Jump to the beginning of content

Promoting sustainable building design–Trade and Industry Tower in Kai Tak

To meet the keen demands of the community and the need to protect our environment, we require not only comprehensive town planning but also good building design.  Over the years, the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD) has actively promoted sustainable building design and incorporated low-carbon design elements into works projects, so as to ensure that the impact on the environment and the people is taken into account in planning every detail of a building.  For two weeks in a row, I will take you to visit building projects undertaken by the ArchSD.  The first stop is the Trade and Industry Tower (TI Tower) in the Kai Tak Development (KTD).  I will introduce to you its design features and functions aimed to save energy, reduce emissions and enhance environmental performance. 

The TI Tower consists of an office tower and the Kai Tak Community Hall.  With a net opeartional floor area of about 33 000 square metres, the 22-storey office tower and its basement accommodate nine government departments and bureaux.  In keeping with the “Green City” sustainable development concept of the KTD, the TI Tower puts special emphasis on greening and energy conservation features.  These, together with the use of renewable energy technologies, make the total electricity consumption of the TI Tower approximately 36% less than that of a normal office building.  In addition, the TI Tower has attained the Platinum rating, the highest in two green certifications, namely the Building Environmental Assessment Method (BEAM) Plus certification for New Buildings of Hong Kong and the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating System of the United States.  The results are very encouraging. 

Attention to detail in planning and design

Accompanied by the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs LAM YU Ka-wai, Sylvia, I was briefed by colleagues of the ArchSD on the design features, environmental-friendly and energy-saving facilities, and layout of the walkways of the TI Tower.  I feel that the design team has indeed paid a lot of attention to detail behind the scenes.  Mrs Sylvia LAM said that the planning of the KTD had adopted a people-oriented approach with good connectivity, enhanced sustainable development and incorporation of green features as key elements.  As the TI Tower is the first government building project in the area, it is an exemplar for other building projects to come.

Featuring an extensive range of greenery, the project has a total green coverage of over 40 percent, higher than the requirement of 30 percent for the KTD.  The TI Tower adopts a vertical greening design on the facades, forming the distinctive architectural feature of a “green ribbon” from the low floors all the way up to the roof.  Lush vegetation is also planted at grade, on elevated walkways and the roof, creating a pleasant landscape.

Reducing energy consumption and protecting the environment

Speaking of sustainable building, many would think of more greenery or installation of photovoltaic panels. In fact, it involves a wide range of design features and technologies.  Take the TI Tower as an example.  For environmental-friendly and energy-saving measures, it uses low-emissivity insulating glass units and sunshades on the curtain wall, which can keep out heat and reduce electricity consumption for air-conditioning at the same time.  In addition, offices in the TI Tower are equipped with occupancy sensors and daylight sensors that can adjust the lighting when there is sufficient daylight and thus help save electricity and energy.

I was also briefed by colleagues on the use of various renewable energy technologies, such as the operation concepts of photovoltaic systems, sun pipes, solar tracking optic fibre light pipes and solar chimneys.  In addition, the TI Tower utilises the district cooling system in the KTD for air-conditioning, fully demonstrating that green concepts are embraced throughout the project.

Daylight sun-tubes collecting sunlight

Among other features, 27 sets of sun pipes are installed in different locations of the TI Tower to collect natural sunlight, which will be reflected, transmitted and brought into the TI Tower to reduce electricity consumption for lighting.  The community hall we visited that day has 12 sun pipes installed on its roof.  To cater for different kinds of activities held inside the hall, the design team has especially added devices which can adjust the amount of daylight to the sun pipes to suit activities that required to be conducted in dim light.

Six sets of solar tracking optic fibre light pipes are also installed on the green roof of the community hall.  Their outdoor light collectors can automatically trace the movement of the sun during the daytime and collect sunlight for transmission into the building through the quartz optic fibre light pipes, so as to provide lighting for the dressing rooms and toilets of the community hall and help save energy for lighting.

The solar chimneys installed in the foyer of the community hall work on the principle of stack effect.  When the hot air in the chimneys rises, stack effect creates natural wind within the foyer to reduce energy consumption.  Other green features include the automatic refuse collection system, rainwater harvesting system and automatic rainwater recycling drip irrigation system.

