Jump to the beginning of content

Geological survey essential for urban development

For every infrastructural project, no matter it is site formation, tunneling or other construction works, comprehensive, professional assessment is essential prior to the commencement of the works. Our colleagues in the Geotechnical Engineering Office (GEO) of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), who are responsible for a wide range of geotechnical-related activities to ensure safe and economic development and use of land in Hong Kong, are those unsung heroes who play an important role in promoting growth of this city. The Hong Kong Geological Survey Section, under the GEO, was established in 1982 to undertake detailed geological survey, compile geological maps of Hong Kong and offer authoritative geological advices to the Government, the engineering sector and the general public. Now I would like to introduce the work of this important unit.

The work of the CEDD is closely related to town planning and land and infrastructure development, which require geological survey and site investigation. Besides offering geological advices on various works departments at different stages of development projects, our colleagues in GEO also provide professional support on natural terrain hazard studies as well as developing of caverns and tunnel excavation works. The series of geological maps of Hong Kong, which provide useful information for town planning, exploring of geological resources, and prevention and control of geological hazards, are the achievement of years of their hard work.

A supervolcano in Hong Kong?

Do you know there was once a supervolcano in Hong Kong? The discovery of the ancient High Island Supervolcano in southeastern Hong Kong in 2012 was an example showcasing the high-quality research being conducted by the Hong Kong Geological Survey over the years. The supervolcano has long been extinct since it last erupted 140 million years ago. Due to weathering and erosion, most of the volcanic rocks have been removed and only a remnant remains and forms the fascinating landscape of hexagonal rock columns now expose in the Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark in Sai Kung. The discovery is the result of years of geological studies by the CEDD and has involved detailed radiometric age-dating of rocks, geochemical and geophysical analyses, as well as geological mapping. Such geological research has enriched our understanding of local geology and also laid out a foundation for assessing engineering geological conditions and slope stability, etc. There are about 50 supervolcanoes on record in the world and the High Island Supervolcano is one of them.

Geological conditions critical to construction projects

There are many uncertainties in every construction project, and geological conditions of the site may be one of those. The Hong Kong Geological Survey has played an important role in many construction projects. Dr Denise TANG, a senior geotechnical engineer of the CEDD, who has worked in the field of geology for many years, said some government consultants responsible for public works will seek geological information of the proposed site (such as underlying rock types and geological structures) for tunneling and foundation projects, in order to learn if the geological conditions are suitable for excavation and piling. Government departments will also seek professional geological advice from the CEDD on study reports conducted by their consultants to ensure that the works can be proceeded smoothly.

Apart from geological surveying, the Hong Kong Geological Survey is also responsible for collecting and archiving geological information. I learnt that our colleagues would take every chance to visit remote places to collect rock specimens, offshore areas in particular. Recently, Denise and her colleagues visited the drilling site at the third runway system project at the airport to collect core samples. She said, compared with samples from the surface, it is more difficult to retrieve rock samples in offshore areas, so they would take every chance to get the samples. After collecting the rocks, they would classify and describe the rock samples, analyze the composition or even carry out laboratory testing. The rocks they collected have become an important source of information for future geological study of that area.

Developing rock caverns to provide usable space

Hong Kong’s comprehensive study on geology, meanwhile, contributes to locating suitable lands for development. The Government has been striving to release land resources through a number of options, including rock cavern development (RCD). Last year, the CEDD completed Cavern Master Plans. After considering the geology and other factors, the CEDD have identified 48 Strategic Cavern Areas (SCVAs). I agreed with Denise that Hong Kong is extremely suitable for developing rock caverns because Hong Kong is underlain by relatively strong and stable granite and volcanic rocks. Moreover, in light of the increasing urban development close to hillsides with comprehensive ancillary facilities, the use of rock caverns can be one of the innovative measures to expand Hong Kong’s land resources.

In fact, the CEDD and the Planning Department have long commenced the pilot study on cavern development, including relocating the sewage treatment plants in Shatin, Sai Kung and Sham Tseng as well as Diamond Hill Fresh Water and Salt Water Service Reservoirs into cavern. The above rock cavern projects could release a total of about dozens hectors of land for development. However, cavern development requires a relatively long time and includes comprehensive assessment and consultation during the process to ensure that it would pose no significant impact on nearby ecological environment and local residents' daily living.

Besides, underground space is a hidden land resource. If we can use it systematically, it can bring new opportunities to meet various needs of social and commercial facilities as well as to address various issues including traffic, environmental, etc. We are now studying on the potential for underground space developments, but it involves many considerations including geotechnical and structural constraints, and interfaces with existing underground uses such as basements, fire safety, and the possible uses for the potential underground spaces, etc. All of them need to be duly assessed by our professional colleagues.

In face of land shortage, I hope the public and various shareholders will continue to offer valuable suggestions on land development, whether they are short-, medium- or long-term development. We will communicate and listen patiently to other’s ideas and be open minded with a view to removing blind spots. Our departments are willing to offer professional advice to you so as to draw on collective wisdom in making Hong Kong a livable city.

