short-term jobs for new colleagues to fill

The Government has launched the Job Creation Scheme under the Anti-epidemic Fund (AEF) to create around 30 000 time-limited jobs in the public and private sectors in the coming two years, thereby providing more job opportunities. Among others, new colleagues are reporting for duty in the Development Bureau (DEVB) and departments under its purview. This time, I have invited two young people who have just joined the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD), Ms HO Tsz-yan, Katherine, and Mr CHAN Chun-wa, Andy, to share why they joined the Government and what they have experienced in the new positions.

Creating more than 6 500 short-term jobs

In view of the COVID-19 epidemic, the Government aims to create more short-term jobs to boost the vibrancy of the job market. The DEVB and departments under its purview, such as the EMSD, Drainage Services Department, Civil Engineering and Development Department, Buildings Department and Water Supplies Department, have created a total of more than 6 500 short-term jobs including government positions and those created through procurement of services from consultants or contractors under existing or new contractual arrangements. The jobs cover different trades, skill sets and academic requirements, providing job opportunities for professionals, technicians, backend office staff and fresh graduates. About 3 500 people are expected to report for duty in succession by the end of September.

Facing difficulties in finding jobs under the pandemic

Ms Katherine HO, now the Publicity Officer of the EMSD, was previously an assistant manager in a small and medium enterprise, where she was laid off due to the pandemic. During her unemployment, she sent out about 300 cover letters but received very few replies. She says that, under the influence of the pandemic and the general economic environment, many companies are reluctant to spend money on employing additional staff, making it more difficult for the unemployed to find jobs. She is pleased to have been appointed to the new government position under the AEF. Mr Andy CHAN, who is a fresh graduate this year, shares the same view. He says many companies have stopped recruiting people, and are even laying off employees or imposing wage freezes, so he feels very fortunate to have landed this job as the Publicity Assistant for the EMSD in less than a month after graduation.

Thoughtful guidance from supervisors and colleagues

Ms Katherine HO studied Leisure Management in university. Currently, she mainly assists her colleagues to handle clerical work and organise workshop. The workshop aims at setting short- term and long-term goals for the EMSD to provide better services for the public. As it is not suitable to have face-to-face meetings due to the pandemic, she is exploring with colleagues the feasibility for the workshop to be held as usual in the format of on-line meetings. Ms Katherine HO says that, without previous related work experience, she was anxious when she first started her job in the engineering/electrical and mechanical field which was thought to be male-dominated. Thanks to the thoughtful guidance from her supervisors and colleagues, she has adapted to her new job quickly.

Giving full play to his language abilities

As a fresh graduate from the School of English of the University of Hong Kong, Mr Andy CHAN now mainly takes part in editing a handbook on the regulation of railway safety. Presenting the services and operation of the Railways Branch of the EMSD, the handbook enables the public and the trade to have a deeper understanding of the department’s work in monitoring railway safety. As told by Mr Andy CHAN, when he first took up the job, he was worried that his inadequate knowledge of engineering and related technical jargon would affect his performance. However, he later found out that he could make use of his language skills to present the terminologies of engineering in a manner that is both in-depth and easy to comprehend, which would help to improve efficiency at work.

Encouraging colleagues to grasp every opportunity to learn

Engineer of the EMSD, Mr CHOW Kirk, Peter, says he is glad that the AEF has made it possible for the department to recruit new colleagues to share its heavy workload. The department will do its best to give them every opportunity to understand more about its operation. Also, he hopes that the basic training they receive can become useful in forging their future career. In this difficult period when the pandemic is raging throughout the city, he hopes his new colleagues will not lose heart but will be brave to accept challenges and seek more learning opportunities to build a solid foundation for future development.