Emphasis on connectivity with the surrounding areas

In addition, the layout and design of the TI Tower put great emphasis on connectivity with the surrounding areas.  An array of walkways and footbridges run through different locations to enhance accessibility.  For instance, the footbridges across Prince Edward Road East provide convenience for people to travel to and from San Po Kong; and the east-facing facade of the TI Tower has already made room for link bridge to connect to the future Inland Revenue (IR) Tower and other areas.  I learned that the contract of the new IR Tower had already commenced on 18 August.  This new tower, together with other projects that launch gradually, will let Kai Tak take on an entirely new look.

Next week, I will continue to take you to visit another project in the KTD to learn how the ArchSD upholds the concept of sustainable building design and maintains close communication with stakeholders to construct a one-of-a-kind, people-oriented building for the community.

 
Please click on the image above to watch the video.
The Director of Architectural Services, Mrs LAM YU Ka-wai, Sylvia (right), briefs the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, on the various environmental-friendly and energy-saving design features adopted by the Trade and Industry Tower (TI Tower) to keep in line with the “Green City” sustainable development concept of the Kai Tak Development (KTD)..
The Director of Architectural Services, Mrs LAM YU Ka-wai, Sylvia (right), briefs the Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr WONG Wai-lun, Michael, on the various environmental-friendly and energy-saving design features adopted by the Trade and Industry Tower (TI Tower) to keep in line with the “Green City” sustainable development concept of the Kai Tak Development (KTD).
The TI Tower is the first government office building completed in the KTD with its overall design aimed for energy conservation and higher greening ratio..
The TI Tower is the first government office building completed in the KTD with its overall design aimed for energy conservation and higher greening ratio..
The TI Tower is the first government office building completed in the KTD with its overall design aimed for energy conservation and higher greening ratio.
Project Director of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), Mr WONG Tak-choi, Frank (right), briefs the SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (centre), on the layout of the walkways outside the TI Tower.  The planning and design of the TI Tower aim to provide an array of walkways and footbridges that run through different locations to enhance connectivity..
Project Director of the Architectural Services Department (ArchSD), Mr WONG Tak-choi, Frank (right), briefs the SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (centre), on the layout of the walkways outside the TI Tower. The planning and design of the TI Tower aim to provide an array of walkways and footbridges that run through different locations to enhance connectivity.
Senior Project Manager of the ArchSD, Ms FUNG Chi-shan, Athena (right), says that the TI Tower uses low-emissivity insulating glass units on the curtain wall, which can reduce heat gain and electricity consumption for air-conditioning..
Senior Project Manager of the ArchSD, Ms FUNG Chi-shan, Athena (right), says that the TI Tower uses low-emissivity insulating glass units on the curtain wall, which can reduce heat gain and electricity consumption for air-conditioning.
The TI Tower adopts a vertical greening design on the facades, forming a “green ribbon” from the low floors all the way up to the roof..
The TI Tower adopts a vertical greening design on the facades, forming a “green ribbon” from the low floors all the way up to the roof.
The community hall of the TI Tower utilises a number of environmental features, including the sun pipes (pictured here) to bring daylight into the interior..
The community hall of the TI Tower utilises a number of environmental features, including the sun pipes (pictured here) to bring daylight into the interior..
The community hall of the TI Tower utilises a number of environmental features, including the sun pipes (pictured here) to bring daylight into the interior..
The community hall of the TI Tower utilises a number of environmental features, including the sun pipes (pictured here) to bring daylight into the interior.
The solar chimney system installed in the foyer of the community hall facilitates natural ventilation..
The solar chimney system installed in the foyer of the community hall facilitates natural ventilation.
The automatic refuse collection system installed in TI Tower facilitates the separation and collection of general waste and recyclable paper waste.  The wastes are transported via the vertical refuse chute inside the refuse collection room on each floor to the refuse collection station in the basement for integrated collection and removal, so that they can be collected more efficiently..
The automatic refuse collection system installed in TI Tower facilitates the separation and collection of general waste and recyclable paper waste.  The wastes are transported via the vertical refuse chute inside the refuse collection room on each floor to the refuse collection station in the basement for integrated collection and removal, so that they can be collected more efficiently..
The automatic refuse collection system installed in TI Tower facilitates the separation and collection of general waste and recyclable paper waste. The wastes are transported via the vertical refuse chute inside the refuse collection room on each floor to the refuse collection station in the basement for integrated collection and removal, so that they can be collected more efficiently.
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (fourth left), and the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM (fourth right), pose with the design team of the TI Tower project to show support for the ArchSD’s work on promoting sustainable building design..
The SDEV, Mr Michael WONG (fourth left), and the Director of Architectural Services, Mrs Sylvia LAM (fourth right), pose with the design team of the TI Tower project to show support for the ArchSD’s work on promoting sustainable building design.

