Jump to the beginning of content

Precautionary flood prevention works

On the morning of 18 July, Tai Po District recorded an hourly rainfall of 70 to 80 millimetres (i.e. reaching the level of black rainstorm signal) for consecutive two hours, resulting in serious flooding in Ting Kok Village and Tai Mei Tuk Village.  After the incidents, a number of departments provided immediate assistance and support to villagers being affected.  Few days ago (21 July), I visited the two villages and listened to the requests of villagers and explained to them the relieving works by departments in order to ease their concerns.  In the past few days, the Drainage Services Department (DSD), the Buildings Department (BD), the Water Supplies Department and the Tai Po District Office have spared no effort in dealing with the aftermath of the flooding, including urgent repairs to the damaged river sections and removal of boulders and debris washed down from upstream, so as to restore the drainage capacity of the river as soon as possible.

Regarding the village house in Ting Kok Village with the foundation of its platform undermined by flooding, I note that DSD has been working closely with BD to carry out urgent repairing works so as to strengthen the foundation of its platform, and the works are expected to be completed soon.  Upon completion, BD will inspect again the structural safety of the house.  I have explained the situation to the house owner to allay his worries.

With the onset of rainy season in Hong Kong, we cannot underestimate the devastating effects of rainstorms.  I have urged relevant departments to exercise greater vigilance, carry out flood prevention measures properly and maintain close communication with District Council members and residents, so as to put public safety on top priority.

Review completed and proposals made

Apart from solving the problems faced by the villagers at full speed, DSD will soon complete the Review of Drainage Master Plan in Tai Po, which aims to assess and analyse the drainage performance of about 170 kilometres long existing drainage system in Tai Po District, and put forward practical mitigation proposals to cope with the needs of future development and the threat of climate change.

For example, the review finds that the drainage capacity of Shan Liu River, a natural watercourse passing through Ting Kok Village, is insufficient and sections of the river cannot cope with severe rainstorms.  As both sides of the Shan Liu River are predominantly private land, widening of the river is not quite feasible.  DSD preliminarily proposed intercepting some of the flow at upstream of Shan Liu River to relieve the overloading situation at downstream so as to reduce the flooding risks at Ting Kok Village.  DSD is currently looking into two flow interception schemes: one is to build large underground drains along Shan Liu Road; and the other is to build a drainage tunnel which partially diverts the flow from upstream of Shan Liu River and directly discharges to the sea.  However, both schemes may involve resumption of private lands and cause inconvenience to the villagers during construction.  I wish different stakeholders can provide their views, show their support and tolerance when DSD carries out the works in future.  As to Tai Mei Tuk Village, the review proposes to construct flood wall at a section of a village nullah as well as deepening a section of the upstream natural watercourse for enhancing its drainage capacity.

DSD will take forward the planning and design of the mitigation proposals in relation to the two villages as soon as possible, and targets to initiate the project in 2018.  DSD will consult the Tai Po District Council (TPDC), village representatives and villagers in due course, with a view to implementing feasible mitigation proposals agreed by all parties concerned at an early date.  Meanwhile, DSD will closely monitor the drainage condition in Ting Kok Village and Tai Mei Tuk Village when amber rainstorm signal or above is issued.

Preventive works to mitigate flooding

In fact, the Government has all along been implementing flood prevention works.  Over the past two decades, DSD has completed about 90 major flood prevention works.

We have trained more than 100 kilometres of rivers in the New Territories, including Kam Tin River, Shan Pui River, Shenzhen River, Ng Tung River and Sheung Yu River.  We have also implemented 27 village flood protection schemes.  With the completion of the above works, the flooding situation in the New Territories has remarkably improved.

As to urban areas, our major flood prevention works include four drainage tunnels in Hong Kong Island West, Lai Chi Kok, Tsuen Wan and Kai Tak, as well as three underground stormwater storage schemes in Tai Hang Tung, Sheung Wan and Happy Valley.  With the commissioning of these works, the overall flood protection levels in Sheung Wan, Hong Kong Island North, Mong Kok, Cheung Sha Wan, Lai Chi Kok, Kwai Chung, Tsuen Wan, Wan Chai and Happy Valley have been significantly enhanced and no serious flooding has occurred over the past few years.

