Jump to the beginning of content

Constructing quarantine camps using Modular Integrated Construction (MiC) technology

With COVID -19 sweeping across the world, the Government has braced itself for the situation right from the beginning. Since the onset of the outbreak, it has taken decisive measures to identify suitable sites to construct quarantine camps within a short time using the innovative Modular Integrated Construction (MiC) technology to meet the demands arising from the epidemic. In completing the mission, colleagues have met many challenges in terms of time, project design, construction and logistics. The construction team has to race against time every day. Usually construction progress is assessed daily, but this time, it is assessed every hour.

800 quarantine units at Penny’s Bay completed in just a little over four months

On 18 July, phase 1 of the quarantine camps on the government site at Penny's Bay came into operation. Through this blog post, the Secretary for Food and Health, Professor CHAN Siu-chee, Sophia, would like to express her gratitude to colleagues of the works departments for their efforts and great efficiency in completing the whole project in just a little over four months. She says that given the severity of the epidemic, the supply of quarantine facilities is tight. The timely completion of 800 quarantine units at Penny’s Bay can alleviate the pressure on the existing quarantine facilities. The Civil Aid Service (CAS), the Department of Health (DH) and the Auxiliary Medical Service are in charge of the daily operation of the quarantine centre.

Architectural Services Department and Civil Engineering and Development Department shouldering construction tasks

Currently, the Government is constructing quarantine camps at four sites, namely the Lei Yue Mun Park and Holiday Village in Chai Wan, the Sai Kung Outdoor Recreation Centre, the Junior Police Call Permanent Activity Centre in Pat Heung, and the Penny’s Bay.

The Director of Architectural Services, Mrs LAM YU Ka-wai, Sylvia, recalls that when the Chief Executive announced raising the response level for the novel coronavirus to the highest Emergency Response Level on 25 January (the first day of the Lunar New year), she received a call tasking the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD) and the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) to collaborate in constructing more quarantine facilities at the fastest speed. Since February, about 1 460 quarantine units have been constructed in as short as six months. Moreover, phase 2 of about 700 quarantine units at Penny's Bay is expected to be completed in September. By then, there will be more than 2 100 quarantine units available. Meanwhile, the works departments are actively carrying out advance preparation work for the construction of 2 000 more quarantine units at Penny’s Bay as announced by the Chief Executive earlier.

Using MiC to shorten site construction time

According to Mrs Sylvia LAM, one of the important factors in enabling the construction of a large number of quarantine units within a very short period of time is the use of the MiC technology. Taking phase 1 of the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay as an example, while the CEDD was carrying out site formation and infrastructure works, the ArchSD, contractors and design consultant teams were designing the centre at the same time. Upon the completion of design, it was the factory’s turn to start with the production and assembly process of the components of individual units. Processes involving interior decoration, building services, furniture and electrical installations were all completed in the factory. Therefore, when the components arrived at the construction site, the accommodation facilities, doors and windows, air-conditioners, individual toilets and so on for individual units were already ready. For completion, workers only had to assemble all the units and connect them to services. Not only can this method greatly shorten site construction time, it can also enhance productivity, quality control and site safety.

Stringent design requirements to protect the safety of people under quarantine

According to Mrs Sylvia LAM, in order to achieve the purpose of preventing and fighting the epidemic, the architectural team and colleagues of the DH exchange ideas from time to time to ensure that the hygienic safety of the quarantine facilities reaches the highest level. For example, “dirty corridors” and “clean corridors” are set respectively between two rows of quarantine units. The clean corridors are provided for staff and people under quarantine. Meanwhile, the dirty corridors are installed with drainage and ventilating pipes, etc., and no persons other than the personnel are allowed to enter and exit via the corridors to minimise the risk of infection. The design requirements of the ventilating pipes are also more stringent than those required under the regulations. Besides, diverse patterns and colours are applied on the façades of the units with a view to injecting positive energy to relieve the emotions of the quarantined people.

