Jump to the beginning of content

Speech by the Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands, Mr Michael Suen at the Special Finance Committee Meeting

Chairman,

Our work in Buildings, Lands and Planning in the coming year will continue to focus on four priority tasks : i.e. providing land to meet market demand; undertaking long-term strategic planning for Hong Kong; enhancing building safety and promoting timely maintenance; and urban renewal.

Land Supply

2.       The Government announced the Housing Policy Statement in November 2002. We emphasized that we would pursue our objectives of providing sufficient land to meet the development needs of our community and to facilitate the healthy and stable development of our property market. In line with these objectives, the Government has resumed the Application List system since January 2004. Under the Application List system, the sale of new land is market driven and to be triggered by developers. We will continue to monitor closely the situation, and ensure the smooth operation of the Application List system.

Planning for Hong Kong

3.       On the planning front, we introduced the Town Planning (Amendment) Bill into the Legislative Council (LegCo) in May 2003. The objectives of the Bill are to streamline the town planning process, enhance the transparency of the planning system, and strengthen enforcement actions against unauthorized developments in the rural New Territories. We will work with the Bills Committee closely with a view to putting the amendments into effect as soon as practicable.

4.       Another major task is the on-going "Hong Kong 2030" long-term planning study. The Study has proceeded to Stage 3 - Public Consultation which will be completed by the end of this month. We shall formulate a development strategy based on public views received. This strategy will provide a long-term planning framework for the future development of Hong Kong.

Building Safety and Maintenance

5.       Our vision is to develop a safe and healthy built environment and an attractive cityscape commensurate with a dynamic world-class city. We aim to achieve this through quality construction, timely maintenance, removal of illegal structures, public education and community participation in a culture of good building care.

6.       In 2003, we achieved a record of removing 50 000 unauthorized building works, and provided $78 million loans to building owners for repairs and improvements to their buildings. We will sustain our efforts in the coming year. This is reflected in a considerable increase in resources for Buildings Department in 2004-05 despite the overall fiscal stringency. In April 2003, we introduced the Buildings (Amendment) Bill 2003 into LegCo. The Bill seeks to introduce, among other things, a streamlined and more effective building control regime through the creation of a minor works control system. The Bill is currently being scrutinized by the Bills Committee.

7.       Proper building management and maintenance is an integral part of the overall solution to arresting urban decay. In December last year, we launched a public consultation exercise on the policy direction to promote building management and maintenance. The views received so far point to a community consensus on the urgency in addressing the building neglect problem, and a widely-shared preference for introducing mandatory requirement on owners to ensure proper building maintenance and management. The consultation period will end on 15 April. We will carefully consider the public views in working out the implementation details.

Urban Renewal

8.       Taking a holistic approach to urban renewal, the Urban Renewal Authority has launched 13 redevelopment projects and five revitalization projects, and started a rehabilitation programme to rejuvenate the older urban areas. Accelerating urban renewal, enhancing our urban landscape and improving environmental hygiene are highly important for long term sustainable development. In this regard, we will consider various options and put forward proposals for public discussion.

Expenditure on Buildings, Lands and Planning

9.       To implement the policies on Building, Lands and Planning, we estimate that the public expenditure for this policy area in 2004-05 will be $10,223 million, representing 3.6% of the total public expenditure. Compared with 2003-04, the allocation from my Operating Expenditure Envelope to the policy areas of Building, Lands and Planning in 2004-05 has been reduced by $153 million from $3,230 million to $3,077 million, i.e. a decrease of 4.7%. Total civil service establishment under this policy area will drop from some 6 100 to 5 700, i.e. a decrease of 7%.

10.       Our group of departments have adopted various measures including re-organisation, re-engineering and outsourcing to enhance efficiency. For example, in conjunction with the Environment, Transport and Works Bureau, the merger of Territory Development Department and Civil Engineering Department will take place shortly. This will bring about synergy and provide opportunities for immediate and longer term savings. Moreover, Lands Department has completed two studies on its Land Administration Office and Survey and Mapping Office and recommendations for efficiency improvement contained therein will be implemented. Furthermore, Buildings Department will continue to outsource its work in support of its statutory functions.

11.       At the Bureau level, we will be leading and co-ordinating initiatives and productivity efforts across our departments in order to enhance the value of our services to the community. We have reviewed the procedures for processing development proposals received by the Lands, Planning and Buildings Departments and have introduced improvement measures. In the coming year, we shall examine ways to centralize the inspection and enforcement functions of these departments, with a view to further enhancing service delivery. We will continue to explore opportunities for re-engineering on various fronts to meet the challenges ahead.

