Jump to the beginning of content

Improve public piers to make them more convenient for tourists and residents alike

During holidays, many people like to visit countryside to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Hong Kong is home to the world-famous Geopark, marine parks, historical heritage, eco-tourism attractions, etc. which are extremely popular among tourists.  However, many of these attractions are located in remote areas without road linkage and are only accessible by sea.  This year, the Government formulated the Pier Improvement Programme (PIP). The first phase covers about 10 public piers in the New Territories and on the outlying islands. We wish to enhance their structural safety and improve the existing facilities as soon as possible, facilitate the public to visit the attractions, and meet the basic operational needs of villagers and fishermen.

At present, there are more than 100 public piers in Hong Kong.  Although the Government has been carrying out regular inspection and maintenance to safeguard the structural safety of these piers, some of them need urgent improvement due to the inevitable ageing problems resulting from years of usage and exposure to the elements, or due to their inadequacy to meet the current operational needs.

Meet the needs of villagers and fishermen and enrich green tourism on the sea

Recently, the Under Secretary for Development (USDEV), Mr LIU Chun-san, has visited the Kau Sai Village Pier in Sai Kung. As there is only one primitive berth and the water is only about one-metre deep at low tide, which make it difficult for many boats to berth and cause inconvenience to villagers, fishermen, visitors and tourists, it is necessary to carry out improvement works.

Near the Kau Sai Village Pier is the historic Hung Shing Temple, a declared monument in Hong Kong. The restoration project of the temple was awarded an “Outstanding Project” in the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization Asia-Pacific Heritage 2000 Awards.  During the visit, the USDEV talked with the villagers and learned that more than 1,000 people, including the descendants of fishermen who have moved abroad, participate in the major festivities held during the Hung Shing Festival each year. Therefore, the pier has to cope with an extremely large number of passengers during the festival.

In addition, we believe that there is potential to develop green tourism at Kau Sai Village, which is located within the Sai Kung volcanic rock region of the Hong Kong Geopark. In recent years, there are also green tours on the sea connecting the various attractions near Kau Sai Village such as Sharp Island, Jin Island and High Island. We, therefore, have to expedite the pier improvement works so as to facilitate the public and tourists to visit the above attractions, learn more about the history and culture of Hong Kong and enjoy the spectacular natural scenery.

Enhance accessibility to remote attractions

Another pier improvement project proposed in the first phase is the Lai Chi Wo Pier in North District. Lai Chi Wo is located in the Hong Kong Geopark and the Yan Chau Tong Marine Park. At its heart is a 300-year-old Hakka walled village. Lai Chi Wo is now taking part in the Agricultural Land Rehabilitation Scheme, which aims to let tourists experience the culture of a Hakka walled village. Tourists may also visit the Lai Chi Wo Geoheritage Centre to learn about the city’s varied geological features and enjoy the beautiful scenery of Lai Chi Wo.

However, people who travel overland to Lai Chi Wo have to take a long hike over hilly terrain from Wu Kau Tang or Luk Keng. Although kaito ferry services are available in Lai Chi Wo, the existing pier has only one primitive berth with inadequate draft for berthing at low tide. Also, owing to the relatively narrow access at the pier, it is necessary to carry out improvement works.

Launch the first phase of the PIP

The Development Bureau has set up a Committee on Piers to scrutinise the existing public piers in remote areas, considering factors such as public safety, accessibility to nearby outing destinations and natural and heritage scenic attractions, local sentiment, pier utilisation and techical feasibility. It has preliminarily determined that the first phase of the PIP will focus on 10 public piers in the New Territories and on the outlying islands.

To commence the works as soon as possible, after consultation with the local community and the stakeholders in the middle of this year, we are now inviting tenders for engaging consultants to conduct technical studies on the proposed pier projects in the first phase by batches. Hopefully, the first phase of the PIP will be completed at an early date for the benefit of the public.

Pier projects in the first phase of the PIP:

Pier projects in the first phase

District

Lai Chi Wo Pier

North

Sham Chung Pier

Tai Po

Lai Chi Chong Pier

Tai Po

Tung Ping Chau Public Pier

Tai Po

Leung Shuen Wan Pier

Sai Kung

Kau Sai Village Pier

Sai Kung

Pak Kok Pier

Islands

Yung Shue Wan Pier

Islands

Yi O Pier

Islands

Ma Wan Shek Tsai Wan Pier

Tsuen Wan


Relevant information:

Travel magazine Lonely Planet in 2016 named Hong Kong the fifth-best spot (out of ten) to visit in Asia, highlighting the unique characteristics of Lai Chi Wo:
https://www.lonelyplanet.com/travel-tips-and-articles/best-in-asia-2016