26 August, 2018

Back.

跳至內容

啟德工貿大樓 推動可持續發展建築設計

有完善的城市規劃,也要有良好的建築設計,才能滿足社區和保護環境的殷切需求。建築署多年來積極推動可持續發展建築設計,在工程項目注入低碳的元素,務求在策劃建築物的每一項細節上,都關注對環境及人的影響。我會一連兩個星期帶大家參觀建築署負責的項目,首站是位於啟德發展區的工業貿易大樓(工貿大樓),了解其設計特色和功能,如何節能減排,體現理想的環保效能。

工貿大樓項目由一座辦公大樓和一所啓德社區會堂組成。辦公大樓高22層,另設一層地庫,淨實用樓面面積約33,000平方米,共容納九個政府部門及政策局。秉承啟德發展區可持續發展的理念,大樓特別善用綠化和節能裝備,再配合再生能源技術,總用電量較一般商廈少約36%,並獲得香港「綠建環評新建建築」(BEAM Plus)及美國「能源和環境設計領先認證計劃」(LEED)兩項綠色認證評定為最高Platinum的級別,成績令人鼓舞。

規劃設計顯心思

我在署長林余家慧陪同下,聽取建築署同事講解大樓的設計特色、環保節能設施、行人通道布局等,令我感受到設計團隊背後,的確花了不少心思。林余家慧表示,啟德發展區的規劃概念是以人為本、貫通連繫、強化可持續發展,並盡量引入綠色元素,由於工貿大樓是該區首個政府大樓項目,故具有標誌性的示範作用。

整項工程加入了大量綠化元素,整體綠化覆蓋率超過四成,高於啟德發展區要求的三成。大樓外牆採納了垂直綠化設計,由低層一直延伸至樓頂,形成一條「綠色絲帶」,成為建築特色之一。地面、高架行人走廊和天台亦大量栽種茂綠植物,創造宜人園境。

減低能源耗用 處處環保

談到可持續建築,不少人會聯想到增加綠化或加設太陽能板,但其實所涉及的設計特色及技術十分廣泛。以工貿大樓為例,在環保節能措施方面,大樓外牆採用低透射度的中空雙層隔熱玻璃及遮陽裝置,除了隔熱,亦可減少冷氣耗電量;辦公室內設有用戶和日光感應器,在足夠光線下調節照明設備,有助慳電節能。

同事還向我講解了各項再生能源技術的使用,如太陽能光伏系統、日光管道、光纖太陽能追蹤導光管、太陽能煙囪等的運作原理,加上大樓使用啟德發展區的區域供冷系統作空調之用,可見項目處處引入環保概念。

日光管道 採集日光

其中,大樓裝設的27組日光管道,遍布不同位置。通過採集日光,把自然光反射、傳送及引入大樓內,以減低照明所需的耗電量。當日我們參觀的社區會堂,其天台便裝設了12個日光管道。為配合會堂內舉行不同類型的活動,設計團隊特別在日光管道加設遮光設施,方便遮擋日光,配合需要較暗環境下舉行的活動。

社區會堂的綠化天台亦設有6組光纖太陽能追蹤導光管,其室外集光器可自動追蹤日間太陽的方向,集中採集日光,再經石英光纖導光管引入室內,為社區會堂化妝間及洗手間提供照明,有助節省用於照明的能源。

設於社區會堂大堂的太陽能煙囪,則是應用空氣對流的原理。當煙囪的熱空氣上升,靠風的對流,為大堂製造自然風,從而減低能源的消耗。其他環保設施還包括:自動廢物回收系統、雨水回收及儲存系統、滴水灌溉系統等。