12.       My colleagues and I will be happy to answer any questions that Members may wish to raise.


Back.

跳至內容

房屋及規劃地政局局長孫明揚在立法會財務委員會特別會議的致辭全文

主席:


我們來年在《屋宇、地政及規劃》的政策範疇的工作重點會繼續集中於下列四項:按市場需要供應土地、香港長遠的策略性規劃、樓宇安全和適時維修、以及市區更新。


土地供應

2.   政府於2002年11月公布的房屋政策,我們所強調的原則是提供充足的土地,應付社會的發展需要,以及讓樓市健康及穩定地發展。政府自2004年1月起恢復勾地表制度。根據該制度,新土地的售賣會由市場主導。我們會繼續密切監察情況,並確保勾地表制度運作暢順。

香港的規劃

3.   在規劃方面,我們已在2003年5月向立法會提交《城市規劃(修訂)條例草案》。條例草案旨在簡化城市規劃程序、提高規劃制度的透明度,以及加強打擊新界鄉郊地區違例發展的執法行動。我們會繼續與條例草案委員會緊密合作,務求盡快落實有關修訂。

4.   我們的另一項重要工作是正在進行的「香港2030」長遠規劃研究。研究的第三階段公眾諮詢工作將於本月底完成。我們會根據所蒐集到的意見,制訂發展策略,為本港未來的發展提供長遠的規劃綱領。

樓宇安全和維修

5.   我們的理想,是為香港締造安全健康的居住環境,令市容整潔,與動感國際都會相配。為了達到這個目標,我們會推廣妥善保養樓宇的文化,提倡優質建造和適時維修,並清拆違例建築物、推行公眾教育和促進公眾參與。

6.   在2003年,我們以破記錄的成績,清拆了約50,000個僭建物,亦為業主提供合共約七千八百萬元的貸款,以進行維修及改善其樓宇。未來一年,我們會繼續努力,以期在這工作範疇取得成效。政府在財政緊絀的情況下,仍然增加屋宇署2004-05年度的撥款,正好反映這點。在2003年4月,我們向立法會提交了《2003年建築物(修訂)條例草案》,當中一個主要建議是透過設立小型工程監管制度,引入一個簡單及更有效的建築工程監管機制。該條例草案現正由條例草案委員會審議。

7.   妥善的樓宇管理及維修是解決市區老化整體方案的重要一環。我們已於去年12月就推動樓宇管理及維修的政策方向展開公眾諮詢。按照現時收集得來的意見,社會大眾均認為需要盡快解決樓宇失修的問題。普遍意見亦傾向支持透過強制的方法,以確保業主妥善管理和維修樓宇。諮詢期將於4月15日結束。我們會仔細考慮所有收集到的意見,以制訂推行政策的細節。

市區更新

8.   市區重建局按照全面綜合的市區更新政策,已展開了13個拆卸重建項目和5個復興舊區項目,以及落實其樓宇復修計劃,為舊區重注活力。加快市區更新,改善香港城市面貌和環境衛生,對長遠的可持續發展非常重要。我們會就這課題考慮不同的方案,並作出建議,讓社會各界人士廣泛參與討論。

《屋宇、地政及規劃》的開支

9.   為推行《屋宇、地政及規劃》的政策,我們預算在2004至05年度這方面的公共開支將為102億2千300萬元,佔總公共開支百分之3.6。與2003-04年度比較,在本局的經營開支中,上述政策範圍的開支在2004至05年度已減少1億5千300萬元,即由32億3千萬元下降至30億7千700萬元,減幅為百分之4.7。另一方面,這個政策範圍之下的公務員編制由約6千1百多人下降至約五千7百人,減幅為百分之七。

10.   我們轄下各部門已採取各種措施,包括重組架構、重整工序和外判工作,以促進效率。我們會聯同環境運輸及工務局,於短期內合併拓展署和土木工程署。此舉可以協同兩個部門的資源,以達到即時和長遠節省開支的目的。此外,地政總署已完成兩項對地政處及測繪處的研究,並會落實其中有關促進效率的建議。屋宇署亦會繼續外判工作,以配合其法定功能。

11.   另一方面,局方會致力領導和統籌各部門提升生產力的各項措施,以增加我們服務社會的價值。我們已檢討地政總署、規劃署和屋宇署處理發展建議的程序,並予以改善。未來一年,我們會研究集中處理這三個部門的巡視和執行法例的工作,以加強服務。我們會繼續在各方面重整工序,以應付未來的挑戰。

12.   現在,我和各位同事樂意解答各位議員的提問。


返回.