Chief Executive appoints Harbourfront Commission members

The Government announced today (June 25) the Chief Executive's appointment of 26 members to serve on the Harbourfront Commission (HC) for a two-year term commencing on July 1, 2021.

Members who are reappointed include eight public officers, 12 organisation members and four individual members (Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting, Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung, Ms Angela So Wing-kwan and Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen). Mr Ivan Ho Man-yiu and Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying, who have been serving on the HC in the capacity of organisation representatives, are appointed as individual members.

Welcoming the appointments and re-appointments, the Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, said, "I am confident that the members appointed, with their wealth of experience and expertise, will provide professional knowledge and valuable advice to the Commission. The Government will continue to work with the HC closely in achieving the shared vision of building an even more attractive, vibrant, accessible and sustainable harbourfront."

Mr Wong added, "I would also like to express my gratitude to the two outgoing members, Mr Hans Joachim Isler and Ms Vivian Lee Ying-shih, for their dedication and contribution in the past six years."

Established in July 2010, the HC advises the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of Victoria Harbour's harbourfront.

Following is the membership of the HC commencing July 1, 2021 (including some serving members whose term of service straddles July 1):



Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun



Secretary for Development

Non-official Members (Organisations)


Business Environment Council Limited

Friends of the Earth (HK) Charity Limited

Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design

Society for Protection of the Harbour

The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong

The Conservancy Association

The Hong Kong Institute of Architects

The Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects

The Hong Kong Institute of Planners

The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors

The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers

The Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong

Non-official Members (Individuals)


Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting

Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau

Mr Ivan Ho Man-yiu

Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung

Ms Janice Lai Wai-man

Ms Christina Maisenne Lee

Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit

Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying

Mr Ngan Man-yu

Ms Angela So Wing-kwan

Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen

Official Members


Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or his/her representative

Commissioner for Tourism or his/her representative

Commissioner for Transport or his/her representative

Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his/her representative

Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or his/her representative

Director of Marine or his/her representative

Director of Planning or his/her representative



Principal Assistant Secretary for Development (Harbour) 

Ends/Friday, June 25, 2021

Issued at HKT 14:00