Jump to the beginning of content

Electrical and Mechanical Services Department and innovation and technology enterprises to fight the virus together

The Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) set up the E&M InnoPortal in 2018 to match the service needs of government departments and public organisations with local start-ups’ deliverables, as well as providing suitable venues to field-test projects and validate their effectiveness and performance. Facing the challenges brought by the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak, the EMSD has particularly launched an anti-epidemic thematic page on the platform to liaise with innovation and technology (I&T) enterprises for the development of new technology projects on fighting and curbing of the epidemic. This time, I have invited the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services (DEMS), Mr SIT Wing-hang, Alfred, to introduce two I&T solutions to facilitate our understanding of the department’s efforts in fighting the virus together with the I&T sector.

More than a hundred anti-epidemic proposals received in two weeks

The situation of the COVID-19 is serious. It is our top priority to step up efforts to fight and curb epidemic. The DEMS, Mr Alfred SIT, says that the EMSD, being the Innovation Facilitator for the Government, has sought to play a part in providing appropriate help through I&T.

The department has announced a series of needs for I&T solutions related to the fight against the virus on the anti-epidemic thematic page of the E&M InnoPortal, such as developing mobile fever screening robots and mobile robots for indoor disinfection in place of manual operation; robots for delivering meals, medications and documents to patients or people who are quarantined to minimise close person-to-person contact and hence the risk of infection; and self-disinfecting substances/coatings. Meanwhile, the EMSD has also strengthened liaison with its I&T strategic partners to identify suitable projects. As a result, more than a hundred relevant solution proposals were received within just two weeks.

Mobile fever screening robots

To guard against the spread of the epidemic, identifying potential infected persons in the community is a very effective way. The mobile fever screening robot has been developed by a local technology company after the EMSD reached out to the companies at Cyberport through the online platform.

According to a co-founder of the technology company, Prof POON Ka-yeung, Larry, he and his colleagues managed to put together a mobile robot combined with artificial intelligence for automatic detection of body temperatures in place of manual operation in a tight timeframe of 15 days starting from the first day of the Lunar New Year. The robot has been designed with flexible deployment in mind and can walk along routes set on the map and according to different environments, particularly in areas with no fixed entry/exit gates, or waiting areas. Once it detects a person with abnormal or higher body temperature, the robot will display a red image on the monitor and an alarm will be sent to alert management staff to take follow-up actions.

Tests conducted in various government departments

When the Government resumed normal operation on 2 March, the EMSD tested the robot at the main entrance of the EMSD Headquarters. The results of the four-day test have shown that the robot performs satisfactorily in monitoring body temperatures. Given its embedded Wi-Fi and 4G functions, the robot can perform duties in different environments and greatly reduce the workload for manual temperature checks. The EMSD has arranged to test robots of the same type at various government departments, such as the Correctional Services Department, Transport Department and Leisure and Cultural Services Department. It is hoped that these robots can be used at various government venues to reduce the work pressure of frontline staff.

Anti-microbial nano-coating technology

Besides, the EMSD is in close communication with the research institute which has developed a nano-coating technology to explore the feasibility of using it to fight the epidemic. The Director of Research & Development of an I&T company, Dr Ivan SHAM, says that when the nano-coating with anti-microbial properties is applied to a surface, such as an enamel product, the coating can guard it from dirtiness and prevent the accumulation of micro-organisms on its surface. Then, the spread of viruses and thus the risk of infection due to touching of polluted surfaces can be reduced. The nano-coating technology can also be used in air ducts to minimise static electricity and hence reduce the accumulation of dust and micro-organisms, resulting in cleaner air. Currently, the EMSD is helping with the testing of the technology, with a view to having its application rolled out in the near future.