Project team standing united

There is no doubt that the project team has faced many challenges in constructing quarantine facilities one after another within a short period of time. Mrs Sylvia LAM says that, in the face of the ever-changing worldwide epidemic, everyone is very worried about the supply of materials, including the production of MiC components and cross-border transport, and also the hygiene and safety of construction sites. The construction progress was also affected by weather and workers who were required to self-isolate and undergo compulsory quarantine when returning to Hong Kong from their stay in the Mainland during the Chinese New Year holiday.

Fortunately, colleagues of various departments have stood united and co-operated with contractors to work hard to recover the progress delay. Taking phase 1 of the quarantine camps at Penny's Bay as an example, the construction of the 700 quarantine units in charge by the ArchSD were completed in just 73 days, two days earlier than the scheduled time. One of the contractors in another project succeeded in assembling 44 quarantine units within a day in order to recover the delay caused by severe weather, which means the average assembly time for each unit was only about 15 minutes.

The Government has been racing against time in completing various projects on quarantine facilities within a very short period of time by applying the innovative construction technology, MiC. Colleagues of the Food and Health Bureau, Development Bureau, ArchSD, CEDD, DH, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department, Drainage Services Department, Water Supplies Department, Fire Services Department, Environmental Protection Department, Hong Kong Police Force, CAS, Transport Department, etc., along with contractors and consultant teams, have been endeavouring to increase provision of quarantine facilities and complete various projects safely and seriously, demonstrating their commitment to fighting the virus together and safeguarding the health of the community. As Professor Sophia CHAN says, she is confident that Hong Kong will surely tide over the difficulties!