I am very pleased that the two young new colleagues have quickly adapted to their new positions. In view of the pandemic, it may not be easy to find a job, and opportunities to receive training are also dwindling. Therefore, in this critical time, the Government will work hard to provide more job and training opportunities for professionals to give full play to their talent and share colleagues’ work in the department. Meanwhile, young colleagues can gain more experience and work hard to equip themselves. Staying strong in adversity, we can overcome every hurdle together.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Secretary for Development, Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, says the Development Bureau and departments under its purview have created a total of more than 6 500 short-term jobs covering different trades, skill sets and academic requirements to provide job opportunities for professionals, technicians, backend office staff and fresh graduates..
The Secretary for Development, Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, says the Development Bureau and departments under its purview have created a total of more than 6 500 short-term jobs covering different trades, skill sets and academic requirements to provide job opportunities for professionals, technicians, backend office staff and fresh graduates.
Publicity Officer of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD), Ms HO Tsz-yan, Katherine (left), and Publicity Assistant, Mr CHAN Chun-wa, Andy (right), both find it difficult to find jobs under the pandemic, and they are very pleased to have been appointed to the new government positions under the Anti-epidemic Fund..
Publicity Officer of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD), Ms HO Tsz-yan, Katherine (left), and Publicity Assistant, Mr CHAN Chun-wa, Andy (right), both find it difficult to find jobs under the pandemic, and they are very pleased to have been appointed to the new government positions under the Anti-epidemic Fund.
Publicity Officer of the EMSD, Ms Katherine HO, appreciates the thoughtful guidance from her supervisors and colleagues, which enables her to adapt to her new job quickly..
Publicity Officer of the EMSD, Ms Katherine HO, appreciates the thoughtful guidance from her supervisors and colleagues, which enables her to adapt to her new job quickly.
Mr Andy CHAN takes part in editing a handbook on the regulation of railway safety. Making use of his language skills, he presents the terminologies of engineering in a manner that is both in-depth and easy to comprehend..
Mr Andy CHAN takes part in editing a handbook on the regulation of railway safety. Making use of his language skills, he presents the terminologies of engineering in a manner that is both in-depth and easy to comprehend.
Engineer of the EMSD, Mr CHOW Kirk, Peter (right), encourages his new colleagues to be brave to accept challenges and seek more learning opportunities to build a solid foundation for future development..
Engineer of the EMSD, Mr CHOW Kirk, Peter (right), encourages his new colleagues to be brave to accept challenges and seek more learning opportunities to build a solid foundation for future development..
Engineer of the EMSD, Mr CHOW Kirk, Peter (right), encourages his new colleagues to be brave to accept challenges and seek more learning opportunities to build a solid foundation for future development.

2 August, 2020

Back.

跳至內容

增短期職位 新同事陸續上班

政府在「防疫抗疫基金」下推出創造職位計劃,未來兩年在公營及私營機構創造約30 000個有時限的職位,增加就業機會,其中,受聘於發展局及其轄下部門的新同事已陸續到任。今次,我邀請兩位剛加入機電工程署(機電署)的年輕人—何梓欣和陳俊華,談談他們加入政府工作的原因,以及在新崗位上的體會。

創造逾6 500短期職位

在2019冠狀病毒病疫情下,政府希望透過增加短期職位,為就業市場注入活力。發展局及其轄下部門,如機電署、渠務署、土木工程拓展署、屋宇署、水務署等,合共創造逾6 500個短期職位,包括政府職位,以及透過現行合約或新合約安排,向顧問公司或承建商採購服務,當中涵蓋不同工種、技能和學歷要求,為專業人士、技術和後勤人員,以至應屆畢業生提供工作機會。預計至9月底,約3 500人將陸續上班。

疫情下「搵工難」

何梓欣現職機電署宣傳主任。她原本在一間中小企當助理經理,但公司受疫情影響要裁員。她在失業期間曾寄出約300封求職信,惟收到的回覆不多。她說,受到疫情和大圍環境影響,很多公司都不願花錢增聘人手,令失業人士更難找到工作。她很高興獲聘任「防疫抗疫基金」新增的政府職位。今年剛畢業的陳俊華亦有同感。他指很多公司不再請人,甚至裁員、凍薪,所以覺得很幸運,畢業不足一個月,便找到機電署宣傳助理這份工作。

