Jump to the beginning of content

Stargazing facility in Sai Wan, Sai Kung

Sai Kung has always been a hot spot for the public to stargaze. Upon request from the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD), the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD) has constructed a stargazing facility on an abandoned campsite located between Sai Wan and Ham Tin Wan in Sai Kung for visitors to enjoy stargazing by lying down leisurely and comfortably. This time, I have invited two colleagues from the ArchSD to introduce the architectural design and features of the facility to facilitate our understanding of the design concepts of the project team.

Reconstructed from a campsite

The stargazing facility is situated on a small knoll. Walking along the MacLehose Trail Section 2 from Sai Wan Beach uphill for about 10 minutes, you will see the “Sai Wan Stargazing Site” sign. The newly constructed stargazing facility is a curved ring-form bench composed of glass reinforced resin panels, which are hard, durable and suitable for outdoor use. The bench, which is built with great respect for the surrounding tree line, beautifully blends the streamlined design into nature. Architect of the ArchSD, Mr LO Yee-cheung, Adrian, says the location was originally an abandoned campsite with a piece of spacious flat land. The reconstruction works did not involve tree felling, which minimised ecological and visual impacts.

The bench with ergonomic design

Adrian shares that the AFCD, Hong Kong Space Museum and ArchSD joined hands to explore the design of the stargazing facility and the construction commenced in October 2018. The most prominent feature of the project is the curved ring-form bench which allows 360-degree stargazing. People can view the starry sky no matter where they sit. The bench is ergonomically-designed so that people can enjoy stargazing by sitting in the most comfortable position at 135 degrees, which is more comfortable than lying on the ground. With its light timber colour as well as reflective coating on its top and bottom tips, the bench enables visitors to see it clearly even without artificial illumination so as to ensure safety.

Adopting green and environmentally-friendly design

Moreover, the central part of the stargazing facility is a hard-paved flat area for stargazers to set up their tripods and telescopes. Metal coordinate indicators are embedded in the ground to facilitate visitors to orient themselves and to appreciate the starry sky in different directions. Meanwhile, the project has adopted green and environmentally-friendly design to conserve the natural environment of the countryside. For example, pebbles are placed under the back of the bench to facilitate natural drainage without the need to lay any drains, and grasses fit for wild cows’ consumption are grown without the need to carry out grass cutting work manually or mechanically; as a result, symbiosis of human, nature and architecture can be achieved.

Modular construction for easy transportation and repairs

As the stargazing facility is located at the knoll ridge above Sai Wan Beach, it is not possible for works vehicles to get to the construction site directly. So, how did the project team overcome the geographical challenge? According to Project Manager of the ArchSD, Mr TONG Kwok-wai, Anthony, the curved ring-form bench has been built using prefabricated components made in factories. These components were transported to the construction site by helicopters for assembly. Because the components were mainly put together in factories, which could be done even on rainy days, the works could be completed rather quickly. As a result, it took the team only three months to complete the main part of the works. Besides, as the bench has been built using modular construction, individual panels can be removed and replaced with new ones when necessary.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
Architect of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), Mr LO Yee-cheung, Adrian, says the most prominent feature of the project is the curved ring-form bench which allows 360-degree stargazing. It means people can view the starry sky no matter which portion they sit on..
Architect of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), Mr LO Yee-cheung, Adrian, says the most prominent feature of the project is the curved ring-form bench which allows 360-degree stargazing. It means people can view the starry sky no matter which portion they sit on..
Architect of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), Mr LO Yee-cheung, Adrian, says the most prominent feature of the project is the curved ring-form bench which allows 360-degree stargazing. It means people can view the starry sky no matter which portion they sit on.
According to Project Manager of the ArchSD, Mr TONG Kwok-wai, Anthony, the curved ring-form bench has been built using prefabricated components made in factories. Because the components were mainly put together in factories, which could be done even on rainy days, the works could be completed rather quickly..
According to Project Manager of the ArchSD, Mr TONG Kwok-wai, Anthony, the curved ring-form bench has been built using prefabricated components made in factories. Because the components were mainly put together in factories, which could be done even on rainy days, the works could be completed rather quickly..
According to Project Manager of the ArchSD, Mr TONG Kwok-wai, Anthony, the curved ring-form bench has been built using prefabricated components made in factories. Because the components were mainly put together in factories, which could be done even on rainy days, the works could be completed rather quickly.
The bench, which is built with great respect for the surrounding tree line, beautifully blends the streamlined design into nature..
The bench, which is built with great respect for the surrounding tree line, beautifully blends the streamlined design into nature.
The stargazing facility has adopted environmentally-friendly features, for example, pebbles are placed under the back of the bench to facilitate natural drainage without the need to lay any drains..
The stargazing facility has adopted environmentally-friendly features, for example, pebbles are placed under the back of the bench to facilitate natural drainage without the need to lay any drains.
Grasses fit for wild cows’ consumption are grown at the stargazing facility without the need to carry out grass cutting work manually or mechanically; as a result, symbiosis of human, nature and architecture can be achieved..
Grasses fit for wild cows’ consumption are grown at the stargazing facility without the need to carry out grass cutting work manually or mechanically; as a result, symbiosis of human, nature and architecture can be achieved.
The central part of the facility is a hard-paved flat area for stargazers to set up their tripods and telescopes. Metal coordinate indicators are also embedded in the ground to facilitate visitors to appreciate the starry sky in different directions..
The central part of the facility is a hard-paved flat area for stargazers to set up their tripods and telescopes. Metal coordinate indicators are also embedded in the ground to facilitate visitors to appreciate the starry sky in different directions.
As the bench has been built using modular construction, individual panels can be removed and replaced with new ones when necessary..
As the bench has been built using modular construction, individual panels can be removed and replaced with new ones when necessary.