Flooding blackspots gradually eliminated

The completion of the major flood prevention projects has remarkably reduced the number of flooding blackspots.  Over the past two decades or so, DSD has eliminated a total of 124 flooding blackspots with seven still remaining.  Drainage improvement works for three of the flooding blackspots have already been completed and commissioned, with their effectiveness being monitored.  These blackspots will be eliminated when appropriate.  As regards the remaining four blackspots, improvement works are currently at the planning and design stages.  DSD will step up routine inspection and conduct regular clearance at these remaining blacksports.  DSD will also activate its Emergency Control Centre in times of heavy rainstorm and inclement weather, and in case of flooding at these blackspots, emergency measures including placing of sandbags and clearance of outlets will be carried out to alleviate flooding.

Furthermore, major flood prevention works costing about $12.6 billion are currently under planning, design and construction by DSD to enhance further Hong Kong's flood protection levels.  Among them are the Kai Tak River Improvement Works and the Regulation of the Shenzhen River Stage IV, both of which are in progress.  Looking ahead, DSD will continue to review the drainage systems in various districts to cope with the needs of future development and the impact of climate change.

Regular inspection, desilting, repair and maintenance

DSD formulates preventive maintenance programme each year, through regular drainage system inspection and timely repair and maintenance works, to ensure the drainage systems function properly.

DSD conducts regular inspections on cross territorial drainage systems, including survey using closed circuit television (CCTV).  DSD’s staff inspect manholes, intakes and outlets of drains, nullahs, river channels and watercourses about once every one to three years, and conduct functional and structural checks on underground pipelines about once every five to 10 years to ensure normal operation of drainage systems.  In 2016-17, DSD investigated over 2 000 kilometres of drainage systems (including nullahs, river channels and underground pipelines) and about 60 000 manholes, and carried out CCTV surveys for about 300 kilometres of drains.  As regards desilting works, DSD regularly cleans the drains, removes or trims any vegetation and clears debris blocking river flow.  DSD  enhances the above works before rainy season.  In 2016-17, DSD cleaned over 700 kilometres of drains and rehabilitated about eight kilometres of pipelines.  If any defect or leakage is found in the drainage systems during inspection, DSD will conduct repair and maintenance works, rehabilitation or replacement of pipelines as soon as possible.

Lastly, I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to the Chairman of the TPDC, Mr CHEUNG Hok-ming; Vice Chairman of the TPDC, Ms WONG Pik-kiu; Chairman of the Environment, Housing and Works Committee of the TPDC, Mr CHAN Siu-kuen; TPDC member, Dr LAU Chee-sing; village chiefs; Director of Drainage Services, Mr TONG Ka-hung, Edwin; Assistant Director of Water Supplies (New Territories), Mr CHAN Chung-kun; and District Officer (Tai Po), Ms LUI Siu-chu, Andy, for accompanying me during the site visit a few days ago.  Colleagues from various departments and I will “attend to the urgent needs of the public”.  Hopefully, through our collaboration, close communication, appropriate follow-up actions and a wide range of improvement works, we can ensure that Hong Kong people lead an enjoyable life without worries.

 

Please click the above image to watch the video.
We visited the sites damaged by heavy rainstorms in Ting Kok Village and Tai Mei Tuk Village, Tai Po, a few days ago..
We visited the sites damaged by heavy rainstorms in Ting Kok Village and Tai Mei Tuk Village, Tai Po, a few days ago.
We went to the upstream of Shan Liu River to inspect the site situation..
We went to the upstream of Shan Liu River to inspect the site situation.
Relevant departments will exercise greater vigilance and carry out flood prevention measures properly..
Relevant departments will exercise greater vigilance and carry out flood prevention measures properly.
We will examine how to enhance flood mitigation measures..
We will examine how to enhance flood mitigation measures.
Departments have spared no effort in dealing with the aftermath of the flooding in the past few days.  We will speed up the removal of boulders and debris to facilitate access by residents..
Departments have spared no effort in dealing with the aftermath of the flooding in the past few days.  We will speed up the removal of boulders and debris to facilitate access by residents.
Attention will be paid to whether tree structures have been damaged by flooding so as to avoid causing danger to residents..
Attention will be paid to whether tree structures have been damaged by flooding so as to avoid causing danger to residents.
We will maintain closer communication with District Council members and residents so as to put public safety on top priority..
We will maintain closer communication with District Council members and residents so as to put public safety on top priority.
We discussed the requests of villagers with the Chairman of the Tai Po District Council (TPDC), Mr CHEUNG Hok-ming (third right); Vice Chairman of the TPDC, Ms WONG Pik-kiu (first right); TPDC member, Dr LAU Chee-sing (fourth left); and village chiefs..
We discussed the requests of villagers with the Chairman of the Tai Po District Council (TPDC), Mr CHEUNG Hok-ming (third right); Vice Chairman of the TPDC, Ms WONG Pik-kiu (first right); TPDC member, Dr LAU Chee-sing (fourth left); and village chiefs.