 

 

 

Please click on the image above to watch the video.
Colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey sometimes travel up and down hills to conduct geological survey in remote areas of Hong Kong..
Colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey sometimes travel up and down hills to conduct geological survey in remote areas of Hong Kong..
Colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey sometimes travel up and down hills to conduct geological survey in remote areas of Hong Kong.
During a field trip, colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey study and describe the rock types and their properties, carry out on-site geological and structural measurements, and record field observations in details. If necessary, they collect some rock samples for further laboratory testing and analysis.ey in remote areas of Hong Kong..
During a field trip, colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey study and describe the rock types and their properties, carry out on-site geological and structural measurements, and record field observations in details. If necessary, they collect some rock samples for further laboratory testing and analysis.ey in remote areas of Hong Kong..
During a field trip, colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey study and describe the rock types and their properties, carry out on-site geological and structural measurements, and record field observations in details. If necessary, they collect some rock samples for further laboratory testing and analysis.ey in remote areas of Hong Kong.
After a landside, colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey will carry out site inspections and conduct comprehensive mapping with detailed observations and measurements to describe the volume, the form and the soil/rock properties of the landslide site so as to investigate the reasons of the landslide..
After a landside, colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey will carry out site inspections and conduct comprehensive mapping with detailed observations and measurements to describe the volume, the form and the soil/rock properties of the landslide site so as to investigate the reasons of the landslide.
One of the main work of the Hong Kong Geological Survey, under the Civil Engineering and Development Department, is to collect and store rock specimens from different areas of Hong Kong..
One of the main work of the Hong Kong Geological Survey, under the Civil Engineering and Development Department, is to collect and store rock specimens from different areas of Hong Kong.
The rocks stored at the Hong Kong Geological Survey Rock Collections and Laboratory are important information for studying Hong Kong geology..
The rocks stored at the Hong Kong Geological Survey Rock Collections and Laboratory are important information for studying Hong Kong geology.
Apart from collecting rock specimens, the colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey also collect soil specimens to investigate the geological conditions affecting slope stability..
Apart from collecting rock specimens, the colleagues of Hong Kong Geological Survey also collect soil specimens to investigate the geological conditions affecting slope stability.
About 140 million years ago, volcanic activities occurred throughout Hong Kong, so Hong Kong comprises 75 percent of volcanic rocks and granitic rocks. The rock on the left side of the photo is a granite specimen in Hong Kong and the one on the right is a volcanic rock of young age collected abroad..
About 140 million years ago, volcanic activities occurred throughout Hong Kong, so Hong Kong comprises 75 percent of volcanic rocks and granitic rocks. The rock on the left side of the photo is a granite specimen in Hong Kong and the one on the right is a volcanic rock of young age collected abroad.

1 October, 2017

Back.

跳至內容

地質勘察 城市建設不可少

一塊土地的開發,一項基建的落成,一條隧道的挖掘,背後都要經過專業和全方位的研究評估才能展開。一群默默耕耘的幕後精英,肩負着建設和推動這個城市不斷進步的重要責任。土木工程拓展署轄下土力工程處的同事,專責各項岩土工程工作,使土地的運用和開發符合安全和經濟原則。該處轄下的香港地質調查組早於1982年成立,由同事進行詳細的地質調查以製作全港地質圖,為政府、工程界和市民提供本港地質的權威意見。接下來,我會為大家介紹這支隊伍的工作及其重要性。

土木工程拓展署的工作與香港的城市規劃、基礎建設、土地開發等息息相關,當中更牽涉專業的地質調查和勘探工作。土力工程處同事除了為不同工程部門提供專業地質顧問服務,協助他們處理在工程項目進行期間出現的岩土工程問題外,亦會就天然山坡風險研究、岩洞和隧道等工程提供地質意見。香港現有一系列的地質圖,都是他們數十年來上山下坡得來的成果,為香港城市規劃、探尋地質資源及防治地質災害等工作,提供有用的資料。

香港有座超級火山?

大家是否知道香港有座超級火山?香港地質調查組亦一直進行高質素的地質科研,例如於2012年在香港的東南部發現古代「糧船灣超級火山」。它最後一次爆發是在1.4億年前,之後已變成死火山,現時大部分火山岩已被風化和侵蝕,只剩下殘餘部份,並形成西貢地質公園內一種獨特的六角柱石地貌。這項發現是土木工程拓展署多年來地質研究積累的成果,當中涉及仔細的岩石放射性測齡、地球化學及地球物理分析,以及地質填圖等工作。這些地質科研加強我們對香港地質的了解,亦為評估工程地質條件和斜坡穩定性等建立基礎。目前全球已知有大約50座超級火山,「糧船灣超級火山」正是其中之一。

地質結構 影響工程

任何一項工程,都有很多不確定因素,地質調查組在工程中發揮着重要的角色。從事地質工作多年的土木工程拓展署高級土力工程師鄧麗君分享說,一些負責公務工程的顧問公司在展開隧道或地基工程前,都會向他們查詢有關地質結構,以便了解工地的地質條件是否適合挖掘或打樁。政府部門亦會就顧問所做的研究報告,再向該署尋求專業地質意見,確保工程順利進行。

