Jump to the beginning of content

Preparing for the typhoon season by enhancing the protective capacity

During the typhoon season, Hong Kong is susceptible to inclement weather such as persistent heavy rainstorms and typhoons. When typhoons strike, the associated strong winds and low atmospheric pressure may cause the sea level to rise (i.e. storm surges) and huge waves to surpass the seawall (i.e. overtopping waves), posing threats to the low-lying coastal or windy locations. This time, I have invited the colleagues from the Port Works Division of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) to introduce how the department plans ahead before the onset of the typhoon season by restoring and strengthening the existing marine facilities to enhance the protective capacity, and also how it raises the efficiency of inspection of marine facilities with new technologies.

Building wave walls to reduce threat caused by overtopping waves

Currently, the CEDD is responsible for maintaining about 127 kilometres of seawalls and breakwaters, more than 320 piers and landing steps as well as other public marine facilities. Many of you may still have a vivid memory of the onslaught of super typhoon Mangkhut in Hong Kong two years ago, which caused a certain degree of damage to marine facilities. Among them, the Tseung Kwan O (TKO) Waterfront Park was hit by huge waves, with some railings and paving blocks damaged. Engineer of the Port Works Division of the CEDD, Miss TONG Pui-sze, says that, in order to reduce the threat of overtopping waves to coastal residents and facilities, the department has constructed a wave wall of about 600 metres in length and 1.1 metres in height at the TKO Waterfront Park to enhance the protection.

Design to withstand waves and provide leisure spaces

The wave wall was built with reinforced concrete with the adoption of a curved design to strengthen the protection to waterfront facilities. Similar designs have also been adopted at the seawalls on Peng Chau and in Stanley. One may ask whether a wave wall is the higher the better. According to Miss TONG Pui-sze, given that the waterfront park is a leisure open space for TKO residents, a balance has been struck in the design such that the wave wall will alleviate the impact of huge waves without obstructing the sea view for residents’ enjoyment. Similarly, the project has retained the original metal railings on one of the landings at the TKO Waterfront Park, and constructed a concrete wave wall at the entrance of the landing to prevent waves from damaging the nearby footpath and cycle track.

Using precast concrete units to strengthen breakwaters

Furthermore, during the onslaught of Mangkhut in Hong Kong, portions of the breakwater at the Aberdeen South Typhoon Shelter formed by rocks weighing five to six tonnes collapsed due to the impact of huge waves. After the incident, instead of using rocks heavier than the original ones to strengthen the damaged portions, the CEDD replaced them with specially designed precast concrete units (commonly called dolosse).

According to Engineer of the Port Works Division of the CEDD, Mr CHENG Cheuk-hin, the dolosse are shaped like the Chinese character “工” with a 90-degree twist (thus called twisted blocks in the trade), weighing about 3.4 tonnes per unit. Interlocked with each other, the units form a sturdy protective layer that is more effective in withstanding the impact of waves than natural stones. Besides, as dolosse are manufactured artificially, mass production is possible whenever necessary to enable maintenance work to complete against time.

Applying new technologies to inspect marine facilities

To ensure that marine facilities remain stable under prolonged wave attacks, it is imperative to have in place a comprehensive inspection plan and timely maintenance. Engineer Miss TONG Pui-sze says that the CEDD has introduced new survey technologies such as the Integrated Multibeam Echo Sounder and the Laser Scanner System in recent years. With the ability to capture the overall structural condition of the marine facilities in a short time, these new technologies serve to enhance the accuracy and efficiency of inspections.

According to her, the Multibeam Echo Sounder works by transmitting sound waves and receiving echoes underwater to measure the structural forms of underwater marine facilities such as seawalls and breakwaters through computer analysis, whereas the Laser Scanner System measures the conditions of marine facilities above water level. Compared to the past when diving teams had to be called upon to carry out such inspections subject to constraints of underwater visibility, tidal conditions and sea traffic, the new integrated system can effectively shorten the inspection time, quickly locate the damage locations, and boost repair work efficiency.