Hung Shing Temple in Kau Sai Village
http://www.amo.gov.hk/b5/monuments_76.php

Boat tour of the Geopark
http://www.geopark.gov.hk/b5_s2b1.htm

 

 

This year, the Government formulated the Pier Improvement Programme (PIP). The first phase covers about 10 public piers in the New Territories and on the outlying islands..
This year, the Government formulated the Pier Improvement Programme (PIP). The first phase covers about 10 public piers in the New Territories and on the outlying islands.
As there is only one primitive berth at the Kau Sai Village Pier and the water is only about one-metre deep at low tide, which make it difficult for many boats to berth and cause inconvenience to villagers, fishermen, visitors and tourists, it is necessary to carry out improvement works..
As there is only one primitive berth at the Kau Sai Village Pier and the water is only about one-metre deep at low tide, which make it difficult for many boats to berth and cause inconvenience to villagers, fishermen, visitors and tourists, it is necessary to carry out improvement works.
(From left to right) Political Assistant (PA) to Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr FUNG Ying-lun, Allen; Under Secretary for Development (USDEV), Mr LIU Chun-san; Head of the Civil Engineering Office (CEO) of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Mr LAU Chun-kit, Ricky; and Project Team Leader of the CEO, Mr LEE Man-chow, Francis, listen to the views of Kau Sai villagers regarding the PIP. They are very supportive of the pier improvement initiatives of the Government and hope that works will commence as soon as possible..
(From left to right) Political Assistant (PA) to Secretary for Development (SDEV), Mr FUNG Ying-lun, Allen; Under Secretary for Development (USDEV), Mr LIU Chun-san; Head of the Civil Engineering Office (CEO) of the Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD), Mr LAU Chun-kit, Ricky; and Project Team Leader of the CEO, Mr LEE Man-chow, Francis, listen to the views of Kau Sai villagers regarding the PIP. They are very supportive of the pier improvement initiatives of the Government and hope that works will commence as soon as possible.
Near the Kau Sai Village Pier is the historic Hung Shing Temple, a declared monument in Hong Kong. Fisherman representative of Kau Sai, Mr LAW Yau-mui (centre, front row); fisherman representative of Sai Kung Hoi, Mr YUEN Kam-wan (third right); and Kau Sai villagers pose for a group photo in front of the Hung Shing Temple with USDEV, Mr LIU Chun-san (second left); PA to SDEV, Mr Allen FUNG (first left); Head of the CEO of the CEDD, Mr Ricky LAU (second right); Principal Assistant Secretary (Works) of the Development Bureau, Mr CHAN Fuk-yiu, Victor (first right); Project Team Leader of the CEDD, Mr Francis LEE (left, back row), etc..
Near the Kau Sai Village Pier is the historic Hung Shing Temple, a declared monument in Hong Kong. Fisherman representative of Kau Sai, Mr LAW Yau-mui (centre, front row); fisherman representative of Sai Kung Hoi, Mr YUEN Kam-wan (third right); and Kau Sai villagers pose for a group photo in front of the Hung Shing Temple with USDEV, Mr LIU Chun-san (second left); PA to SDEV, Mr Allen FUNG (first left); Head of the CEO of the CEDD, Mr Ricky LAU (second right); Principal Assistant Secretary (Works) of the Development Bureau, Mr CHAN Fuk-yiu, Victor (first right); Project Team Leader of the CEDD, Mr Francis LEE (left, back row), etc.
There are numerous fish rafts off the Kau Sai Village Pier and the surrounding area is blessed with beautiful scenery. Pier improvement works, when completed, will make it more convenient for the fishermen and tourists..
There are numerous fish rafts off the Kau Sai Village Pier and the surrounding area is blessed with beautiful scenery. Pier improvement works, when completed, will make it more convenient for the fishermen and tourists.
Lai Chi Wo is located in the Hong Kong Geopark of China and the Yan Chau Tong Marine Park. At its heart is a 300-year-old Hakka walled village. We believe that the improved Lai Chi Wo Pier will facilitate tourists to visit the attractions..
Lai Chi Wo is located in the Hong Kong Geopark of China and the Yan Chau Tong Marine Park. At its heart is a 300-year-old Hakka walled village. We believe that the improved Lai Chi Wo Pier will facilitate tourists to visit the attractions.
Situated in northern Lamma Island, the Pak Kok Pier is the main facility for villagers to travel to and from the urban areas. As the existing pier is primitive and its location is prone to monsoons and waves, it is difficult for boats to berth sideways of the pier and this may cause inconvenience and potential safety risks to villagers and visitors using the pier. As such, it is among the 10 priority piers for implementation in the first phase of the PIP..
Situated in northern Lamma Island, the Pak Kok Pier is the main facility for villagers to travel to and from the urban areas. As the existing pier is primitive and its location is prone to monsoons and waves, it is difficult for boats to berth sideways of the pier and this may cause inconvenience and potential safety risks to villagers and visitors using the pier. As such, it is among the 10 priority piers for implementation in the first phase of the PIP.
The Tung Ping Chau Public Pier in Tai Po is one of the piers frequently used by tourists. Given its narrow boarding stairways, the pier needs improvement..
The Tung Ping Chau Public Pier in Tai Po is one of the piers frequently used by tourists. Given its narrow boarding stairways, the pier needs improvement.