地質調查組除了研究地質之外,另一個主要職能是蒐集和保存地質資料。我知悉同事一有機會便會專程前往一些未曾有過岩石樣本的地區收集樣本,特別是一些離岸地區。鄧麗君與同事最近便趁着機場就第三條跑道進行鑽探工程時,前往收集有關的岩芯樣本,她指出,相對地面而言,離岸地區是較難取得岩石樣本,因此絕不會放棄這些可以取得岩石樣本的珍貴機會。拿到岩芯後,除了作檔案分類,分析岩石的成分,有時亦會進一步作化學分析。蒐集得來的岩石,成為日後研究該地區地質的重要資料。

開發岩洞 釋放空間

香港詳盡的地質資料同時有助尋找適合發展的土地。政府一直努力通過各種方法釋放土地資源,包括探討開發地下岩洞。土木工程拓展署去年已完成岩洞總綱圖,考慮了地質因素及其他相關條件,鎖定本港48個策略性岩洞區選址。我認同鄧麗君所指,香港十分適合發展岩洞,原因是本港最主要的兩大類岩石,是比較堅固的花崗岩和火山岩,它們的岩性(軟硬程度、結構)比較穩定;加上本港的城市規劃發展多靠近山邊,山邊附近有較完善的配套設施,因此發展岩洞可說是本港目前開發土地的其中一項新嘗試。

其實,土木工程拓展署和規劃署早已就岩洞發展進行多個先導研究評估,包括把沙田、西貢、深井污水處理廠,以及鑽石山食水及海水配水庫遷入岩洞等,上述多個項目可騰出數十公頃的土地以供發展。不過,岩洞開發工作需時,過程需要全面的評估和諮詢,確保不會損害附近的生態環境和對當區居民的日常生活有太大影響。

另外,地下空間是隱藏的土地資源,若有系統地加以運用,可締造新的機遇,以應付各種社區及商業設施需求,以及緩解市區因地面空間不足所引致的交通、環境等問題。我們正研究發展地下空間的可能性,但當中涉及多項因素,包括土力、結構與現有地下設施(例如地庫)的連接、消防安全,以至開拓的地下空間可作的用途等,都需要專業同事作深入的探討。

面對土地資源短缺,我希望市民和不同持份者繼續就不同土地開發方案提供寶貴意見,不論是短、中、長期的規劃,我們都樂意耐心溝通、細心聆聽,嘗試多角度思考,務求突破盲點。我們各部門均樂意為大家提供專業的意見,為打造更宜居宜業的香港集思廣益。

 

 

請按上圖觀看影片
香港地質調查組同事有時需要攀山涉水,在香港一些偏遠地區進行野外地質調查。.
香港地質調查組同事有時需要攀山涉水,在香港一些偏遠地區進行野外地質調查。.
香港地質調查組同事有時需要攀山涉水,在香港一些偏遠地區進行野外地質調查。
在野外工作時,香港地質調查組同事會研究和描述岩石類型和性質,進行實地地質測量,並詳細記錄現場觀察,如有需要會收集岩石樣本作進一步實驗分析。.
在野外工作時,香港地質調查組同事會研究和描述岩石類型和性質,進行實地地質測量,並詳細記錄現場觀察,如有需要會收集岩石樣本作進一步實驗分析。.
在野外工作時,香港地質調查組同事會研究和描述岩石類型和性質,進行實地地質測量,並詳細記錄現場觀察,如有需要會收集岩石樣本作進一步實驗分析。
在山泥傾瀉發生後,香港地質調查組同事會進行詳細現場考察和測繪工作,以詳細描述滑坡的體積,形態和泥石的性質等,並調查山泥傾瀉的原因。.
在山泥傾瀉發生後,香港地質調查組同事會進行詳細現場考察和測繪工作,以詳細描述滑坡的體積,形態和泥石的性質等,並調查山泥傾瀉的原因。
土力工程處轄下的香港地質調查組其中一項主要工作,是蒐集和保存本港不同地方的岩石樣本。.
土力工程處轄下的香港地質調查組其中一項主要工作,是蒐集和保存本港不同地方的岩石樣本。
「香港地質調查岩石收藏及實驗室」內的岩石,是研究本港地質的重要資料。.
「香港地質調查岩石收藏及實驗室」內的岩石,是研究本港地質的重要資料。
香港地質調查組同事除了收集石塊樣本,也會收集泥土樣本,以調查影響斜坡穩定性的地質條件。.
香港地質調查組同事除了收集石塊樣本,也會收集泥土樣本,以調查影響斜坡穩定性的地質條件。
一億四千萬年前,香港遍佈火山,故本港七成五的岩石都是火山岩和花崗岩。圖左是本港的花崗岩樣本,右邊是從外地收集得來和較年輕的火山岩。.
一億四千萬年前,香港遍佈火山,故本港七成五的岩石都是火山岩和花崗岩。圖左是本港的花崗岩樣本,右邊是從外地收集得來和較年輕的火山岩。

2017年10月1日

返回.