In recent years, as extreme weather conditions have become more and more frequent, all departments under the DEVB are well-prepared for the coming typhoon season. I would also like to remind the public that, during typhoons, they should stay away from dangerous places, avoid going to the seaside to look at the waves, stay home to take proper precautions, and stay tuned for the information released by the Government as there is no room for complacency.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
Engineer of the Port Works Division of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Miss TONG Pui-sze, visited the shore along Tseung Kwan O (TKO) Waterfront Park earlier and introduced how the department repairs and strengthens the existing marine facilities to enhance the protective capacity..
Engineer of the Port Works Division of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Miss TONG Pui-sze, visited the shore along Tseung Kwan O (TKO) Waterfront Park earlier and introduced how the department repairs and strengthens the existing marine facilities to enhance the protective capacity.
During the onslaught of super typhoon Mangkhut in Hong Kong two years ago, the TKO Waterfront Park was hit by overtopping waves, and some railings and paving blocks along the coast were damaged. (stock photograph).
During the onslaught of super typhoon Mangkhut in Hong Kong two years ago, the TKO Waterfront Park was hit by overtopping waves, and some railings and paving blocks along the coast were damaged. (stock photograph).
During the onslaught of super typhoon Mangkhut in Hong Kong two years ago, the TKO Waterfront Park was hit by overtopping waves, and some railings and paving blocks along the coast were damaged. (stock photograph)
The CEDD has constructed a wave wall of about 600 metres in length and 1.1 metres in height at the TKO Waterfront Park to reduce the threat of overtopping waves to coastal residents and facilities during typhoons..
The CEDD has constructed a wave wall of about 600 metres in length and 1.1 metres in height at the TKO Waterfront Park to reduce the threat of overtopping waves to coastal residents and facilities during typhoons..
The CEDD has constructed a wave wall of about 600 metres in length and 1.1 metres in height at the TKO Waterfront Park to reduce the threat of overtopping waves to coastal residents and facilities during typhoons.
The CEDD will consider the design for strengthening marine facilities with a balanced perspective. Pictured is a flight of landing steps at the TKO Waterfront Park, where the original metal railings have been retained and a concrete wave wall has been constructed at its entrance to alleviate the impact of huge waves without obstructing the sea view for residents’ enjoyment..
The CEDD will consider the design for strengthening marine facilities with a balanced perspective. Pictured is a flight of landing steps at the TKO Waterfront Park, where the original metal railings have been retained and a concrete wave wall has been constructed at its entrance to alleviate the impact of huge waves without obstructing the sea view for residents’ enjoyment.
According to Engineer of the Port Works Division of the CEDD, Mr CHENG Cheuk-hin, the department has placed specially designed precast concrete units (commonly called dolosse) at the end portions of the breakwater at the Aberdeen South Typhoon Shelter to strengthen its structure..
According to Engineer of the Port Works Division of the CEDD, Mr CHENG Cheuk-hin, the department has placed specially designed precast concrete units (commonly called dolosse) at the end portions of the breakwater at the Aberdeen South Typhoon Shelter to strengthen its structure.
During the onslaught of Mangkhut in Hong Kong, portions of the breakwater at the Aberdeen South Typhoon Shelter collapsed due to the impact of the huge waves. Now they have been repaired..
During the onslaught of Mangkhut in Hong Kong, portions of the breakwater at the Aberdeen South Typhoon Shelter collapsed due to the impact of the huge waves. Now they have been repaired.
The dolosse are shaped like the Chinese character “工” with a 90-degree twist (thus called twisted concrete blocks in the trade). Interlocked with each other, the dolosse units form a sturdy protective layer that is more effective in withstanding the impact of waves than natural stones..
The dolosse are shaped like the Chinese character “工” with a 90-degree twist (thus called twisted concrete blocks in the trade). Interlocked with each other, the dolosse units form a sturdy protective layer that is more effective in withstanding the impact of waves than natural stones..
The dolosse are shaped like the Chinese character “工” with a 90-degree twist (thus called twisted concrete blocks in the trade). Interlocked with each other, the dolosse units form a sturdy protective layer that is more effective in withstanding the impact of waves than natural stones.
In recent years, the CEDD has introduced new survey technologies to inspect the structures of marine facilities, and enhance the accuracy and efficiency of underwater inspections. Pictured is a survey vessel equipped with the Integrated Multibeam Echo Sounder and Laser Scanner System..
In recent years, the CEDD has introduced new survey technologies to inspect the structures of marine facilities, and enhance the accuracy and efficiency of underwater inspections. Pictured is a survey vessel equipped with the Integrated Multibeam Echo Sounder and Laser Scanner System.
The Laser Scanner System at the top of the vessel works by transmitting a fan of laser beams to measure the terrain, while the Multibeam Echo Sounder measures the shape of a marine facility underwater. After combining the data sets, a clear 3D model of an entire marine facility can be portrayed..
The Laser Scanner System at the top of the vessel works by transmitting a fan of laser beams to measure the terrain, while the Multibeam Echo Sounder measures the shape of a marine facility underwater. After combining the data sets, a clear 3D model of an entire marine facility can be portrayed.

