Government appoints new non-executive directors of Urban Renewal Authority

The Government today (November 21) announced that the Chief Executive had appointed nine non-executive directors and re-appointed two non-executive directors to the Board of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA).

They were appointed under Section 4 of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance for a term of three years with effect from December 1, 2008.

The nine newly appointed non-official non-executive directors are Miss Tanya Chan, Mr Dane Cheng Ting-yat, Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen, Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun, Mr Daniel Lam Chun, Mr Almon Poon Chin-hung, Mr James To Kun-sun, Mr Wong Kwok-kin and Dr John Wong Yee-him.

The two re-appointed non-official non-executive directors are Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok and Dr Isaac Ng Ka-chui.

The Secretary for Development, Mrs Carrie Lam, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.

"Urban renewal is an important mission and a challenging task.  The new URA board members come from a wide variety of professional backgrounds, including the business, culture, finance, surveying, legal as well as community work sectors.  I am confident that they, together with the incumbent board members, will provide the URA with professional input and effective steering in achieving its mission.

"We look forward to working closely with the new board to further improve the quality of life in Hong Kong," said Mrs Lam.

Mrs Lam also expressed appreciation and gratitude to the retiring board members for their valuable contribution to the URA.

The new URA board comprises 19 non-official non-executive directors (including the chairman), four official non-executive directors and three executive directors. All non-official non-executive directors are appointed in their personal capacity.

A brief biography of the nine new non-executive directors is as follows:

Miss Tanya Chan
Member of the Legislative Council

Mr Dane Cheng Ting-yat
General Manager, Corporate Communications, Cathay Pacific Airways Limited Member of the Hong Kong Tourism Board

Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen
Professor, Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Former Member of the Antiquities Advisory Board

Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun
Partner, Whale Capital Inc.
Member of the Antiquities Advisory Board and Member of the Board of Trustees of the Lord Wilson Heritage Trust

Mr Daniel Lam Chun
Honorary Advisor, DCL Consultants Limited
Member of the Administrative Appeals Board and former Member of the Hong Kong Housing Authority

Mr Almon Poon Chin-hung
Member of the Antiquities Advisory Board and former Member of the Town Planning Board

Mr James To Kun-sun
Member of the Legislative Council

Mr Wong Kwok-kin
Member of the Legislative Council

Dr John Wong Yee-him
Senior Medical Officer in Charge, Kwai Chung Hospital Psychogeriatrics Out Patient Clinic
Member of the Kowloon City District Council and Member of the Elderly Commission

The full membership of the URA Board is set out below.

Chairman (appointed from May 1, 2007, to April 30, 2010)
Mr Barry Cheung Chun-yuen

Non-Executive Directors (Non-official)
(Appointed from May 1, 2007, to April 30, 2010)
Mr Victor Chan Hin-fu
Mr Francis Chau Yin-ming
Professor Ho Pui-yin
Mr Ip Kwok-him
Ms Agnes Ng Ka-yin
Mr Ng Shui-lai
Mr Peter To

(Appointed from December 1, 2008, to November 30, 2011)
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Miss Tanya Chan
Mr Dane Cheng Ting-yat
Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen
Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun
Mr Daniel Lam Chun
Dr Isaac Ng Ka-chui
Mr Almon Poon Chin-hung
Mr James To Kun-sun
Mr Wong Kwok-kin
Dr John Wong Yee-him

Non-Executive Directors (Official)
Director of Buildings
Director of Home Affairs
Director of Lands
Director of Planning

Managing Director/Deputy Chairman
Mr Quinn Law Yee-kwan

Executive Directors
Mr Calvin Lam Che-leung
Ms Iris Tam Siu-ying

Ends/Friday, November 21, 2008
Issued at HKT 15:28