13 August, 2017

Back.

跳至內容

改善公共碼頭 便利遊客居民

每逢假日,不少市民都喜歡遠離煩囂,四出郊遊。香港擁有世界知名的地質公園、海岸公園、歷史古蹟、生態旅遊景點等,深受遊人歡迎。不過,這些景點很多都是位處偏遠郊野,沒有道路連接,必須依靠海路到達。政府於今年制訂了「改善碼頭計劃」,首階段包括約10個位於新界及離島的公共碼頭,希望盡快提升其結構安全和改善現有設施,方便市民前往遊覽,同時亦滿足村民和漁民作業的基本需要。

現時全港有超過100個公共碼頭,雖然政府一直有為公共碼頭進行定期檢查及維修,以保持它們的結構安全,但由於部分碼頭已使用多年,經歷風吹雨打,難免會出現老化問題,或未能滿足現時的使用需要,急待改善。

滿足村民漁民需要 豐富海上綠色旅遊

近日,廖振新副局長便視察了西貢的滘西村碼頭。由於碼頭只有一個簡陋的停泊位,在退潮時水深只有約一米,令很多船隻難以停泊,對村民、漁民、訪客和遊人造成不便,因此有需要進行改善工程。

滘西村碼頭附近有一座歷史悠久的洪聖古廟,已被列為香港法定古蹟;古廟的修復工程亦榮獲香港聯合國教科文組織「亞太區二千年文物古蹟保護獎」傑出項目獎。副局長在視察期間和村民作交流,了解到每年洪聖誕均會舉行大型的慶祝活動,吸引逾千人參與,其中包括已經移居海外的漁民子姪,因此碼頭在節日期間需要應付特別高的人流。

此外,我們認為滘西村具有潛力發展綠色旅遊。該村位於香港地質公園西貢火山岩園區範圍內,近年亦有海上綠色旅遊路線貫通滘西村附近的不同景點,例如橋咀洲、吊鐘洲、糧船灣等,因此加快改善碼頭工程,可以方便市民及遊客遊覽上述景點,認識香港的歷史文化之餘,欣賞到壯麗的自然景觀。

增加偏遠景點的暢達程度

另一個屬於首階段擬議的改善碼頭項目是北區的荔枝窩碼頭。荔枝窩位於香港地質公園及印洲塘海岸公園範圍內,且擁有一條超過300年歷史的客家圍村。現時荔枝窩村正推行復耕計劃,希望讓遊客體驗客家的圍村文化。遊人亦可前往荔枝窩地質教育中心,了解香港多樣化的地質景象,體驗荔枝窩秀麗的風景。

然而,若從陸路前往荔枝窩,市民必須由烏蛟騰或鹿頸步行一大段山路才能到達。雖然荔枝窩設有街渡服務,但現有碼頭只有一個簡陋的停泊位,在退潮時泊位水深不足,令很多船隻難以停泊,另外,碼頭通道亦較狹窄,所以有必要進行改善工程。

率先推行首階段項目

發展局已成立「改善碼頭計劃委員會」,根據公共安全、通往附近郊遊景點和自然遺產的暢達程度、地區訴求、碼頭的使用量及技術可行性等因素,檢視現時位處偏遠地區的公共碼頭,初步敲定「改善碼頭計劃」首階段項目集中在新界和離島的10個公共碼頭。

為令工程盡快展開,我們在今年年中諮詢地區人士和各持份者後,現正進行招標聘請顧問公司,分批為首階段的擬議碼頭項目進行技術研究,希望盡快完成首階段的改善碼頭工程,讓這些利民措施得以落實。

計劃首階段的10個碼頭項目:
 