Fighting the epidemic together

To fight and curb the epidemic, colleagues of the EMSD have been diligent in providing professional services. Apart from ensuring that the electrical and mechanical facilities at various government venues and hospitals are functioning properly, the EMSD has installed fixed Smart Fever Screening Systems at areas with higher people flow such as boundary control points, the Central Government Offices, and other government buildings to step up body temperature checks to make it more efficient to curb the epidemic. I hope that the novel technological products developed jointly by the EMSD and the I&T sector can be put to use as soon as possible to give us more power to fight the virus. Let us win the anti-epidemic battle together.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Secretary for Development, Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (first left), is briefed by the representatives of an innovation and technology (I&T) company on the development of mobile fever screening robots. Beside him is the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services (DEMS), Mr SIT Wing-hang, Alfred (second left)..
The Secretary for Development, Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael (first left), is briefed by the representatives of an innovation and technology (I&T) company on the development of mobile fever screening robots. Beside him is the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services (DEMS), Mr SIT Wing-hang, Alfred (second left).
The DEMS, Mr Alfred SIT, says that the situation of the COVID-19 is serious. Being the Innovation Facilitator for the Government, the EMSD has sought to play a part in the anti-epidemic work to provide appropriate help through I&T..
The DEMS, Mr Alfred SIT, says that the situation of the COVID-19 is serious. Being the Innovation Facilitator for the Government, the EMSD has sought to play a part in the anti-epidemic work to provide appropriate help through I&T.
The Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) has launched an anti-epidemic thematic page on the E&M InnoPortal to identify suitable I&T solutions to help fight the virus..
The Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) has launched an anti-epidemic thematic page on the E&M InnoPortal to identify suitable I&T solutions to help fight the virus.
The co-founders of the technology company that has developed the mobile fever screening robot, Prof POON Ka-yeung, Larry (right), and Dr MAK Hin-yu, Mark (left), explain how the robot operates..
The co-founders of the technology company that has developed the mobile fever screening robot, Prof POON Ka-yeung, Larry (right), and Dr MAK Hin-yu, Mark (left), explain how the robot operates.
The project team of the technology company is installing and testing the mobile fever screening robot..
The project team of the technology company is installing and testing the mobile fever screening robot..
The project team of the technology company is installing and testing the mobile fever screening robot.
The Director of Research & Development of an I&T company, Dr Ivan SHAM, tells us that the nano-coating technology can be applied to the surfaces of different materials, including enamel products and air ducts. It can help guard the surfaces from micro-organisms, dust and dirtiness..
The Director of Research & Development of an I&T company, Dr Ivan SHAM, tells us that the nano-coating technology can be applied to the surfaces of different materials, including enamel products and air ducts. It can help guard the surfaces from micro-organisms, dust and dirtiness.
On the left of the picture is a very dusty air duct without nano-coating, while on the right is one with nano-coating which effectively guards it from dust and micro-organisms..
On the left of the picture is a very dusty air duct without nano-coating, while on the right is one with nano-coating which effectively guards it from dust and micro-organisms.
The EMSD has installed Smart Fever Screening Systems at areas with higher people flow such as boundary control points, airports and the Central Government Offices to make it more efficient to curb the epidemic..
The EMSD has installed Smart Fever Screening Systems at areas with higher people flow such as boundary control points, airports and the Central Government Offices to make it more efficient to curb the epidemic..
The EMSD has installed Smart Fever Screening Systems at areas with higher people flow such as boundary control points, airports and the Central Government Offices to make it more efficient to curb the epidemic.

15 March, 2020

Back.

跳至內容

機電署與創科企業同心抗疫

機電工程署2018年設立「機電創科網上平台」(E&M InnoPortal),為政府部門、公營機構的服務需求,與本地初創企業的成品作出配對,並提供場地讓項目進行測試,以驗證成效。面對2019冠狀病毒病疫情的挑戰,機電署特別於平台建立抗疫主題專頁,聯繫創科企業,研發有助防疫及抗疫的新科技項目。今次,我邀請機電署署長薛永恒為大家介紹兩個創科方案,以了解署方如何聯合創科界,同心抗疫。

兩星期收逾百抗疫方案

2019冠狀病毒病疫情嚴峻,加強防疫及抗疫是目前最重要的工作。薛永恒署長說,機電署作為政府的創新促成者,亦希望能夠出一分力,尋求以創新科技來提供適切的幫助。

署方在其「機電創科網上平台」抗疫主題專頁上,發布了一系列與抗疫相關的創科方案需求,例如研發移動測溫機械人和移動室內消毒機械人,以代替人手操作;研發機械人將餐飲、藥物和文件派送給患者或正在隔離人士,從而減低人與人之間近距離接觸及感染風險;能自動消毒的物質/塗層等,並同時加緊聯絡機電署的創科策略伙伴,以物色合適的項目,結果在短短兩星期內收到逾百個相關方案。

體溫探測移動機械人

要防止疫情擴散,找出社區內潛在的染病者是一個很有效的方法,而「體溫探測移動機械人」正是機電署透過網上平台聯繫數碼港的公司後,由一家本地科技公司研發出來的項目。

該科技公司聯合創始人潘嘉陽教授說,他和同事農曆年初一開始,利用15天的時間,趕製了一座結合人工智能、能提供自動檢測體溫功能的移動機械人,以代替人手操作。機械人配有靈活調動的設計,能按照地圖和不同環境所設定的路線行走,尤其適用於無固定出入閘或人群等候的地方。當檢測到體溫異常或較高的人士時,機械人會在屏幕顯示出紅色的影像,並發出警報,提醒管理人員採取跟進行動。