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor CHAN Siu-chee, Sophia says that given the severity of the epidemic, the supply of quarantine facilities is tight. The commissioning of phase 1 of the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay with 800 quarantine units can alleviate the pressure on the existing quarantine facilities..
The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor CHAN Siu-chee, Sophia says that given the severity of the epidemic, the supply of quarantine facilities is tight. The commissioning of phase 1 of the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay with 800 quarantine units can alleviate the pressure on the existing quarantine facilities.
According to the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM, one of the important factors in enabling the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD) and the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) to construct a large number of quarantine units within a short period of time is the use of the Modular Integrated Construction (MiC) technology..
According to the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM, one of the important factors in enabling the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD) and the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) to construct a large number of quarantine units within a short period of time is the use of the Modular Integrated Construction (MiC) technology.
To ensure that the hygienic safety of the quarantine facilities reaches the highest level, the ArchSD has made much effort in designing the quarantine units..
To ensure that the hygienic safety of the quarantine facilities reaches the highest level, the ArchSD has made much effort in designing the quarantine units.
Pictured is the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay (phase 1). There is a dirty corridor behind each row of quarantine units, where drainage and ventilating pipes are installed. No persons other than the personnel are allowed to enter and exit via the corridor in order to minimise the risk of infection..
Pictured is the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay (phase 1). There is a dirty corridor behind each row of quarantine units, where drainage and ventilating pipes are installed. No persons other than the personnel are allowed to enter and exit via the corridor in order to minimise the risk of infection.
When the quarantine units arrive at the construction site for assembly, the accommodation facilities and decoration such as windows, water heaters and individual toilets are already ready..
When the quarantine units arrive at the construction site for assembly, the accommodation facilities and decoration such as windows, water heaters and individual toilets are already ready..
When the quarantine units arrive at the construction site for assembly, the accommodation facilities and decoration such as windows, water heaters and individual toilets are already ready.
Diverse patterns and colours are applied on the façades of the units with a view to injecting positive energy to relieve the emotions of the quarantined people..
Diverse patterns and colours are applied on the façades of the units with a view to injecting positive energy to relieve the emotions of the quarantined people.
Since the onset of the outbreak, the Government has taken decisive measures to identify suitable sites to construct quarantine camps to meet the demands arising from the epidemic. The Chief Executive, Mrs LAM CHENG Yuet-ngor, Carrie (fourth left), visited the Lei Yue Mun Park and Holiday Village in Chai Wan on 11 February to inspect the progress of constructing quarantine units using MiC ..
Since the onset of the outbreak, the Government has taken decisive measures to identify suitable sites to construct quarantine camps to meet the demands arising from the epidemic. The Chief Executive, Mrs LAM CHENG Yuet-ngor, Carrie (fourth left), visited the Lei Yue Mun Park and Holiday Village in Chai Wan on 11 February to inspect the progress of constructing quarantine units using MiC .
The Chief Executive, Mrs Carrie Lam (second right, front row), inspected the quarantine units under construction at the Sai Kung Outdoor Recreation Centre on 25 March. Next to her are the Secretary for Development, Mr Michael WONG (second right, back row) and the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM (first right, front row)..
The Chief Executive, Mrs Carrie Lam (second right, front row), inspected the quarantine units under construction at the Sai Kung Outdoor Recreation Centre on 25 March. Next to her are the Secretary for Development, Mr Michael WONG (second right, back row) and the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM (first right, front row).
The Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr CHEUNG Kin-chung, Matthew, inspected the quarantine facilities at Penny's Bay on 13 July. Picture shows Mr CHEUNG (second right), accompanied by the Secretary for Development, Mr Michael WONG (second left), and the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM (first left), receiving the completed quarantine units from a representative of the contractor at a ceremony..
The Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr CHEUNG Kin-chung, Matthew, inspected the quarantine facilities at Penny's Bay on 13 July. Picture shows Mr CHEUNG (second right), accompanied by the Secretary for Development, Mr Michael WONG (second left), and the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM (first left), receiving the completed quarantine units from a representative of the contractor at a ceremony.
Pictured is the quarantine centre at the Lei Yue Mun Park and Holiday Village in Chai Wan..
Pictured is the quarantine centre at the Lei Yue Mun Park and Holiday Village in Chai Wan..
Pictured is the quarantine centre at the Lei Yue Mun Park and Holiday Village in Chai Wan.
Pictured is the quarantine camps at the Sai Kung Outdoor Recreation Centre..
Pictured is the quarantine camps at the Sai Kung Outdoor Recreation Centre.
Pictured is the quarantine camps at the Junior Police Call Permanent Activity Centre in Pat Heung..
Pictured is the quarantine camps at the Junior Police Call Permanent Activity Centre in Pat Heung..
Pictured is the quarantine camps at the Junior Police Call Permanent Activity Centre in Pat Heung.
Pictured is the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay (phase 1) that is recently completed..
Pictured is the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay (phase 1) that is recently completed..
Pictured is the quarantine camps at Penny’s Bay (phase 1) that is recently completed.
Colleagues of various sections of the ArchSD work together with the same heart to complete various projects on quarantine facilities within a very short period of time. In the picture, the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM, is at the centre of the front row..
Colleagues of various sections of the ArchSD work together with the same heart to complete various projects on quarantine facilities within a very short period of time. In the picture, the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM, is at the centre of the front row.

26 July, 2020

Back.

跳至內容

利用「組裝合成」建築技術興建檢疫營舍

2019冠狀病毒病席捲全球,政府一直嚴陣以待。早在疫情發展初期,已果斷作出決定,尋找合適選址,透過創新的「組裝合成」建築技術(MiC),短時間內增建檢疫營舍,以應對抗疫工作的需要。這項任務無論在時間、工程設計與施工、物流等方面均具挑戰。建造團隊每天與時間競賽,工程進度一般以「日」數來計算,但這一次,是以「小時」來計算。

4個多月完成竹篙灣800檢疫單位

7月18日,位於竹篙灣政府土地上的檢疫營舍(第一期)正式投入運作。食物及衞生局 (食衞局)局長陳肇始教授特別借此「隨筆」,感謝工務部門同事的努力及高效,僅用了4個多月的時間完成整項工程。她表示,疫情嚴峻,檢疫設施供應緊張,竹篙灣800檢疫單位及時落成,能紓緩現時檢疫設施的壓力。該檢疫中心現由民安隊、衞生署及醫療輔助隊負責其日常運作。

