Appointments to the new Expert Panel on Tree Management and the Community Involvement Committee on Greening

The Development Bureau announced today (February 28) the appointment of members to the new Expert Panel on Tree Management (Expert Panel) and the Community Involvement Committee on Greening (CICG) by the Secretary for Development for a term of two years with effect from March 1, 2011.

A spokesman for the Development Bureau said that in support of the policy to promote the sustainable development of a greener environment in Hong Kong, a new CICG would be established from March 1, 2011 to advise on measures to encourage quality greening and to nurture a culture of care for trees through public education and community involvement activities.  

As recommended in the Report of the Task Force on Tree Management (Task Force Report), the new Expert Panel on Tree Management will in parallel provide the needed expertise in both policy and operational aspects concerning tree management with the objective of promoting the well-being of trees in Hong Kong, especially those with special value or interest.  The Expert Panel comprises local experts and experts from outside Hong Kong.

"With the members' expertise and experience in greening and tree management, we look forward to working with the new Expert Panel and the CICG to create a quality living environment in Hong Kong through enhanced greening," the spokesman said.

Pursuant to the recommendation in the Task Force Report, the Development Bureau has taken up the overall policy responsibility for greening, landscape and tree management.  A dedicated Greening, Landscape and Tree Management (GLTM) Section was set up in the Works Branch of the Development Bureau to lead cross-departmental efforts in enhancing tree care and landscape design. It is underpinned by the Greening and Landscape Office and the Tree Management Office.

Membership of the Expert Panel on Tree Management
Principal Assistant Secretary (Greening, Landscape and Tree Management), Development Bureau

Non-official members
Professor Jim Chi-yung
Dr Wong Fook-yee
Mr Simon Yu Lap-on
Dr Peter Yau
Professor Zhuang Xueying

Official members
Head of Tree Management Office, Development Bureau
Chief Leisure Manager (Passive Amenities), Leisure and Cultural Services Department
Senior Conservation Officer/Technical Services, Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department

Membership of the Community Involvement Committee
on Greening

Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)

Non-official members
Mr Chan Hak-kan
Mr Alan Chan Ming-on
Professor Leslie Chen Hung-chi
Mr John Ho Kin-chuen
Mr Stephen Lam Wai-nang
Mr Patrick Lau Hing-tat
Mr Leung Man-kit
Dr Ng Cho-nam
Mr Kenneth Ng Kar-wai
Miss Maria Tam Wai-chu
Professor Wong Chi-kui

Official members
Secretary for Education or representative
Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation or representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or representative
Director of Environmental Protection or representative
Director of Home Affairs or representative
Director of Housing or representative
Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or representative
Deputy Secretary (Works)1, Development Bureau

Ends/Monday, February 28, 2011
Issued at HKT 19:40