Government announces six-month extension to Harbour-front Enhancement Committee

The Government today (August 28) announced an extension of the current term of the Harbour-front Enhancement Committee (HEC) for six months from September 1, 2009 to February 28, 2010.

The HEC was established on May 1, 2004, to advise the Government through the Secretary for Development on planning, land uses and developments along the existing and new harbourfront of Victoria Harbour.  One of the specific tasks of this HEC term is to explore a framework including public-private partnership for the sustainable management of the harbour-front. The HEC established a Task Group on Management Model for the Harbourfront (TGMMH) in October 2007 to assist with the work.  

A spokesman for the Development Bureau said that the six-month extension would allow more time for TGMMH to continue its work on the Recommendation Report, which may lead to changes to the HEC and future management of the Victoria harbourfront.  

HEC comprises 21 non-official members and six senior government officials. The non-official members represent different quarters of the community including professional institutes, green groups, harbour concern bodies, the business sector, as well as individuals from different backgrounds. During its extended term, the HEC will continue to be chaired by Professor Lee Chack-fan, who is the Director of the School of Professional and Continuing Education of the University of Hong Kong.  

Other members of the HEC are -

Non-official members

Business Environment Council (represented by Dr Andrew Thomson)
Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong (represented by Prof S C Wong)
Citizen Envisioning @ Harbour (represented by Dr Ng Mee-kam)
Conservancy Association (represented by Mr Lam Kin-lai)
Friends of the Earth (represented by Prof Carlos Lo)
Hong Kong Institute of Architects (represented by Mr Vincent Ng)
Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects (represented by Mr Leslie Chen)
Hong Kong Institute of Planners (represented by Mr Kim Chan)
Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors (represented by Mr Yu Kam-hung)
Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (represented by Ir Dr Greg Wong)
Hong Kong Tourism Board (represented by Mr Mason Hung)
Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong (represented by Mr Louis Loong)
Society for Protection of the Harbour Limited (represented by Mr Paul Zimmerman)
Mr Nicholas Charles Brooke
Dr Anissa Chan
Mr David Ho
Mr Michael Hui
Mr Jimmy Kwok
Mr Patrick Lau
Mr Samuel Mok
Mr Derrick Pang

Official members
Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or his representative
Deputy Secretary for Transport and Housing (Transport)1 or his representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his representative
Director of Lands or her representative
Director of Planning or her representative
Assistant Director of Home Affairs or his representative

Ends/Friday, August 28, 2009
Issued at HKT 15:15