建築署、土拓署肩負興建任務

目前,政府分別在4個地方—柴灣鯉魚門公園及度假村、西貢戶外康樂中心、八鄉少年警訊永久活動中心及竹篙灣興建檢疫營舍。

建築署署長林余家慧憶述,1月25日(農曆年初一),行政長官宣布把應變新型冠狀病毒的級別提升至最高的「緊急」程度,她收到電話委託建築署與土木工程拓展署(土拓署)合作,以最快的速度增建檢疫設施。由2月至今,短短6個月時間內,已完成建造約1 460個檢疫單位。加上,竹篙灣(第二期)約700個檢疫單位預計會於9月完工,屆時,檢疫營舍的數目將超過2 100個;而工程部門亦正積極為行政長官日前宣布在竹篙灣多興建2 000個檢疫單位作前期準備功夫。

採用MiC縮短工地施工時間

林余家慧說,能在極短時間內建成大量檢疫營舍,使用MiC建築技術是其中一個重要因素。以竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期)為例,在土拓署進行土地平整及基礎設施工程時,建築署、承建商及設計顧問團隊已同步進行營舍設計工作,完成後交廠房展開每個單元組件的生產及組裝工序,包括室內裝修、屋宇設備、家俬電器裝置等均在廠房內完成。當組件運到工地時,單位內的住宿設備、門窗、冷氣、獨立洗手間等已一應俱全,只需把一個個單位裝嵌起來,完成最後的接駁,便大功告成。這方法大大縮短工地施工時間,提升生產力,並有助質量控制及提升工地安全。

設計嚴謹保障檢疫人士安全

為了達到防疫抗疫的目的,林余家慧說,建築團隊和衞生署同事不時交流意見,確保檢疫設施的衞生安全達到最高水平。舉例說,在兩行營舍之間分別設有「污物走廊」(dirty corridors)和「潔淨走廊」(clean corridors)。「潔淨走廊」供職員及檢疫人士使用;「污物走廊」內則裝有排水管和通風管等,除工作人員外,其他人士一律嚴禁進出,以減低感染風險。通風管的設計亦較法例所規定的嚴謹。另外,營舍外牆有不同的圖案和色彩,希望為營舍注入正能量,紓緩檢疫人士的心情。

項目團隊上下一心

無疑,在短時間內建造一項又一項的檢疫設施,項目團隊面對不少挑戰,林余家慧說,全球疫情不斷變化,大家對物料供應如MiC組件的生產和跨境運輸,以至工地的衞生和安全,都感到非常擔心。天氣及早期內地度歲返港的工友必須自我隔離或強制檢疫,亦影響了工程進度。

幸而,各部門同事上下一心,與承建商通力合作,努力追回施工進度。如竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期),當中建築署負責興建的700個檢疫單位,只用了73天完成,較原定時間提早了兩天。在另外一個項目,其中一個承建商,為了追回因惡劣天氣而拖慢了的進度,成功在一天內裝嵌44個檢疫單位,即平均只需約15分鐘裝嵌一個。

政府一直爭分奪秒,透過利用MiC創新建築技術,在極短時間內完成多個檢疫設施項目。食衞局、發展局、建築署、土拓署、衞生署、機電工程署、渠務署、水務署、消防處、環保署、警務處、民安隊、運輸署等部門的同事,聯同承建商及顧問圑隊,為增加檢疫設施而努力,安全嚴謹地完成各項工程,體現同心抗疫的精神,為守護市民的健康出一分力,正如陳肇始局長所說,有信心香港一定會渡過今次難關!