1 December, 2019

Back.

跳至內容

西貢西灣觀星設施

西貢一直是市民的觀星熱點,建築署早前按漁農自然護理署的要求,在西貢西灣與鹹田灣之間已廢棄的營地上承建觀星設施,供遊人舒適悠閒地躺下觀星。今次,我邀請了兩位建築署的同事,介紹觀星設施的建築設計及特色,讓大家了解工程團隊背後的心思。

露營地點改建

觀星設施位於一個小山丘上,從西灣沙灘沿麥理浩徑二段步行上山,約十分鐘便會看到「西灣觀星地點」的路牌。新建觀星設施是一座由玻璃纖維強化樹脂板組成的環形座椅,強化樹脂板堅固耐用,適合在露天位置使用;座椅更按四周樹線形態建造,流線形的設計,融入大自然當中,十分美觀。建築署建築師盧宜璋說,該處原為一個舊營地,本身是一塊寬敞的平地,改建工程沒有砍伐樹木,把對生態和景觀影響減至最輕微。

座椅人體工學設計

盧宜璋介紹說,觀星設施的設計,由漁護署、太空館和建築署共同研究,工程2018年10月展開。項目最大的特色是環形座椅。環狀的設計能做到360度觀星角度,即是無論坐在哪個位置,都能看到星空。座椅形態則根據人體工學設計,讓人以最舒適的135度坐姿仰望星空,較躺在地上觀星更為舒適。座椅則採用淺色系,頂部和底部都加上反光物,令遊人在沒有照明的情況下也能清楚看到座椅的位置,保障安全。

採用綠化環保設計

另外,觀星設施的中央部分是一個硬鋪平面,讓觀星人士放置腳架和望遠鏡,地面嵌入鋼製座標,方便使用者辨別方向,欣賞不同方位的星空。同時,為了保持郊外的自然環境,項目採用綠化和環保的設計,例如在椅背下放置卵石幫助天然排水,避免鋪設任何地渠,以及栽種適合野牛進食的草,毋須以人手或機器進行剪草工作等,達到人、大自然和建築共生。

「模塊法」方便搬運及維修

觀星設施位於西灣沙灘上方山脊,工程車無法直達施工地點,工程團隊如何克服地理上的挑戰?建築署工程策劃經理唐國威說,環形座椅採用廠房預製組件方式建造,一塊塊組件由直升機吊運至工地裝嵌。由於組裝過程主要在廠房進行,不受天雨影響,施工速度較快,工程的主要部分只需3個月便完成。另外,由於座椅是用「模塊法」製成,有需要更換時,只需把個別組件拆下重新裝嵌便成。

觀星設施今年3月正式開放,可容納約30人同時使用。該項目今年更榮獲日本的「優良設計獎(Good Design Award)」及意大利「A'國際設計大獎賽」金獎兩項國際殊榮。我特別感謝建築團隊在設計和施工期間所花的心思,為市民提供一個安全及舒適的地點進行觀星活動,還努力令設施融入大自然。時值秋高氣爽,是遠足露營的好日子,大家不妨邀請朋友,一起前往這個新觀星好地方!

 
請按上圖觀看影片
建築署建築師盧宜璋說,項目的最大特色是環形座椅,能做到360度觀星角度,即無論坐在哪個位置,都能看到星空。.
建築署建築師盧宜璋說,項目的最大特色是環形座椅,能做到360度觀星角度,即無論坐在哪個位置,都能看到星空。.
建築署建築師盧宜璋說,項目的最大特色是環形座椅,能做到360度觀星角度,即無論坐在哪個位置,都能看到星空。
建築署工程策劃經理唐國威說,環形座椅採用廠房預製組件方式製造,由於組裝過程主要在廠房進行,不受天雨影響,施工速度較快。.
建築署工程策劃經理唐國威說,環形座椅採用廠房預製組件方式製造,由於組裝過程主要在廠房進行,不受天雨影響,施工速度較快。.
建築署工程策劃經理唐國威說,環形座椅採用廠房預製組件方式製造,由於組裝過程主要在廠房進行,不受天雨影響,施工速度較快。
座椅按四周樹線形態建造,流線形的設計,融入大自然當中,十分美觀。.
座椅按四周樹線形態建造,流線形的設計,融入大自然當中,十分美觀。
觀星設施採用環保設計,例如在椅背下放置卵石幫助天然排水,避免鋪設任何地渠。.
觀星設施採用環保設計,例如在椅背下放置卵石幫助天然排水,避免鋪設任何地渠。
觀星設施栽種適合野牛進食的草,毋須以人手或機器進行剪草工作,達到人、大自然和建築共生。.
觀星設施栽種適合野牛進食的草,毋須以人手或機器進行剪草工作,達到人、大自然和建築共生。
設施的中央部分是一個硬鋪平面,讓觀星人士放置腳架和望遠鏡;地面亦嵌入鋼製座標,方便使用者辨別方向,欣賞不同方位的星空。.
設施的中央部分是一個硬鋪平面,讓觀星人士放置腳架和望遠鏡;地面亦嵌入鋼製座標,方便使用者辨別方向,欣賞不同方位的星空。
由於座椅是用「模塊法」製成,有損毀時,只需把個別組件拆下重新裝嵌便成。.
由於座椅是用「模塊法」製成,有損毀時,只需把個別組件拆下重新裝嵌便成。

2019年12月1日

返回.