上司同事悉心教導

何梓欣大學時就讀文娛管理。她現時主要協助同事處理文書工作,以及推行工作坊。工作坊的目的是為機電署制定短期和長期目標,以為市民提供更好的服務。在疫情下,面對面訪談並不適合,她和同事則探討透過線上會議形式,令工作坊可以如常進行。何梓欣說,之前沒有從事相關工作的經驗,加上覺得工程和機電是男性主導,上班初期有些緊張,幸好上司和同事悉心教導,令她很快適應新崗位。

語文能力發揮所長

陳俊華剛畢業於香港大學英文系,現時主要參與編輯有關規管鐵路服務的手冊,介紹機電署鐵路科的服務和運作,讓公眾和業界更深入認識署方監察鐵路安全方面的工作。陳俊華說,初入職時,也擔心不大懂工程知識和術語會影響表現,但其後發現可利用自己的語文能力,把一些工程的專業用語,以深入淺出的方式表達出來,有助提升工作效率。

勉勵同事爭取學習機會

機電署工程師周國傑說,很高興能透過「防疫抗疫基金」,聘得新同事分擔部門繁重的工作;部門亦會盡量給予機會,讓他們多了解部門的運作,更希望在得到基本的訓練後,有助他們日後事業發展。面對疫情肆虐的艱難時期,他希望新同事不要氣餒,勇於接受挑戰,爭取更多學習機會,為將來的發展打好堅實的基礎。

我很高興,兩位年輕新同事很快適應新工作崗位。疫情下,找工作未必容易,接受培訓的機會亦減少。在這非常時期,政府會努力提供更多就業和培訓機會,讓專業人士發揮所長,分擔部門同事的工作;年輕同事則累積經驗,好好裝備自己,一同跨越難關,逆境自強。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
發展局局長黃偉綸說,發展局及其轄下部門,合共創造逾6 500個短期職位,涵蓋不同工種、技能和學歷要求,為專業人士、技術和後勤人員,以至應屆畢業生提供工作機會。.
發展局局長黃偉綸說,發展局及其轄下部門,合共創造逾6 500個短期職位,涵蓋不同工種、技能和學歷要求,為專業人士、技術和後勤人員,以至應屆畢業生提供工作機會。
機電工程署(機電署)宣傳主任何梓欣(左)和宣傳助理陳俊華(右)皆表示,疫情下「搵工難」,很高興獲聘任「防疫抗疫基金」新增的政府職位。.
機電工程署(機電署)宣傳主任何梓欣(左)和宣傳助理陳俊華(右)皆表示,疫情下「搵工難」,很高興獲聘任「防疫抗疫基金」新增的政府職位。
機電署宣傳主任何梓欣感謝上司和同事悉心教導,令她很快適應新工作。.
機電署宣傳主任何梓欣感謝上司和同事悉心教導,令她很快適應新工作。
陳俊華參與編輯有關規管鐵路服務的手冊,利用其語文能力,把一些工程的專業用語,以深入淺出的方式表達出來。.
陳俊華參與編輯有關規管鐵路服務的手冊,利用其語文能力,把一些工程的專業用語,以深入淺出的方式表達出來。
機電署工程師周國傑(右)鼓勵新同事勇於接受挑戰,爭取更多學習機會,為將來的發展打好堅實的基礎。.
機電署工程師周國傑(右)鼓勵新同事勇於接受挑戰,爭取更多學習機會,為將來的發展打好堅實的基礎。.
機電署工程師周國傑(右)鼓勵新同事勇於接受挑戰,爭取更多學習機會,為將來的發展打好堅實的基礎。

2020年8月2日

返回.