7 June, 2020

Back.

跳至內容

為風季做好準備 加強防禦能力

香港在風季期間不時受到持續暴雨和颱風等惡劣天氣影響。颱風吹襲時,相關的強風及低氣壓,可引發海平面上升(「風暴潮」)和越過海堤的巨浪(「越堤浪」),為沿海較低窪或當風地區帶來威脅。今次,我邀請土木工程拓展署(土拓署)海港工程部的同事,為大家介紹部門如何在風季來臨前部署應對,修復和加固現有海事設施,以加強防禦能力,以及如何應用嶄新技術,提升檢查海事設施的效率。

加建防浪牆減「越堤浪」威脅

現時,土拓署負責維修約127公里的海堤和防波堤,逾320個碼頭和登岸梯台,以及其他公共海事設施。前年超強颱風「山竹」襲港,相信大家仍記憶猶新。風暴對海事設施造成若干程度的破壞,當中,將軍澳海濱公園受巨浪沖擊,部分欄杆及地磚損毀。土拓署海港工程部工程師唐沛詩說,為減低「越堤浪」對沿岸居民及設施的威脅,該署已於將軍澳海濱公園加建長約600米、高約1.1米的防浪牆,以加強防禦能力。

設計兼顧抵浪和休憩用途

防浪牆的設計採用彎型鋼筋混凝土結構,能加強對海濱設施的保護能力,類似的設計也用於坪洲及赤柱海堤。可能有人會問,防浪牆是否越高越好?唐沛詩說,考慮到海濱公園是將軍澳居民消閒休憩的地方,設計上要取得平衡,在紓緩巨浪沖擊的同時,不會阻擋居民欣賞海邊的風景。同樣,在將軍澳海濱公園的其中一個梯台,工程保留了海邊原有的金屬圍欄,而在外圍入口處加建混凝土防浪牆,避免巨浪破壞附近的行人路和單車徑。

預製混凝土組件助加固防波堤

另外,「山竹」襲港期間,位處香港仔南避風塘、原本由5至6噸重石塊組成的防波堤,在巨浪沖擊下出現局部崩塌情況。土拓署事後並非使用更重的石塊來加固受破壞部分,而是利用特別設計的預製混凝土組件(俗稱「弱波石」)替代。

土拓署海港工程部工程師鄭卓軒說,「弱波石」的形狀像扭了90度的「工」字(故行內稱之為「扭工字塊」),每件組件重約3.4噸。由於組件之間環環互扣,形成牢固的保護層,較天然石塊更有效抵禦海浪沖擊。此外,由於「弱波石」是人工製造,需要時可大量生產,有利爭分奪秒的維修工作。

應用嶄新技術檢查海事設施

為確保海事設施在長期受海浪沖擊下仍能保持穩固,周詳的檢查計劃及適時的維修保養必不可少。工程師唐沛詩說,土拓署近年引進了嶄新的綜合多波束測深儀及激光掃描儀測量系統,能在短時間內勾畫海事設施的整體結構狀況,提升檢查工作的精確度和效率。

她說,多波束測深儀會在水底發出聲波及接收回聲,經電腦分析後,計算出海事設施如海堤和防波堤在水底的結構形態;同時,激光掃瞄儀會測量海事設施在水上的狀況。以往要靠「蛙人」潛水檢查,受制於水底能見度、潮汐條件、海上交通等,新綜合系統有效縮短檢查的時間,能迅速找出損毀位置,提升維修效率。