23 July, 2017

Back.

跳至內容

防洪工程 防患未然

7月18日早上,大埔區錄得70至80毫米(即已達到黑色暴雨警告)的雨量,導致汀角村及大美督村出現嚴重水浸。事發後,多個部門即時為受影響村民提供適切的協助和支援。我在日前(7月21日)亦到過該兩條村視察情況,聆聽村民的訴求,解釋部門的工作,以釋除他們的疑慮。渠務署、屋宇署、水務署和大埔民政事務處連日來全力於村內進行善後工作,為受損的河段進行緊急維修,以及移走由上游沖下的沙石雜物,以盡快回復河道的排洪能力。

就汀角村一間地基被洪水損毁的村屋,我知悉渠務署與屋宇署一直緊密合作,工人已迅速進行緊急的平台地基鞏固工程,預料很快會完成。完工後,屋宇署會再次視察該村屋的結構安全。我已向屋主解釋情況,希望他可以放心。

由於香港已踏入雨季,我們不會低估暴雨帶來的破壞性,我已敦促各相關部門加緊注意,做好防洪工作,並與區議員和居民保持溝通,確保將公眾安全放於首位,以防患未然。

完成檢討 建議方案

除了全速解決當前村民的問題外,渠務署即將完成「大埔雨水排放整體計劃檢討研究」,就大埔區內現有約170公里排水系統的排水表現作出評估及分析,並制定實際可行的改善方案,以應對未來發展需要及氣候變化的威脅。

舉例說,流經汀角村的山寮河為天然河道,檢討研究顯示其排洪能力並不足夠,部分河段未能應付特大暴雨。由於山寮河兩旁多為私人土地,原址擴闊河道並不太可行。渠務署初步擬議以截流方法,在上游將部分河水改道分流,從而減輕山寮河下游的負荷,減低汀角村的水浸風險。署方現正構思兩條截流方案的走線:一是沿山寮路興建大型地底排水渠,二是在上游建造雨水排放隧道將洪水分流出海。然而,這兩條走線都可能會涉及收回部分私人土地,施工期間亦會對村民帶來不便,我希望日後渠務署推展工程時,各持份者可以多給予意見、支持和包容。至於大美督村,檢討研究建議在村內一段明渠上加建防洪牆,並挖深其上游的一段天然河道,以提升其排洪能力。

渠務署會盡快推展汀角村及大美督村改善方案的規劃設計,預期可於2018年為工程立項。署方稍後會諮詢大埔區議會、村代表和村民的意見,希望盡快落實可行及各方同意的改善方案。此外,渠務署會繼續密切監察汀角村和大美督村的排水情況,並在黃色或以上暴雨警告發出後各派駐一隊專責人員,適時採取緊急水浸紓緩措施。

防洪工程 改善水浸

其實政府一直致力防洪工作,渠務署在過去二十多年完成了約90項主要防洪工程。

在新界區,我們完成了總長度超過100公里的河道治理工程,包括錦田河、山貝河、深圳河、梧桐河、雙魚河;也啟用了27個鄉村防洪計劃。隨著這些工程完成後,新界區的水浸情況已明顯改善。

市區方面,我們的主要防洪工程包括4條位於港島西、荔枝角、荃灣及啟德的雨水排放隧道和3個位於大坑東、上環和跑馬地的地下蓄洪計劃。自這些工程啟用後,上環、港島北部、旺角、長沙灣、荔枝角、葵涌、荃灣、灣仔和跑馬地一帶的整體防洪水平大幅提升,過去數年都沒有出現嚴重水浸。