在多個政府部門進行測試

機電署在3月2日政府復工當日,讓機械人在機電署總部大樓主要入口進行測試。一連4天的試驗結果顯示,體溫監測運作效果令人滿意。由於機械人兼容Wi-Fi及4G通訊網路功能,故可在不同的環境下執行任務,大大減輕人手量度體溫的工作。機電署已先後安排同類機械人在政府部門進行測試,如懲教署、運輸署、康樂及文化事務署等,期望可以應用在各個政府場地,減輕前線人員的工作壓力。

抗微生物「納米塗層」技術

另外,機電署亦積極聯繫研發「納米塗層」技術的研究所,探討塗層在抗疫方面的可行應用。創科公司研究發展總監沈文龍博士介紹說,把抗微生物的技術加入納米材料,然後塗上如搪瓷製品上,有助防污,亦避免微生物停留,從而減少病毒傳播,減低雙手因接觸被污染的物件表面而染病的風險。「納米塗層」技術亦可用於風喉管內,透過把產生靜電的情況減至最低,減少塵埃和微生物在風喉管內積聚,令空氣更清新。目前,機電署正協助有關技術進行測試,期望在不久的將來可推出應用。

一起打贏這場抗疫戰

為了防疫抗疫,機電署的同事一直謹守崗位,提供專業的服務。除了確保各政府場地及醫院的機電設施正常運作外,機電署更為人流較多的地方,例如邊境口岸、政府總部及其他政府大樓,安裝固定式的智能發燒偵測系統,增強檢測體溫功能,提升防疫測溫的效率。我期待機電署聯同創科界研發的新科技產品,可以盡快推出應用,發揮防疫抗疫的功效,一起打贏這場抗疫戰。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
發展局局長黃偉綸(左一)聽取創科公司代表介紹其研發的「體溫探測移動機械人」。旁為機電署署長薛永恒(左二)。.
發展局局長黃偉綸(左一)聽取創科公司代表介紹其研發的「體溫探測移動機械人」。旁為機電署署長薛永恒(左二)。
機電署署長薛永恒說,2019冠狀病毒病疫情嚴峻,機電署作為政府的創新促成者,積極尋求以創新科技來提供適切的幫助,希望為防疫抗疫出一分力。.
機電署署長薛永恒說,2019冠狀病毒病疫情嚴峻,機電署作為政府的創新促成者,積極尋求以創新科技來提供適切的幫助,希望為防疫抗疫出一分力。
機電署在其「機電創科網上平台」(E&M InnoPortal)建立抗疫主題專頁,以便物色合適的創科方案協助抗疫。.
機電署在其「機電創科網上平台」(E&M InnoPortal)建立抗疫主題專頁,以便物色合適的創科方案協助抗疫。
研發「體溫探測移動機械人」的科技公司聯合創始人潘嘉陽教授(右)和麥騫譽博士(左),講解機械人的運作模式。.
研發「體溫探測移動機械人」的科技公司聯合創始人潘嘉陽教授(右)和麥騫譽博士(左),講解機械人的運作模式。
科技公司的團隊正在安裝和測試「體溫探測移動機械人」。.
科技公司的團隊正在安裝和測試「體溫探測移動機械人」。.
科技公司的團隊正在安裝和測試「體溫探測移動機械人」。
創科公司研究發展總監沈文龍博士介紹說,「納米塗層」技術可用於不同物料上,包括搪瓷製品和風喉管,有助抗微生物、防塵、防污等。.
創科公司研究發展總監沈文龍博士介紹說,「納米塗層」技術可用於不同物料上,包括搪瓷製品和風喉管,有助抗微生物、防塵、防污等。
圖左為沒有塗上「納米塗層」的風喉管,滿佈塵埃,而圖右的風喉管塗上塗層後,有效防塵和抗微生物。.
圖左為沒有塗上「納米塗層」的風喉管,滿佈塵埃,而圖右的風喉管塗上塗層後,有效防塵和抗微生物。
機電署在人流較多的地方,例如邊境口岸、機場、政府總部大樓等,安裝智能發燒偵測系統,以提升防疫測溫的效率。.
機電署在人流較多的地方,例如邊境口岸、機場、政府總部大樓等,安裝智能發燒偵測系統,以提升防疫測溫的效率。.
機電署在人流較多的地方,例如邊境口岸、機場、政府總部大樓等,安裝智能發燒偵測系統,以提升防疫測溫的效率。

2020年3月15日

返回.