Jump to the beginning of content

LCQ6: Statistical information on government properties and sites

Following is a question by the Hon Nathan Law and a reply by the Secretary for Development, Mr Eric Ma, in the Legislative Council today (June 7):

Question:

On the 17th of last month, the Planning Department (PlanD) indicated that it had, under the Central Clearing House mechanism, reviewed and confirmed the long-term uses of the sites of 183 vacant school premises (VSP). On the other hand, the Government Property Agency (GPA) is responsible for the management of government properties and ensuring that "Government, Institution or Community" (G/IC) sites are fully utilised, and the Lands Department (LandsD) may allocate government sites to various government departments for temporary uses. Regarding the statistical information on government properties and sites, will the Government inform this Council of:
 
(1) the criteria adopted by PlanD for determining the long-term uses of the aforesaid VSP sites; whether the authorities will, among the VSP sites confirmed to be used for G/IC purposes, allocate one of such sites to The Boys' Brigade, Hong Kong, which was unsuccessful in its application for the use of a VSP in June last year, for use as its head office and change the uses of the remaining 182 sites to the use for developing public housing under the principle of "putting public lands to public uses", in order to alleviate the problem of public housing shortage; if so, of the details; if not, the reasons for that;
 
(2) the number of vacant government properties currently managed by GPA and their total gross floor area, the total area of the sites where such properties are located, and the respective differences in the actual and permitted maximum plot ratios of such sites, broken down separately by District Council district and original use; and
 
(3) the number of the sites which LandsD has currently allocated to various government departments for temporary uses and their total area, and the respective numbers and total areas of the sites which have to be surrendered to LandsD within the coming three years, five years and 10 years, broken down separately by District Council district and current use?
 
Reply:

President,

Having consulted the Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau, Government Property Agency (GPA), Planning Department (PlanD) and Lands Department (LandsD), our reply to the various parts of the question is as follows:
 
(1) Paying heed to the management principle of optimising land resources, if any vacant school premises (VSP) is confirmed by the Education Bureau (EDB) to be no longer required for school or other educational uses, EDB will inform PlanD and other relevant departments in accordance with the established Central Clearing House mechanism. PlanD will then consider the suitable alternative long-term uses for the concerned VSP sites. Up till now, PlanD has reviewed and confirmed the long-term uses of 183 VSP sites under the Central Clearing House mechanism. In considering the long-term uses of VSP sites, PlanD will take into account a series of planning factors, including the planning intention of these sites and the surrounding land uses and environment. PlanD will also consult the relevant bureaux and departments in accordance with the established practice. Whether a VSP site is suitable for high-density development depends on its size, location, compatibility with the surrounding land uses, adequacy of transport and infrastructure facilities, development or technical constraints, development needs of the respective district, etc.

Of the 183 VSP sites reviewed, more than 70 per cent are less than 0.3 hectares, which are relatively small in size, and many of them are located in relatively remote rural areas lacking transport and infrastructure facilities. It will be difficult for such sites to accommodate high-density housing development (including public housing). Overall, only 18 VSP sites are considered suitable for housing development upon review.

There are 137 VSP sites recommended for "Government, Institution or Community" (G/IC) uses, most of which are located within the existing G/IC clusters or in the vicinity of high-density housing developments. Having regard to factors such as site location, land use compatibility and local demand for community facilities, etc, it is considered suitable to reserve these sites for G/IC uses, and 32 of these have already been allocated to relevant bureaux, departments or non-governmental organisations (NGOs) for related developments.

Besides, there are five VSP sites within "Green Belt" or "Conservation Area" zones, and one VSP site not falling within the coverage of any statutory plan, that have been recommended for rural uses (e.g. nature reserve or agricultural use) in consideration of their remote location, the surrounding tranquil rural environment, or their proximity to dense vegetation/country parks. Another 10 VSP sites that fall under ongoing planning and engineering studies or land use reviews are subject to further study of their long-term land uses. Information of these 183 VSP sites is set out at Annex 1.

Similar to the allocation arrangement for other government sites or premises, if any organisation wishes to use a VSP site for a specific G/IC use, support of the relevant policy bureau(x) must first be obtained before submitting an application to the department responsible for managing the site concerned. PlanD will advise the relevant bureau(x)/ department(s) from the district planning perspective. To this end, PlanD has uploaded the list of the reviewed VSP sites onto its official website to facilitate public inspection. The list has also been made available for inspection at PlanD's Planning Enquiry Counters and circulated to the District Offices and District Social Welfare Offices.

For effective utilisation of land resources, where feasible, the relevant departments will also identify and arrange temporary or short-term uses for the VSP as appropriate. Regarding the VSP located on government land and of which possession has been taken by LandsD, upon receipt of application from an NGO for using the VSP concerned for community, institutional or non-profit-making purposes on a short-term basis, LandsD will lease the VSP to the NGO through short-term tenancy if support has been obtained from the relevant policy bureau(x) and after consulting the relevant department(s). Organisations may refer to the relevant application procedure on LandsD's website.
 
(2) According to GPA, information on the four surplus government properties (i.e. those that are surplus to the Government's operational requirements) under GPA's management as at May 29, 2017 is set out at Annex 2.
 