水浸黑點 逐步剔除

隨著多個主要防洪工程計劃相繼完成,水浸黑點的數目亦已顯著減少。過去廿多年,渠務署合共消除了124個水浸黑點。現時餘下7個水浸黑點,當中3個水浸黑點的改善工程已完成及啟用,現正進行監察以確定成效,並將於適當時候予以剔除;其餘4個黑點的改善工程正在規劃及設計中。渠務署會加強日常的巡查工作和定期清理,亦會在暴雨或惡劣天氣期間啟動緊急事故控制中心,倘若在這些黑點出現水浸,便會採取緊急措施,包括在適當地點堆放沙包、清理渠口等,以紓緩水浸情況。

另外,渠務署現正規劃、設計及建造約126億元的主要防洪工程,以進一步提升香港的防洪水平,當中包括正在施工階段的啟德河改善工程及深圳河治理第四期工程。展望未來,渠務署會繼續檢視各區的雨水排放系統,從而配合未來發展需要及應對氣候變化的影響。

定期檢查 清理淤塞 維修保養

至於平日的工作,渠務署每年都會制定預防性維修計劃,透過定期檢查轄下的排水系統,適時進行維修及保養工作,以保持系統正常運作。預防性維修三管齊下,包括定期檢查、清理淤塞及維修保養。

現時渠務署會定期檢查全港排水系統,包括以閉路電視進行勘測。部門同事大約會每一至三年檢查沙井、渠道進出水口、明渠、河道及水道,以及約每五至十年勘測地下管道的功能和結構狀況,以確保排水系統正常運作。在2016/17年,渠務署便檢查了超過2,000公里的排水系統(包括明渠、河道及地下管道),以及約60,000個沙井,亦完成了約300公里渠道的閉路電視勘測。在清淤工作方面,渠務署會定期派人清洗渠道、清除或修剪河道內阻礙水流的植物及清理淤積物等;署方在雨季前亦會特別加強這方面的工作。在2016/17年,渠務署清洗了超過700公里的渠道,以及完成了約8公里的管道修復工程。若在檢查期間發現排水系統有任何損壞或滲漏,署方便會盡快進行維修保養、復修或更換工作。

最後,我十分感謝大埔區議會主席張學明先生、副主席黃碧嬌女士、區議會環境、房屋及工程委員會主席陳笑權先生、當區區議員劉志成博士、村長、渠務署署長唐嘉鴻先生、水務署助理署長(新界)陳仲勤先生、大埔民政事務專員呂少珠女士等日前陪同落區視察。我和各部門同事會「急市民所急」,希望透過共同協作、緊密溝通,妥善安排善後工作,並推展各項改善工程,讓市民住得安心和放心。

 

 

請按上圖觀看影片
我們日前一同到大埔汀角村和大美督村視察暴雨後的損毀情況。.
我們日前一同到大埔汀角村和大美督村視察暴雨後的損毀情況。
我們到山寮河上游了解情況。.
我們到山寮河上游了解情況。
各相關部門會加緊注意,做好防洪工作,以防患未然。.
各相關部門會加緊注意,做好防洪工作,以防患未然。
我們會研究如何加固防洪措施。.
我們會研究如何加固防洪措施。
各部門連日來全力於村內進行善後工作,我們會加緊移走沙石雜物,方便居民出入。.
各部門連日來全力於村內進行善後工作,我們會加緊移走沙石雜物,方便居民出入。
我們會留意樹木結構有否被洪水破壞,避免對居民造成危險。.
我們會留意樹木結構有否被洪水破壞,避免對居民造成危險。
我們會加緊與區議員和居民保持溝通,確保將公眾安全放於首位。.
我們會加緊與區議員和居民保持溝通,確保將公眾安全放於首位。
我們與大埔區議會主席張學明先生(右三)、副主席黄碧嬌女士(右一)、大埔區議員劉志成博士(左四)及村長一同討論居民訴求。.
我們與大埔區議會主席張學明先生(右三)、副主席黄碧嬌女士(右一)、大埔區議員劉志成博士(左四)及村長一同討論居民訴求。

2017年7月23日

返回.