Appointments to Construction Industry Council announced

The Government today (January 24) announced the re-appointment of the chairperson and 10 incumbent non-official Members, and the appointment of four new non-official Members of the Construction Industry Council (CIC) for a two-year term from February 1, 2014 to January 31, 2016. The appointments were made by the Secretary for Development.

The four new members are Mr Andrew Chan Kwok-yin, Mr Stephen Lai Yuk-fai, Mr Wilfred Wu Shek-chun and Ms Melissa Kaye Pang.

The CIC was established in February 2007 as a statutory body with a mission to forge consensus on long-term strategic issues concerning the construction industry, convey the needs and aspirations of the industry to the Government, and provide a channel for the Government to solicit advice on all construction-related matters. Since its establishment, the CIC has also embarked on a range of initiatives to elevate the quality of construction and to uphold the professionalism of the construction industry in Hong Kong.

The appointments were published in the Government Gazette today.

Membership of the CIC as from February 1, 2014, will be as follows:

Mr Lee Shing-see

Mr Chew Tai-chong
Mr Kevin Thomas Poole
Mr Mike Wong Chik-wing
Mr Andrew Chan Kwok-yin
Mr Robert Lam Ping-hong
Professor Reuben Chu Pui-kwan
Mr Chan Siu-hung
Mr Stephen Lai Yuk-fai
Mr Derrick Pang Yat-bond
Mr Allan Chan Sau-kit
Mr Anthony Chan Yiu-tung
Mr Paul Chong Kin-lit
Mr Lawrence Ng San-wa
Professor Christopher Leung Kin-ying
Professor Wong Sze-chun
Mr Lai Chi-wah
Mr Chow Luen-kiu
Mr Mak Tak-ching
Mr Cheung Hau-wai
Mr Wilfred Wu Shek-chun
Ms Melissa Kaye Pang
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Permanent Secretary for Transport and Housing (Housing)
Director of Buildings

Ends/Friday, January 24, 2014
Issued at HKT 11:02