 
請按上圖觀看影片
食物及衞生局局長陳肇始教授說,疫情嚴峻,令檢疫設施供應緊張。竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期)投入運作,提供800個檢疫單位,有助紓緩現時檢疫設施的壓力。.
食物及衞生局局長陳肇始教授說,疫情嚴峻,令檢疫設施供應緊張。竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期)投入運作,提供800個檢疫單位,有助紓緩現時檢疫設施的壓力。
建築署署長林余家慧說,建築署和土木工程拓展署能夠在極短時間內建成大量檢疫營舍,使用「組裝合成」建築技術(MiC)是其中一個重要因素。.
建築署署長林余家慧說,建築署和土木工程拓展署能夠在極短時間內建成大量檢疫營舍,使用「組裝合成」建築技術(MiC)是其中一個重要因素。
為確保檢疫設施的衞生安全達到最高水平,建築署在設計檢疫營舍時亦下了不少功夫。.
為確保檢疫設施的衞生安全達到最高水平,建築署在設計檢疫營舍時亦下了不少功夫。
圖示竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期),每行單位背面設有「污物走廊」,內有排水管和通風管等,除工作人員外,其他人士一律嚴禁進出,以減低感染風險。.
圖示竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期),每行單位背面設有「污物走廊」,內有排水管和通風管等,除工作人員外,其他人士一律嚴禁進出,以減低感染風險。
當每個檢疫單位運到工地裝嵌時,內裡的住宿設備和裝修,如窗戶、熱水爐、獨立洗手間等一應俱全。.
當每個檢疫單位運到工地裝嵌時,內裡的住宿設備和裝修,如窗戶、熱水爐、獨立洗手間等一應俱全。.
當每個檢疫單位運到工地裝嵌時,內裡的住宿設備和裝修,如窗戶、熱水爐、獨立洗手間等一應俱全。
營舍外牆設計了不同的圖案和色彩,希望為營舍注入正能量,紓緩檢疫人士的心情。.
營舍外牆設計了不同的圖案和色彩,希望為營舍注入正能量,紓緩檢疫人士的心情。
早在疫情發展初期,政府已果斷作出決定,尋找合適選址建造檢疫營舍,以應對抗疫工作的需要。圖為行政長官林鄭月娥(左四)於2月11日到柴灣鯉魚門公園及度假村,視察以MiC興建檢疫單位的工程進展。.
早在疫情發展初期,政府已果斷作出決定,尋找合適選址建造檢疫營舍,以應對抗疫工作的需要。圖為行政長官林鄭月娥(左四)於2月11日到柴灣鯉魚門公園及度假村,視察以MiC興建檢疫單位的工程進展。
行政長官林鄭月娥(前排右二)3月25日視察西貢戶外康樂中心加建中的檢疫單位。旁為發展局局長黃偉綸(後排右二)和建築署署長林余家慧(前排右一)。.
行政長官林鄭月娥(前排右二)3月25日視察西貢戶外康樂中心加建中的檢疫單位。旁為發展局局長黃偉綸(後排右二)和建築署署長林余家慧(前排右一)。
政務司司長張建宗7月13日到竹篙灣視察檢疫設施。圖示張建宗(右二)在發展局局長黃偉綸(左二)和建築署署長林余家慧(左一)陪同下出席儀式,從承建商代表接收完工的檢疫單位。.
政務司司長張建宗7月13日到竹篙灣視察檢疫設施。圖示張建宗(右二)在發展局局長黃偉綸(左二)和建築署署長林余家慧(左一)陪同下出席儀式,從承建商代表接收完工的檢疫單位。
圖示柴灣鯉魚門公園及度假村的檢疫營舍。.
圖示柴灣鯉魚門公園及度假村的檢疫營舍。.
圖示柴灣鯉魚門公園及度假村的檢疫營舍。
圖為西貢戶外康樂中心檢疫營舍。.
圖為西貢戶外康樂中心檢疫營舍。
圖示八鄉少年警訊永久活動中心內的檢疫營舍。.
圖示八鄉少年警訊永久活動中心內的檢疫營舍。.
圖示八鄉少年警訊永久活動中心內的檢疫營舍。
圖為近日落成的竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期)。.
圖為近日落成的竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期)。.
圖為近日落成的竹篙灣檢疫營舍(第一期)。
建築署不同組別的同事同心協力,上下一心,在極短時間內完成多個檢疫營舍項目。圖中前排中是建築署署長林余家慧。.
建築署不同組別的同事同心協力,上下一心,在極短時間內完成多個檢疫營舍項目。圖中前排中是建築署署長林余家慧。

2020年7月26日

返回.