Government appoints URA Board non-executive directors

The Government today (November 28) announced that the Chief Executive has, pursuant to section 4 of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance, appointed/re-appointed eight non-official non-executive directors of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) Board with effect from December 1, 2014.

The four new appointees are Dr Gregg Li, Ms Alice Mak Mei-kuen, Dr Lawrence Poon Wing-cheung and Mr Wu Chi-wai. The four re-appointees are Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun, Mr Dennis Kwok Wing-hang, Mr Daniel Lam Chun and Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi.

The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.

"Over the past year, the URA has forged ahead with its redevelopment and rehabilitation programmes. I am delighted that the four non-executive directors of the incumbent Board who have accepted re-appointment will provide the necessary continuity and support to the Board in its work. I also extend a warm welcome to the four new non-executive directors. I am sure that, with their experience and expertise in their respective fields, they will provide valuable input to the work of the URA. I look forward to working closely with the new Board in furthering the important mission of urban renewal in Hong Kong," Mr Chan said.

Mr Chan also expressed gratitude to the four outgoing directors for their invaluable contributions to the work of the URA during their terms of appointment. They are Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen, Dr John Wong Yee-him, Mr James To Kun-sun and Mr Wong Kwok-kin.

The new URA Board comprises 20 non-official non-executive directors (including the Chairman), four official non-executive directors and three executive directors. All the non-official non-executive directors are appointed in their personal capacity.

The membership of the URA Board commencing December 1, 2014, is as follows:


* (Appointed from June 15, 2013, to June 14, 2016)
Mr Victor So Hing-woh

Non-Executive Directors (Non-official)

* (Appointed from May 1, 2013, to April 30, 2016)
Dr Chiang Lai-wan
Mr Edward Chow Kwong-fai
Mr Laurence Ho Hoi-ming
Mr Lester Garson Huang
Professor Eddie Hui Chi-man
Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen
Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen
Mr Philip Liao Yi-kang
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Mr David Tang Chi-fai
Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai

* (Appointed from December 1, 2014, to April 30, 2016)
Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun
Mr Daniel Lam Chun

* (Appointed from December 1, 2014, to November 30, 2016)
Mr Dennis Kwok Wing-hang
Ms Alice Mak Mei-kuen
Mr Wu Chi-wai

* (Appointed from December 1, 2014, to November 30, 2017)
Dr Gregg Li
Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
Dr Lawrence Poon Wing-cheung

Non-Executive Directors (Official)
Director of Buildings
Director of Home Affairs
Director of Lands
Director of Planning

Executive Directors
Managing Director/Deputy Chairman
Two Executive Directors

Ends/Friday, November 28, 2014
Issued at HKT 11:05