着重與周邊連繫

另外,工貿大樓的規劃設計,十分着重與周邊地方的連繫。一系列的行人通道和天橋,貫穿不同位置,目的是提升暢達度。舉例說,橫跨太子道東的行人天橋,可方便市民往返新蒲崗;而工貿大樓東面外牆,亦已預留連接橋的位置,方便將來接駁新稅務大樓等地方。我知道新的稅務大樓剛剛於本月18日動工,連同其他陸續開展的工程,預計啟德將會有另一番新景象。

下星期,我會繼續帶大家參觀另一個啟德發展區的項目,了解建築署如何秉持可持續建築設計理念,並與持份者緊密溝通,為社區興建一所獨一無二、以人為本的建築物。

 
請按上圖觀看影片
建築署署長林余家慧(右)向黃偉綸局長(左)介紹說,工業貿易大樓採用了多項環保節能設計,配合啟德發展區可持續發展的理念。.
建築署署長林余家慧(右)向黃偉綸局長(左)介紹說,工業貿易大樓採用了多項環保節能設計,配合啟德發展區可持續發展的理念。
工貿大樓是啟德發展區內首座落成的政府辦公大樓,整體設計以節能和綠化為主。.
工貿大樓是啟德發展區內首座落成的政府辦公大樓,整體設計以節能和綠化為主。.
工貿大樓是啟德發展區內首座落成的政府辦公大樓,整體設計以節能和綠化為主。
建築署工程策劃總監黃德才(右)向黃偉綸局長(中)介紹大樓外行人通道的布局。工貿大樓的規劃設計,透過一系列行人通道和天橋,貫穿不同位置,目的是提升暢達度。.
建築署工程策劃總監黃德才(右)向黃偉綸局長(中)介紹大樓外行人通道的布局。工貿大樓的規劃設計,透過一系列行人通道和天橋,貫穿不同位置,目的是提升暢達度。
建築署高級工程策劃經理馮紫珊(右)表示,大樓外牆選用中空雙層隔熱玻璃,有效阻隔熱力,減少冷氣耗電量。.
建築署高級工程策劃經理馮紫珊(右)表示,大樓外牆選用中空雙層隔熱玻璃,有效阻隔熱力,減少冷氣耗電量。
大樓外牆採納垂直綠化設計,由低層伸延到天台,連成一條「綠色絲帶」。.
大樓外牆採納垂直綠化設計,由低層伸延到天台,連成一條「綠色絲帶」。
工貿大樓的社區會堂採用多項環保裝置,包括圖中的日光管道,將日光引入室內。.
工貿大樓的社區會堂採用多項環保裝置,包括圖中的日光管道,將日光引入室內。.
工貿大樓的社區會堂採用多項環保裝置,包括圖中的日光管道,將日光引入室內。.
工貿大樓的社區會堂採用多項環保裝置,包括圖中的日光管道,將日光引入室內。
設於社區會堂大堂的太陽能煙囪系統,可營造天然通風效果。.
設於社區會堂大堂的太陽能煙囪系統,可營造天然通風效果。
大樓內設有自動廢物回收系統,將普通垃圾和可再造紙張分類處理,再經由密封式垃圾輸送管道,直接送至地庫廢物收集處整合及運走,使廢物收集更有效率。.
大樓內設有自動廢物回收系統,將普通垃圾和可再造紙張分類處理,再經由密封式垃圾輸送管道,直接送至地庫廢物收集處整合及運走,使廢物收集更有效率。.
大樓內設有自動廢物回收系統,將普通垃圾和可再造紙張分類處理,再經由密封式垃圾輸送管道,直接送至地庫廢物收集處整合及運走,使廢物收集更有效率。
黃偉綸局長(左四)、建築署署長林余家慧(右四)和工貿大樓項目的設計團隊,為建築署致力推廣可持續發展建築設計的努力打氣。.
黃偉綸局長(左四)、建築署署長林余家慧(右四)和工貿大樓項目的設計團隊,為建築署致力推廣可持續發展建築設計的努力打氣。

2018年8月26日

返回.