首階段的碼頭項目

地區

荔枝窩碼頭

北區

深涌碼頭

大埔區

荔枝莊碼頭

大埔區

東平洲公眾碼頭

大埔區

糧船灣碼頭

西貢區

滘西村碼頭

西貢區

北角碼頭

離島區

榕樹灣公眾碼頭

離島區

二澳碼頭

離島區

石仔灣碼頭

荃灣區


資料分享:

旅遊雜誌《Lonely Planet》於2016年揀選香港為亞洲10大最佳旅行地點的第5位時,特別點名荔枝窩的獨特風貌:
https://www.lonelyplanet.com/china/hong-kong/attractions/lai-chi-wo/a/poi-sig/1535939/355975

滘西村洪聖古廟
http://www.amo.gov.hk/b5/monuments_76.php

海路漫遊地質公園
http://www.geopark.gov.hk/b5_s2b1.htm

 

政府於今年制訂了「改善碼頭計劃」,首階段包括約10個位於新界及離島的公共碼頭。.
政府於今年制訂了「改善碼頭計劃」,首階段包括約10個位於新界及離島的公共碼頭。
滘西村碼頭只有一個簡陋的停泊位,退潮時水深只有約一米,令很多船隻難以停泊,對村民、漁民、訪客和遊人造成不便,故有需要進行改善工程。.
滘西村碼頭只有一個簡陋的停泊位,退潮時水深只有約一米,令很多船隻難以停泊,對村民、漁民、訪客和遊人造成不便,故有需要進行改善工程。
(左起)發展局政治助理馮英倫、副局長廖振新、土木工程拓展署土木工程處處長劉俊傑、土木工程處項目組長李民就,聆聽滘西村村民(右)對改善碼頭計劃的意見。他們都十分支持政府改善碼頭,期望工程盡快動工。.
(左起)發展局政治助理馮英倫、副局長廖振新、土木工程拓展署土木工程處處長劉俊傑、土木工程處項目組長李民就,聆聽滘西村村民(右)對改善碼頭計劃的意見。他們都十分支持政府改善碼頭,期望工程盡快動工。
滘西村碼頭附近有一座歷史悠久的洪聖古廟,已被列為香港法定古蹟。滘西漁民代表羅有妹(前排中)、西貢海漁民代表袁金雲(右四)及滘西村村民,與副局長廖振新(左二)、政治助理馮英倫(左一)、土木工程拓展署土木工程處處長劉俊傑(右三)、發展局首席助理秘書長(工務)陳福耀(右二)、土木工程拓展署項目組長李民就(後排左)等在洪聖古廟前留影。.
滘西村碼頭附近有一座歷史悠久的洪聖古廟,已被列為香港法定古蹟。滘西漁民代表羅有妹(前排中)、西貢海漁民代表袁金雲(右三)及滘西村村民,與副局長廖振新(左二)、政治助理馮英倫(左一)、土木工程拓展署土木工程處處長劉俊傑(右二)、發展局首席助理秘書長(工務)陳福耀(右一)、土木工程拓展署項目組長李民就(後排左)等在洪聖古廟前留影。
滘西村碼頭對外設有不少漁排,附近環境優美。碼頭改善後,將為漁民和遊客帶來更多方便。.
滘西村碼頭對外設有不少漁排,附近環境優美。碼頭改善後,將為漁民和遊客帶來更多方便。
荔枝窩位於中國香港世界地質公園及印洲塘海岸公園範圍內,且擁有一條超過300年歷史的客家圍村,相信荔枝窩碼頭經改善後能便利遊人遊覽。.
荔枝窩位於中國香港世界地質公園及印洲塘海岸公園範圍內,且擁有一條超過300年歷史的客家圍村,相信荔枝窩碼頭經改善後能便利遊人遊覽。
位於南丫島北面的北角碼頭是村民往來市區的主要設施。由於現有碼頭簡陋,加上碼頭的位置易受季候風及海浪影響,所以船身難以側靠碼頭,對村民及訪客使用該碼頭造成不便和潛在安全風險,因此屬首階段優先開展的10個碼頭項目之一。.
位於南丫島北面的北角碼頭是村民往來市區的主要設施。由於現有碼頭簡陋,加上碼頭的位置易受季候風及海浪影響,所以船身難以側靠碼頭,對村民及訪客使用該碼頭造成不便和潛在安全風險,因此屬首階段優先開展的10個碼頭項目之一。
大埔區東平洲公眾碼頭為遊人經常使用的碼頭之一,但上岸樓梯狹窄,有需要進行改善工程。.
大埔區東平洲公眾碼頭為遊人經常使用的碼頭之一,但上岸樓梯狹窄,有需要進行改善工程。

2017年8月13日

返回.