(3) There are a total of 4 267 sites with an area covering approximately 3 424 hectares allocated to various bureaux and departments by way of Temporary Government Land Allocation (TGLA) for implementation of government projects or provision of services. Breakdowns of the above land allocations by District Council district and use are at Annex 3 and Annex 4 respectively. LandsD has no readily available information on TGLAs due to be returned in the coming three years, five years and 10 years. 

Ends/Wednesday, June 7, 2017
Issued at HKT 17:05

NNNN


Back.

跳至內容

立法會六題︰政府物業和用地的統計資料

以下是今日(六月七日)立法會會議上羅冠聰議員的提問和發展局局長馬紹祥的答覆:
 
問題:

規劃署在上月十七日表示,已按照中央調配機制檢討並確定183間空置校舍用地的長遠用途。另一方面,政府產業署負責管理政府物業,並確保「政府、機構或社區」用地得以地盡其用,而地政總署可把政府用地撥予各政府部門作臨時用途。關於政府物業和用地的統計資料,政府可否告知本會:
 
(一)規劃署採用甚麼準則以決定上述空置校舍用地的長遠用途;當局會否在已確定為「政府、機構或社區」用途的空置校舍用地當中,撥出一幅用地予去年六月申請使用空置校舍失敗的香港基督少年軍作為其總部,並按「公地公用」原則,把其餘182幅用地改作發展公營房屋用途,以紓緩公屋短缺的問題;如會,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;
 
(二)分別按區議會分區和原有用途劃分,現時由政府產業署管理的空置政府物業數目和總樓面面積、該等物業所在用地的總面積,以及該等用地的實際和許可最高地積比率的差別分別為何;及
 
(三)分別按區議會分區和現行用途劃分,現時地政總署撥予各政府部門作臨時用途的用地數目和總面積,以及分別須在未來三年、五年及10年內到期歸還地政總署的用地數目及總面積分別為何?
 
答覆:
 
主席:

經諮詢財經事務及庫務局、政府產業署(產業署)、規劃署及地政總署後,就問題的各部分現答覆如下:
 
(一)按地盡其用的土地資源管理原則,當教育局確定個別空置校舍不再需要由該局重新分配作學校或其他教育用途時,教育局會按既定的中央調配機制通知規劃署及其他相關部門,規劃署便會考慮將有關空置校舍用地建議作其他合適的長遠土地用途。至今,規劃署已按中央調配機制就183幅空置校舍用地進行檢討,並確定有關用地的長遠土地用途。規劃署考慮空置校舍用地的長遠用途時,會考慮一系列規劃因素,包括用地的規劃意向、附近的土地用途和環境等,亦會根據一貫程序諮詢相關政策局及部門。個別空置校舍用地是否適合作高密度發展須視乎面積大小、所在位置、與附近土地用途的兼容性、是否有足夠的交通和基建配套設施、發展或技術上的限制,以及地區的發展需要等。

在已檢討的183幅空置校舍用地中,七成以上的用地小於0.3公頃,面積相對細小,不少亦坐落於較偏遠的鄉郊位置,而且缺乏交通和基建配套設施,難以應付高密度的房屋(包括公營房屋)發展。總體而言,經評估後只有18幅空置校舍用地適合用作房屋發展。

另有137幅建議作「政府、機構或社區」用途的空置校舍用地,大部分位於現有「政府、機構或社區」設施的建築群中或高密度房屋發展附近。考慮到用地位置、土地用途兼容性,及地區對社區設施的需求等因素,這些用地適合保留作「政府、機構或社區」用途,而當中32幅亦已撥予相關政策局、部門或非政府機構作相關發展用途。

此外,五幅在「綠化地帶」或「自然保育區」地帶內,及一幅不在任何法定圖則覆蓋範圍內的空置校舍用地,由於位置偏遠且位處鄉郊寧靜環境,或接近植物茂密的地方/郊野公園,因此建議作鄉郊用途(例如自然護理區或農業用途)。另有10幅用地位於現正進行的規劃和工程研究或土地用途檢討的範圍內,其長遠土地用途有待進一步研究。該183幅空置校舍用地的資料列於附表一。

正如其他政府用地或物業一樣,任何團體若希望使用空置校舍用地作特定的「政府、機構或社區」用途,須先取得相關政策局支持,然後向負責管理有關用地的部門申請。規劃署會就有關申請向相關政策局及部門提供地區規劃意見。為方便公眾查閱,規劃署已將有關經檢討的空置校舍用地清單上載至署方網頁及存放於規劃資料查詢處,並已向各民政事務處及地區福利辦事處傳閱。

為有效運用土地資源,相關部門亦會在可行情況下為空置校舍物色和安排臨時或短期用途。就位於政府土地並已交由地政總署接管的空置校舍,地政總署在接獲非政府機構申請使用有關空置校舍作社區、團體或非牟利短期用途,經相關政策局給予支持及諮詢相關部門後,會以短期租約形式出租。團體可於地政總署網頁參閱有關申請手續。

(二)根據產業署的資料,截至二○一七年五月二十九日,該署管理的四個過剩政府物業(即超出當時政府運作需要)資料列於附表二。
 
(三)現時以臨時政府撥地方式撥予各政策局及部門以實施政府項目或提供服務的撥地共有4 267個,涉及土地面積約3 424公頃。上述撥地的資料,按區議會分區和用途分別見附表三及附表四。地政總署沒有備存未來三年、五年及10年到期歸還的臨時撥地現成資料。

2017年6月7日(星期三)
香港時間17時05分


返回.