近年,極端天氣變得頻繁,發展局轄下各部門已為風季做好準備,我亦呼籲市民在颱風期間,應遠離危險的地方,避免到海邊觀浪,並留在家中做好防風措施,留意政府發放的消息,切勿掉以輕心。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
土木工程拓展署(土拓署)海港工程部工程師唐沛詩早前來到將軍澳海濱公園沿岸,介紹部門如何修復和加固現有海事設施,以加強防禦能力。.
土木工程拓展署(土拓署)海港工程部工程師唐沛詩早前來到將軍澳海濱公園沿岸,介紹部門如何修復和加固現有海事設施,以加強防禦能力。
前年,超強颱風「山竹」襲港期間,將軍澳海濱公園受越堤浪沖擊,沿岸部分欄杆及地磚損毀。(資料圖片).
前年,超強颱風「山竹」襲港期間,將軍澳海濱公園受越堤浪沖擊,沿岸部分欄杆及地磚損毀。(資料圖片).
前年,超強颱風「山竹」襲港期間,將軍澳海濱公園受越堤浪沖擊,沿岸部分欄杆及地磚損毀。(資料圖片)
土拓署在將軍澳海濱公園加建全長約600米、高約1.1米的防浪牆,以減低風暴期間越堤浪對沿岸居民和設施的威脅。.
土拓署在將軍澳海濱公園加建全長約600米、高約1.1米的防浪牆,以減低風暴期間越堤浪對沿岸居民和設施的威脅。.
土拓署在將軍澳海濱公園加建全長約600米、高約1.1米的防浪牆,以減低風暴期間越堤浪對沿岸居民和設施的威脅。
土拓署會從平衡的角度考慮加固海事設施的設計。圖中將軍澳海濱公園的梯台,保留原有的金屬圍欄,並在外圍入口處加建混凝土防浪牆,紓緩巨浪沖擊的同時,不會阻擋居民欣賞海濱風景。.
土拓署會從平衡的角度考慮加固海事設施的設計。圖中將軍澳海濱公園的梯台,保留原有的金屬圍欄,並在外圍入口處加建混凝土防浪牆,紓緩巨浪沖擊的同時,不會阻擋居民欣賞海濱風景。
土拓署海港工程部工程師鄭卓軒表示,該署利用特別設計的預製混凝土組件(俗稱「弱波石」),加固香港仔南避風塘防波堤末端部分。.
土拓署海港工程部工程師鄭卓軒表示,該署利用特別設計的預製混凝土組件(俗稱「弱波石」),加固香港仔南避風塘防波堤末端部分。
「山竹」襲港期間,香港仔南避風塘防波堤在巨浪沖擊下出現局部崩塌,現已修復。.
「山竹」襲港期間,香港仔南避風塘防波堤在巨浪沖擊下出現局部崩塌,現已修復。.
「山竹」襲港期間,香港仔南避風塘防波堤在巨浪沖擊下出現局部崩塌,現已修復。
「弱波石」的形狀像扭了90度的「工」字(故行內稱之為「扭工字塊」)。由於組件之間環環互扣,形成了牢固的保護層,較天然石塊更有效抵禦海浪沖擊。.
「弱波石」的形狀像扭了90度的「工」字(故行內稱之為「扭工字塊」)。由於組件之間環環互扣,形成了牢固的保護層,較天然石塊更有效抵禦海浪沖擊。
土拓署近年引入嶄新技術檢測海事設施結構,提升檢查工作的精確度和效率。圖為安裝了綜合多波束測深儀和激光掃描儀系統的測量船。.
土拓署近年引入嶄新技術檢測海事設施結構,提升檢查工作的精確度和效率。圖為安裝了綜合多波束測深儀和激光掃描儀系統的測量船。
船頂的激光掃描儀在水上發射扇形激光,測量地形數據;多波束測深儀在海裡發射聲波,量度水底海事設施的形狀。兩套數據整合可勾畫出整個海事設施的三維形狀。.
船頂的激光掃描儀在水上發射扇形激光,測量地形數據;多波束測深儀在海裡發射聲波,量度水底海事設施的形狀。兩套數據整合可勾畫出整個海事設施的三維形狀。

2020年6月7日

返回.